We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic accommodations”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mrak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mrak
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Ljubljana
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Basic accommodations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Our room is small. The bathroom is tiny. The chair I am sitting on feels like it will break at any second. The breakfast set up is maddening, with the logjam at the narrow passageway where they put the coffee. But the bed is comfortable. We had a good nights sleep last night. The scrambled eggs were tasty when they replenished them and the sausages were delicious. This hotel worked great for our two night stay, but I wouldn't want to spend a week here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    105
    80
    16
    0
See reviews for
28
87
30
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North East England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

This guesthouse is in a great location and the staff were really helpful but that's where my praise ends for this place. This guesthouse urgently needs to be updated.

The stairwells and rooms are tired and dark, our bedroom carpet was covered in stains, the bed creaked and there was no soap in the bathroom to wash our hands in the cracked washbasin. It was like stepping back into the 1980s. Some of the lights weren't working either. It was also incredibly hot with a window that refused to stay open and no aircon.

Breakfast was a very bad experience. The breakfast room is clad in hideous plastic bricks and the layout of the food area is a nightmare with everyone cramped into a very small space.

There were cereals available but no milk to put on them. Eventually a small teapot containing some milk arrived and was empty again in a few seconds. A tray of what looked like stewed meat in gravy that seemed to have been there for days, congealed scrambled egg that had been there for hours and a bowl of fruit floating in a sea of juice and straight out of a can. There is simply no excuse for the poor quality of the breakfast which was really disgusting.

Fortunately we were only here for one night or it would have spoiled our stay in Ljubljana.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

I've stayed here a couple of times. It's a small hotel, not fancy, but very well-situated and very good value. It's close to the city centre, not much more than 5 minutes walk from the three bridges. Comfortable rooms, with free internet, and a hearty breakfast (with all kinds of things to choose from).

Room Tip: Rooms facing onto the street are a bit smaller and can be noisy at night, so it's worth asking f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDEC_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
178 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Pri Mraku is perfect as a gateway to central and old town Ljubljana. The standard rooms are a little basic (no aircon, but it wasn't hot during my time over there) and outdated (carpet) but do the job. Breakfast is a big plus and the staff is friendly as well. 2 minutes from the river and old town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelBurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our vacation in Slovenia. Yes, it was very hot when we were in Ljubljana and we didn't have rooms with air conditioning, but if you get a room in the back and request a fan, you'll be fine. (Though you'll miss the woman across the road on the street side who spends most of her day hanging out the window and taking care of a lame pigeon!) Buffet breakfasts are fine, with the usual meats, cheeses, and bread - though the coffee machine could be placed in a better place to allow better access. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quieter but you miss the street action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlottaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I was solo on business trip for 10 days, so in such instances I like hotels where I feel a bit at home. Exactly the right place for my needs. Friendly and helpful staff, good food (basic, but the kind you can have every day without getting sick of it), cheap wine including the one home-made sparkline rosé made from the 30 m² vine arbour. I saw reviews complaining about the absence of air conditioning. Note that there are rooms with and rooms without, with about 10€ price difference. So pay attention to the details if you book online; don't just check for lowest prices.

Room Tip: Roomq on the north are quiet (courtyard garden view), and very bearable without AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seongnam
Level Contributor
940 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

It's a bit far to walk from train/bus station...took us about 30 minutes...but once you get there the location is good right in the middle of town...breakfast was pretty good and staff were helpful...however, I thought 90 Euros was a lot for a very basic room (didn't even have AC)...but Ljubljana's accommodation prices seem pretty high on the average...Nothing was wrong with the place though...pretty safe bet if you can't find a lower priced non-hostel room...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelonious22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.5 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#15 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 30 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#14 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mrak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mrak

Property: Hotel Mrak
Address: Rimska cesta 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia (Formerly Pri Mraku Guesthouse)
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mrak 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mrak is a family owned hotel, placed in the old part of Ljubljana town. It’s interesting history and a pleasant garden make this hotel an excellent choice for all travelers who are looking for a charming and inviting atmosphere. Besides the great location and the proximity to the main cultural venues, the hotel offers ultimate comfort whether you are on business trip or on holiday. This boutique hotel offers 34 rooms with comfortable beds and new high-quality mattresses made in Slovenia. Although the hotel is situated in the centre of Ljubljana, it is very quiet and peaceful place where you can relax and enjoy your stay. Breakfast is served from 07h till 11h in the ground floor as well as in the hotel garden during summer months – from May to September. FB is available upon request. All rooms are equipped with flat-screen TV, telephone and free WiFi connection, safe deposit box… The hotel has 24/7 reception service. Our reception team is more than happy to assist you with any requirements you may have. In case that your request cannot be attended internally, we will find the best solution for you. There is a possibility of car parking in front of the hotel by prior arrangement and payment of € 16 /day / car. Pets are welcomed in hotel Mrak; upon prior arrangement and extra payment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mrak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pri Mraku Guesthouse Hotel Ljubljana
Pri Mraku Hotel
Pri Mraku Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing