We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A genuinely classy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Austria Trend Hotel Ljubljana
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Reminds me of Austrian Airlines - the finest quality down to the tiniest detail. The reception staff let you know they're on your side - helpful, friendly and professional. The facilities, the rooms, the dining rooms, the food, the service - all excellent.
The location is away from the city center, but as previous reviewers have noted, there is bus stop right outside the hotel and the reception desk sells bus cards and will give you a 2 minute lesson on how to use them. 
The free wifi is fast and really works - everywhere in the hotel, without having to reselect a different server on each floor as is often the case.
Only criticism is the single bath-towel which is also to be used if you go down to the excellent free jacuzzi and sauna.

Room Tip: The dispensed coffee in the dining rooms is good, but there is a coffee machine in the breakfast roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jontymgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

I was there for the world judo championships and i can say that the staff were excellent. I wore a suit everyday and had to iron for three days. each day the maid would take the board and iron out . each day i asked if i could get one back and within minutes it was there. The room was a little warm but that was ok. The room could use a little TLC. Needed new paint and new carpets but nothing too terrible. I took a cab to the mall which was 5 mins away which was nice. It was fairly close to downtown and far enough away that you also could escape it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 154919Michaelt29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Room looks good but is poorly built. When showering the bathroom flooded as the shower screen wasn't fitted properly. There was enough shower gel provided for one person however there was two of us. The safe in our room didn't work - maybe needs new batteries however the staff agreed there was something wrong with the safe but didn't offer to have it fixed. Breakfast was excellent. Dinner the night before was a thirsty night. Took ages to get a drink.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wooroolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights during a globus tour of the Balkans. Our room on floor two was spacious, clean and quiet. The rooms are quite modern, nice tv, clean and elegant linens, extra pillows, clean carpets, no smoking, and plenty of room for bags and suitcases. Bathroom is wonderful marble, and very clean. We could have used a few more towels to cover off the mid day shower after touring but we got by. Lots of hot water and a very strong shower spray. Water all over the floor no matter how careful you are, but that seems to be the European way - not sure why real shower doors are not used here.

The hotel is located about ten minutes by taxi to the old city which is marvellous. The hotel has taxi service that offered an eight euro flat rate to the old town. They also arranged a meeting point and time with us for our return - clean car, great driver dressed professionally that offered some touring tips.

We ate in the dining room one night and enjoyed an elegant dinner. Buffet breakfast was very good and plenty of serving staff were accommodating and helpful. Bar service was also good and the cappuccino was excellent and well priced.

There are a number of shops next door including groceries. Behind the hotel is a small strip of diners / cafes serving simple local food. We had a great lunch at one of those cafes, enjoying local stews and soups with great bread. The cafe was full of locals which was a good sign.

This is a superior hotel located perhaps a little far from the touristy old town, but transportation back and forth was a breeze. Appeared to be plenty of convention and business rooms here as well. I would highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Hi I stayed there one night last year. What was really a very nice surprise was I was given a room - but opened a door to a suite :) 2 rooms - my understanding it was their standard accomodation, not upgrade. That I liked. Also quite nice hotel restaurant and free internet. What is not that great - the hotel is far away from everything. Tried to walk outside but got bored at no specific things to see. Generally great for business overnight as I had - probably not best for tourism due to being away from everything.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

If you're beginning your Balkan adventures in Ljubljana and want to start in confidence, may I recommend the Austria Trend Hotel?
Picturesque it is not- but if you're after that sort of thing that's only a forty minute stroll or a five minute bus ride downtown. What it does provide is effortless comfort.
The charm and efficency of all the staff, coupled with rooms that you won't find in Luton or Lewisham make this hotel an ideal choice.
Being partial to a breakfast or two, I can honestly say that the groaning board puts most others to shame and is equivalent to working a Grand Prix circuit.
Starting backwards- in tribute to old Slovenian customs, or working leftwards just past the nuts and cereals on the central table, hot scrambled egg is matched perfectly with delicious wafer thin grilled bacon. You will then encounter boiled eggs, sliced cold eggs, olives ,smoked trout, hams, proscuitto, smoked and firm cheese slices, a cheese board for the more delicate varieties, and then arrive by the fried potatoes and roast vegetables before turning the chicane for yoghurts assorted and that obligatory banana, all washed down with espressos, machiatos ,americanos, hot milk, cold milk teas of every blend and flavour, orange juice apple juice tomato juice. . . damn, I've had a blow out.
I suggest you do too and I must include the sausage, the humble chicken variety, and one of the Ljubljana variety. Wunderbar.

Room Tip: high up and view the moutains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The Austria Trend Hotel in Ljubljana, Slovenia was acceptable in almost every way. Several minor shortcomings such as inability or unwillingness to sell euros--I don't know why I run into this more and more often in Eastern Europe. Only one luggage stand for two people in the room was not remedied when we asked. But these were minor annoyances, nothing more. The breakfasts were plentiful and delicious, the air conditioning excellent (this was very important--we seemed to hit Slovenia during a bit of a heat wave.

I'm not as young and agile as I was a few years ago, and I'm finding hotels with new bathroom shower/bath combinations more treacherous to negotiate. Bathroom floors were always slippery because no matter how careful we are, water always escapes the half-door showers and gets on the floor. This is not the hotel's fault, but I would caution older people, less agile people to consider examining the bathroom shower/baths before committing to a room.

Hotel was a little far from the downtown, interesting part of Ljubljana, but the city is small enough so that getting to the interesting sites is easy. Ljubljana was for us more of a jumping-off point for an excursion to Lake Bled and Trieste, so hotel location was not a factor.


Comfortable, fine food, good service (except the hotel's reluctance to exchange money) make this a good bargain,.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tedbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
2.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,711 reviews
2.0 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
393 reviews
3.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ljubljana Mons
2.9 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Trend Hotel Ljubljana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Trend Hotel Ljubljana

Address: Dunajska cesta 154, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia (Formerly Ljubljana Hotel & Spa)
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ljubljana
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
#10 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#11 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range: £74 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Austria Trend Hotel Ljubljana 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No wonder that the Hotel Ljubljana is known as the prime address for elegant lodging in Ljubljana! Our hotel awaits you with all the amenities you would except from a modern high-end hotel: an inspiring atmosphere, exclusive comfort, state-of-the-art facilities, stunning design, elegant details, professional service, international flair and the most spacious hotel rooms in Ljubljana (measuring from 30 m² minimum to 160 m²)! And let us not forget about the spacious wellness area and our highly professional conference service. A true highlight of our hotel is the perfect location! The main attractions and the Ljubljana city centre can easily be reached by public transport. The Old Town, the Convention Centre, the Faculty of Economics, the BTC shopping centre, the Krvavec skiing resort, several golf courses and Center Stozice are situated in the vicinity of the hotel as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Austria Trend Hotel Ljubljana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Trend Ljubljana
Ljubljana Austria Trend Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing