We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central choice”
Review of Hotel Mrak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mrak
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good central choice”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Pri Mraku is perfect as a gateway to central and old town Ljubljana. The standard rooms are a little basic (no aircon, but it wasn't hot during my time over there) and outdated (carpet) but do the job. Breakfast is a big plus and the staff is friendly as well. 2 minutes from the river and old town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelBurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    117
    84
    16
    0
See reviews for
32
99
30
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our vacation in Slovenia. Yes, it was very hot when we were in Ljubljana and we didn't have rooms with air conditioning, but if you get a room in the back and request a fan, you'll be fine. (Though you'll miss the woman across the road on the street side who spends most of her day hanging out the window and taking care of a lame pigeon!) Buffet breakfasts are fine, with the usual meats, cheeses, and bread - though the coffee machine could be placed in a better place to allow better access. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quieter but you miss the street action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlottaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I was solo on business trip for 10 days, so in such instances I like hotels where I feel a bit at home. Exactly the right place for my needs. Friendly and helpful staff, good food (basic, but the kind you can have every day without getting sick of it), cheap wine including the one home-made sparkline rosé made from the 30 m² vine arbour. I saw reviews complaining about the absence of air conditioning. Note that there are rooms with and rooms without, with about 10€ price difference. So pay attention to the details if you book online; don't just check for lowest prices.

Room Tip: Roomq on the north are quiet (courtyard garden view), and very bearable without AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seongnam
Level 6 Contributor
1,175 reviews
251 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

It's a bit far to walk from train/bus station...took us about 30 minutes...but once you get there the location is good right in the middle of town...breakfast was pretty good and staff were helpful...however, I thought 90 Euros was a lot for a very basic room (didn't even have AC)...but Ljubljana's accommodation prices seem pretty high on the average...Nothing was wrong with the place though...pretty safe bet if you can't find a lower priced non-hostel room...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelonious22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

In April 2012, I rented a car in Frankfurt with Sixt (the best deal then) and drove through Germany, Austria, Slovakia (Bratislava only) Slovenia and Croatia for 25 days. I stayed in 20 hotels and spent an average of 72 Can/US dollars per night, which is way cheaper than the prices in Canada and USA. Based on this experience, I will rate those 20 hotels.

THIRTEENTH REVIEW: PRI MRAKU GUESTHOUSE, LJUBLJANA, SLOVENIA

This hotel needs renovating. It looks outdated, even to me, who tend to think that old hotels in Europe are charming, not just plain old (I'm a romantic lady, I guess). My room was dark and small, but clean, I have to say. Staff was nice and helpful, which made me feel better about the place. The location is very good, walking distance to main attractions and to the river. A bit expensive for what it offers, but, as I said, the location and the staff made up for the worn out room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed here two nights as part of a group tour.. Our room did not have AC, but they offered us a fan which helped a great deal. The hotel is very clean, room was adequate, breakfast was very good, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If traveling in summer, request a room with air conditioning when amking the reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HansJuergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The hotel was the first place of accommodation in a recent tour I took of Slovenia & Croatia, and I stayed for three nights. I stayed a total of three nights, arriving in Ljubljana one night before my tour officially began. I emailed the hotel to arrange the accommodation for the first night, and it was easily booked along with transfer from the airport (9 Euro per person). The airport transfer was waiting when we arrived and the driver was courteous and pleasant. The room I booked for the first night was a twin with air conditioning (#406), and I was able to keep the room for the other two nights of the tour (even though the tour covered only the rooms without A/C). The room was clean and quiet, facing rooftops rather than the main road. Others in my group with rooms facing the road, however, found their rooms very noisy (particularly due to the combination nearby bar and Euro Cup football tournament underway). Breakfast offered plenty of variety, with hot and continental options. Best of all, the location of the hotel was great, close to the major sights and charms of Ljubljana, and about a 15 minute walk to the train station.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the main road are quieter. A/C comes at a premium, but might be worth it.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank kaleidoscocious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,625 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#13 of 31 in Ljubljana
671 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Park - Urban&Green
Hotel Park - Urban&Green
#19 of 31 in Ljubljana
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mrak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mrak

Property: Hotel Mrak
Address: Rimska cesta 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia (Formerly Pri Mraku Guesthouse)
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mrak 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mrak is a family owned hotel, placed in the old part of Ljubljana town. It’s interesting history and a pleasant garden make this hotel an excellent choice for all travelers who are looking for a charming and inviting atmosphere. Besides the great location and the proximity to the main cultural venues, the hotel offers ultimate comfort whether you are on business trip or on holiday. This boutique hotel offers 34 rooms with comfortable beds and new high-quality mattresses made in Slovenia. Although the hotel is situated in the centre of Ljubljana, it is very quiet and peaceful place where you can relax and enjoy your stay. Breakfast is served from 07h till 11h in the ground floor as well as in the hotel garden during summer months – from May to September. FB is available upon request. All rooms are equipped with flat-screen TV, telephone and free WiFi connection, safe deposit box… The hotel has 24/7 reception service. Our reception team is more than happy to assist you with any requirements you may have. In case that your request cannot be attended internally, we will find the best solution for you. There is a possibility of car parking in front of the hotel by prior arrangement and payment of € 16 /day / car. Pets are welcomed in hotel Mrak; upon prior arrangement and extra payment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mrak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pri Mraku Guesthouse Hotel Ljubljana
Pri Mraku Hotel
Pri Mraku Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing