We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homely wee spot” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mrak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mrak
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Ljubljana
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Homely wee spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2008

I stayed here for two nghts in October 2008.

Pri Mraku is in quite a central location, right-by French Revolution Square, close to the river, within walking distance of most places in this attractive, small city.

Being alone, I stayed in a single room. It was a bit old-fashioned, but quite roomy and clean, with a comfortable bed. The ensuite shower-room was small, but OK.

I only had breakfast, which was very limited. There is a restaurant, which gets good revews for other meal-times, but breakfast was so basic that I wouldn't have been inclined to eat other meals here.

Any staff I encountered were fine.

Free wireless internet access is available and the signal was OK.

If you are visiting Ljubljana alone, are on a budget, or just don't like bigger or impersonal hotels, this place is well-worth considering.

  • Liked — Convenience
  • Disliked — Breakfast was very basic
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GavBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    102
    79
    16
    0
See reviews for
26
85
30
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2008

Stayed in the Pri Mraku for three nights in October while in Ljubljana with friends. From the moment we arrived the stay was very enjoyable. Easy check-in with friendly, helpful staff took just minutes to complete. The room was extremely clean with plenty of space and very well-appointed. From the hotel it's only a short walk into the central part of the city and there was a very good, and remarkably reasonably priced, cafe just down the street from the hotel. The room had free wi-fi, and this was also available in the hotel lobby. Only had breakfast once in the three days but it was very good, with plenty of choice in nice clean surroundings. When next I'm in Ljubljana I would definitely stay here again. For good food in the city, try Sokol for authentic Slovenian cuisine, whilst River - by the river - was also very good for lunch.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thecorkhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2007

This was our 3rd Ljubljana hotel in 4 days (would probably have been 4 in 4 if everything wasn't full & we had to decamp to Bled).

Paid 104 Euros rack rate which was about par for the course in Ljubljana. Overall impression, pretty good. Room was clean, fairly large. Bed was Ok. Only problem was traffic noise from main road nearby. Rooms on garden side probably bit quieter. Contrary to other reviewers, found staff to be friendly although didn't ask anything of them. Breakfast OK.

We also stayed at the Emorec (74 Euros) and the City (110 Euros). In terms of value for money Emorec is by far the best. Not much between City and Pri Mraku. Breakfast is better at the City. Room was bigger at Pri Mraku. Location wise, Emorec again winner, other 2 very similar.

  • Liked — Room size
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freescreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2007

Have just come back from a girl's weekend in Ljubljana. The Pri Mraku was perfect for our accomodation needs, and given that we were expecting a very basic hotel we were very pleasantly surprised.

It was very clean, bathroom was fine, satelite TV in room, rooms were a lot bigger than we were expecting and the breakfast was fine - not 5* but plenty of choice and even scrambled eggs!

Location is great - 5 mins walk to the centre along the eautiful river.

Hotel also very quiet and we were never disturbed by noise from outside or other rooms.

Would definitely go back - is the top end of basic.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CurlyClaire7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2007

The good: location is central. It's somewhat cheap.

The bad: dirty, unfriendly, basic.

Really, I don't have much to say about this. It wasn't terrible, but we certainly wished we had stayed somewhere else. In fact, the nicest
hotel in town was running a walk in special for only about $10.00 US more than this place per night, but we were so tired and phased out from the train trip that we decided not to move.

The room was quiet, but if you have any issues with stairs, be sure to get a lower-floor room; there are A LOT of stairs. Also, they were
doing a lot of renovation while we were there, so it was a bit of a mess and may be nicer now.

Breakfast was decent, and the lady running it was super nice. Front desk guy when we checked in was as unwelcoming and grumpy as a human could be short of choking us.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank scottpartee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2006

For the price we paid, this hotel had a great value because the location was superb, with lots of outdoor cafes nearby, but the rooms were only semi-clean and seemed very dusty. The front desk was friendly and helpful for suggestions, and everyone spoke very good English.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank thetravelbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2005

We chose this hotel because we wanted to stay in central Ljubljana on a budget (most hotels in the city seem to be aimed at business travellers and are pricey). The location is excellent. Unfortunately we found the room disappointing - uncomfortable with a run-down bathroom. The staff were prickly and not particularly helpful when we had problems (eg where to leave the car). Most annoyingly, the hotel was noisy. We were quite glad to move on from this hotel -next time I think we would spend a bit more cash rather than return here, but if you are on a budget you might not find anything better.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#13 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 30 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#23 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mrak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mrak

Property: Hotel Mrak
Address: Rimska cesta 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia (Formerly Pri Mraku Guesthouse)
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mrak 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mrak is a family owned hotel, placed in the old part of Ljubljana town. It’s interesting history and a pleasant garden make this hotel an excellent choice for all travelers who are looking for a charming and inviting atmosphere. Besides the great location and the proximity to the main cultural venues, the hotel offers ultimate comfort whether you are on business trip or on holiday. This boutique hotel offers 34 rooms with comfortable beds and new high-quality mattresses made in Slovenia. Although the hotel is situated in the centre of Ljubljana, it is very quiet and peaceful place where you can relax and enjoy your stay. Breakfast is served from 07h till 11h in the ground floor as well as in the hotel garden during summer months – from May to September. FB is available upon request. All rooms are equipped with flat-screen TV, telephone and free WiFi connection, safe deposit box… The hotel has 24/7 reception service. Our reception team is more than happy to assist you with any requirements you may have. In case that your request cannot be attended internally, we will find the best solution for you. There is a possibility of car parking in front of the hotel by prior arrangement and payment of € 16 /day / car. Pets are welcomed in hotel Mrak; upon prior arrangement and extra payment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mrak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pri Mraku Guesthouse Hotel Ljubljana
Pri Mraku Hotel
Pri Mraku Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing