We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay... aircon would have been nice”
Review of Hotel Mrak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mrak
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Westerville, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good place to stay... aircon would have been nice”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed here two nights as part of a group tour.. Our room did not have AC, but they offered us a fan which helped a great deal. The hotel is very clean, room was adequate, breakfast was very good, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If traveling in summer, request a room with air conditioning when amking the reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HansJuergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    117
    85
    16
    0
See reviews for
32
100
30
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The hotel was the first place of accommodation in a recent tour I took of Slovenia & Croatia, and I stayed for three nights. I stayed a total of three nights, arriving in Ljubljana one night before my tour officially began. I emailed the hotel to arrange the accommodation for the first night, and it was easily booked along with transfer from the airport (9 Euro per person). The airport transfer was waiting when we arrived and the driver was courteous and pleasant. The room I booked for the first night was a twin with air conditioning (#406), and I was able to keep the room for the other two nights of the tour (even though the tour covered only the rooms without A/C). The room was clean and quiet, facing rooftops rather than the main road. Others in my group with rooms facing the road, however, found their rooms very noisy (particularly due to the combination nearby bar and Euro Cup football tournament underway). Breakfast offered plenty of variety, with hot and continental options. Best of all, the location of the hotel was great, close to the major sights and charms of Ljubljana, and about a 15 minute walk to the train station.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the main road are quieter. A/C comes at a premium, but might be worth it.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank kaleidoscocious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
University Place, WA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My dad and I reserved two single rooms here. Arrived to find that there was only a single room with one bed. This would not work! I had an e-mail confirming the reservations. The front desk clerk was vey apologetic. All of the nearby hotels were fully booked. Eventually, a second room was found. We wonder who was forced to leave, or share...

The rooms were clean and relatively comfortable. High points included the bathroom, which was sparkling clean and had modern fixtures. The shower was one of the best I've experienced in Europe, with easy-to-use controls and plenty of hot water. The beds were not uncomfortable, and there were bedside lights and plenty of storage. The low point was the noise. Do not stay here if peace and quiet are priorities for you. Even on a Monday night, there was loud music from the bar down the street until well after midnight. Drunken revelers passed under the window, shouting and singing, all night long. I realize that a certain level of noise is to be expected, but this was a bit much. Even with the window closed (which led to stifling, airless conditions), the cacophony managed to intrude. Some other guests were able to switch rooms after the first night, but I was not so lucky. Try to get a room that isn't on the street side of the hotel, if possible. The top floor isn't quite as noisy, either (says my dad).

That being said, the overall experience was positive. The staff could not have been more friendly and welcoming. The included breakfast was comprehensive if not sumptuous. If you want sumptuous, you should go stay at a much fancier hotel.

There is a restaurant on the first level, which we visited several times. The lunch specials were a particularly good deal, with a full four courses for less than ten euros. We found that following the server's recommendations was the best bet at dinner. Octopus salad didn't sound promising, but turned out to be tender and flavorful.

My final word: Avoid room 203 if at all possible. My bathroom light burned out not once, but twice. Showering and other bathroom activities were not fun in pitch blackness. When I reported the second outage, the front desk clerk perused a list of previously-reported problems and rinformed me that there had been an interesting variety of mishaps in this room. A broken chair, a malfunctioning heater, something about a window... Traveling is an adventure, but forewarned is forearmed.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the street side or the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susioh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed at the Pri Mraku mostly because Rick Steve's said it was his sentimental favorite. Staff was very friendly and welcoming, we were able to park right out front (so no parking fees) and our room was a very good size with two twin beds and a nice sized bathroom.

Breakfast buffet was more than adequate and kept us satisfied throughout the morning. Location was great as it's an easy walk to the river and the city center - also pretty close to a great Bosnian restaurant (yes, that Rick Steve's also reccomended).

If I find myself in Ljubjana again we'll definitely consider staying here!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitsy4400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had a lovely long weekend at the Pri Mraku - it's a very well located hotel just a few minutes walk from the river and old town, with a nice bar/cafe practically next door, and a brilliant pizzeria a street away.

The staff were friendly and helpful at all times; the room was cleaned daily and was a reasonable size (with lots of storage space), and the breakfast buffet was fine.

All in all, a safe, warm, comfortable place to stay at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I stayed at Pri Mraku hotel four nights in February. The hotel was nice, traditional (maybe a bit old-fashioned decor) and peaceful, the room was tidy and the breakfast (included in the room price) was so filling that I could survive with it until late afternoon. The staff was helpful and smiling. They even organized a shuttle taxi to pick me up from the airport in the middle of the night. The location couldn't be better if you want to avoid the exact city centre; only 1-2 min. walk to the river, and maybe 5-6 mins to Preseren Square. Free WI-FI worked ok. I highly recommend this place to other travellers looking for a place to stay in Ljubljana.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JenniKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Hotel Pri Mrsku is located right at the edge of the old city, close to the river, close to the city museum, and right next to an excellent café and restaurant (Petit Café, which I also recommend). The staff was incredibly friendly and professional, the entire hotel was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was good. The decor is dated? Yes, it is much more modern than most of the architecture in the city (and they have wifi, which is more important). Americans on their first trip to Europe might find the rooms smaller than they are accustomed to having in the US, but they will find the cars, streets, beds and noise of Europe to be smaller as well. People might also consider that the vast majority of the world does not have central air. Instead of expecting the indoor temperatres to be a constant 75F, people may want to consider a trip to Europe as an opportunity to experience Europe. I was in Ljubljana for a meeting and conference, so mostly a business trip, but met with several friends at the conference. The location and comfort of Pri Mraku made this a very enjoyable trip. I highly recommend it, especially for young couples or business travellers.

Room Tip: If you are an early to bed early to rise type, ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rudi555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,626 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#14 of 31 in Ljubljana
675 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Park - Urban&Green
Hotel Park - Urban&Green
#19 of 31 in Ljubljana
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mrak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mrak

Property: Hotel Mrak
Address: Rimska cesta 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia (Formerly Pri Mraku Guesthouse)
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mrak 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mrak is a family owned hotel, placed in the old part of Ljubljana town. It’s interesting history and a pleasant garden make this hotel an excellent choice for all travelers who are looking for a charming and inviting atmosphere. Besides the great location and the proximity to the main cultural venues, the hotel offers ultimate comfort whether you are on business trip or on holiday. This boutique hotel offers 34 rooms with comfortable beds and new high-quality mattresses made in Slovenia. Although the hotel is situated in the centre of Ljubljana, it is very quiet and peaceful place where you can relax and enjoy your stay. Breakfast is served from 07h till 11h in the ground floor as well as in the hotel garden during summer months – from May to September. FB is available upon request. All rooms are equipped with flat-screen TV, telephone and free WiFi connection, safe deposit box… The hotel has 24/7 reception service. Our reception team is more than happy to assist you with any requirements you may have. In case that your request cannot be attended internally, we will find the best solution for you. There is a possibility of car parking in front of the hotel by prior arrangement and payment of € 16 /day / car. Pets are welcomed in hotel Mrak; upon prior arrangement and extra payment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mrak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pri Mraku Guesthouse Hotel Ljubljana
Pri Mraku Hotel
Pri Mraku Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing