We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel Ljubljana
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed in the City Hotel for more than 3 weeks, as my father was in a nearby hospital. My parents were visiting from Australia. We absolutely loved our stay at the hotel, and here's why:

- staff: so friendly! Couldn't do enough for my mother and I, and always acknowledged/played with my little boy (18mths old). Slovenians are so good with children!

- food: the breakfast buffet was spectacular! To give an example, they have cereal, then they have cashews and pumpkin seeds to put with it. It is these little extras that you just don't expect. And mouth-watering sweets! I loved breakfast time. The dinner was fantastic too. We loved eating at the hotel.

- room: we had a superior room - big enough for us, simple, clean and very quiet. The cleaner was super friendly.

- location: absolutely perfect! Right in the city, close to a kids play centre (Mala Ulica) and close to the river with all the great restaurants.

We also had massages organised by the hotel at the nearby Thai massage centre. Brilliant!

So, overall, I would highly recommend this hotel. It's perfect and affordable, with great staff. Look out for Franci. Kids LOVE him!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I_Bernie_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 1,470 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

Let's not misunderstand this: there is absolutely nothing wrong with City Hotel Ljubliana: the staff is very nice and helpful, they have a parking garage, the room was fine and the location is really perfect, on the edge of the old center of the town. But as a hotel it looks and feels like a business & conference hotel... that is great if that is the reason for your visit to Ljubliana, but when you are on holidays the envirionment makes you feel a bit that your collegues are waiting for you in the bar.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rik F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Our experience was positive before arriving at the hotel, as the communication with reservation department went very well, although we needed to make some last minute changes.

The hotels location is very good. Except from being just a few minutes on foot from the center, access when you arrive on your own wheels is very easy.

Parking in the city throughout the day is not free, so we preferred to use the hotel's garage at almost the same price and save us time and trouble.

Check in was very easy and quick - reception was professional, friendly and efficient.

We have booked "superior" rooms - they were very spacy, with huge and comfortable beds.
Some rooms had huge windows not all had great views.
Bathroom was also spacy. Both room and bathroom were very clean.

Breakfast was very good - wide selection of food and a coffee machine to enjoy your favorite coffee. Although the restaurant was a bit crowded, there was nothing missing from the buffet as staff was always there to take care of everything.

Price of the hotel was not a bargain, but not really expensive either, especially if you compare it with other hotels in the area and the services / rooms offered.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are really spacious !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Thanasis_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

You can find better hotels with the same rate. Rooms are clean, a rich breakfaat. Reception is very serious. Our room had a terrible view. The bar was closed quite early.
It is stillmwakülking distance to the center.

Room Tip: The parking place is not free but still needs reservation. No parking place around there, do not for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GP_Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The welcome was good. We were given a map of the city upon booking in. The room was large with fantastic beds. There were free toiletries and a large shower.
The restaurant was buffet breakfast and with many different foods.This hotel is clean and well presented. It has a lovely reading area on the ground floor which is well stocked with books of many different languages.
One person I must mention is the bar man with the moustache. He was always polite, always asked if I was alright and would I like any more drinks before he closed the bar for the evening. He worked very hard every evening we were there and is a superstar!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank crownrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear ''crownrise'',
thank you very much for your lovely review. It is always nice to hear our guests enjoyed their stay with us.
I will defenitely forward your kind words to Franci, our barman.
All the best and hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Tina Mozina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Standard rooms in this hotel are very, very small and are not air conditioned. The hotel is clean, but offers no amenities whatsoever - no bottled water in the rooms, no Kleenex, no notepaper, nothing at all in the rooms except a small bar of soap & package of shampoo. No desk light or bedside reading light is provided, just cheap fluorescent lighting overhead. It is a budget hotel at luxury (for Slovenia) prices.

The hotel caters to bus tours. If you arrive at breakfast at the 'wrong time', the buffet will be empty and the tables will all be dirty, because there are not enough staff present at breakfast to deal with the surges of people all at the same time arising from the bus tours.

Parking is scarce and very expensive (€18 a night) in the neighborhood.

All in all, it should not be difficult to find equal or better accommodation elsewhere for about €50 a night less than what the City Hotel charges.

Room Tip: Be aware that standard rooms are not air conditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear "solotravellerCanada",
thank you for your review. This week Ljubljana is ''luckily'' fully boooked due to some bigger events taking place (Congresses, UCI World Cycling Tour finals, …) so really the highest season for us. The prices are driven up because of high occupancy, but are still very much in line with current hotel offer in Ljubljana. Depending on the season of course, our prices are actually starting from 65 € a night.
We offer standard and superior type of the rooms, superior beeing all airconditioned, more comfortable, with big windows making them especially bright and friendly. Broadband fast free Wifi is available throughout the entire hotel.
Due to prime downtown location the traffic is heavier, but the parking is always available in our parking garage (we recommend booking in advance) or public parking garage just 200m away. If available it is also possible to park on nearby streets at 0,70 € per hour (Mon-Fri 08-19h, Sat 08-13h).
We do hope you spent nice time in Ljubljana and we hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Tina Mozina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Pros: Hotel is located in the heart of Ljubljana with easy access to restaurants and shops. It has fitness facilities, which was great to use especially after a long drive. Breakfast is excellent with good variety of fruits, juices and pastries. Staff is very professional and eager to make your stay pleasant. This is my second time in City hotel and will repeat. It is good value for money.

Cons: Single rooms are very basic and the interior quite outdated. My friend stayed in room 125, which is right next to the staff room and above the hotel bar and it was impossible for her to sleep after 6;30pm. The manager offered her a discount, which was a good gesture, but still, they should reconsider the location of some of their rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,784 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
402 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#15 of 31 in Ljubljana
769 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Ljubljana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Ljubljana

Address: Dalmatinova ulica 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range: £67 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Ljubljana 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel is located in the very heart of Ljubljana and is an excellent choice for both business guests and tourists to discover the charms of Ljubljana and Slovenia. It has a wonderful view of Ljubljana Castle and the city cathedral, and an ideal location just a stone’s throw from the historic old town. This pleasant hotel among the vibrant city inns, shops, and attractive historical buildings offers local Slovenian and international cuisine as well as a state-of-the-art congress center. The Jože Pučnik international airport is only 25 km from the hotel, and the main railway and bus station is only 400 m away. The hotel is easy to access from all of the city’s major roads; once in the city, you simply follow the blue hotel signs. Ljubljana’s City Hotel is the successor to the venerable Štrukelj Hotel, which opened in 1907. The current hotel excels in its friendly staff, the warmth of its rooms, and a broad range of services found at an excellent location in the very city center. City Hotel has 201 rooms, three luxury suites, an underground garage, a conference center with four meeting rooms, a library, a terrace, an Internet corner, a restaurant, and a bar. City Hotel’s complete makeover concluded with its opening in September 2007. The “basic” and “standard” rooms were renovated, and the “superior” rooms were moved to a completely new part of the hotel. All of the rooms use a card-locking system and all of them have free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your City Hotel Ljubljana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityhotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ljubljana Cityhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing