We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Clean and Fun Hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sax Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sax Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Clean and Fun Hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

This is a great hostel with a fantastic local bar connected to it. Within walking distance from the main train station and the city center. There is a grocery store very close as well. Lots of charm and character and very clean. We stayed in a four person room with three people and it was tight but manageable. Excellent staff...very helpful and friendly. I would give it five stars but there are no private ensuites…although the shared bathrooms were very clean and we did not have a problem with waiting in lines, hot water, etc. It is a small building and the bar is small as well but in a good way. There were always friendly people around and it gave it a very comfortable, relaxed atmosphere. I have stayed in countless hostels and this was a memorable one. I would stay here again. Thank you Sax Hostel!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank futbolajax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    21
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
1
17
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Great hostel - small bar out the front which has good music and cheap beer!

Staff are really, really friendly.

Rooms are great, comfortable beds and clean! I stayed in the 8 person room. It got quite loud at night because of some English guys who came in really late and drunk and proceeded to talk loudly about their whole evening - but there are clear signs up saying you shouldn't talk in the rooms from 11pm-7am, so not the hostels fault at all!

Close to everything in Ljubljana as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller755953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
119 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Sax was such a gem. It has huge amounts of character and was so conveniently located. It was just a short walk to the center of town. We stayed in a private room and were extremely happy with the accommodations. The shared bathrooms are very very clean (as are the rooms) and we had no problems with noise. The owners are very sweet and helpful in explaining the city and where to eat/visit. I would absolutely recommend this hostel to everyone visiting Ljubljana - especially if you're looking for a very reasonably priced, clean, convenient room in an amazing, charming city.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OurDogLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Stayed with my girlfriend in a private room and we were really comfortable. The hostel is impeccably clean and the owners are great, really helpful and friendly on arrival.

It wasn't the cheapest hostel we've stayed in by any stretch but I get the impression Ljubljana is expensive to stay in in June/July judging by the hotel prices!

Location was just outside of the town centre but it's a €5 cab from the train/bus station and walkable once you don't have bags in tow. In fact, it's a very pleasant walk along the river bank past bars, restaurants and market stalls in the day. If anything the location only added to the charm.

We didn't check out the jazz bar downstairs but it was always lively without being too much. We could hear it a little from our room but nothing offensive. Seemed like a nice place, just wish we'd had more time to have a drink there.

Overall a great stay and an excellent hostel.

Room Tip: We had a private room but from what I saw of the dorms, they were equally spotless. Would have happi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thundersley, Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Recently stayed at the Sax from Thurs 13th to Sun 16th June for my stag do. We were a party of 17 but were well looked after. Just hope we weren't to noisy for other guests. We had the two large dorms on the first floor. The front room was massive with plenty of room and the other made up of bunk beds. The hostel is to the south of the city but is within a 5-10 minute walk into the city, following the river. I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone be it part of a large or small party. The pub underneath held its 25th Sax anniversary on the Friday which we attended along with hundreds of other people. The road was packed and a great atmosphere.
Thanks Sax, I thoroughly enjoyed my stag do and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

I was pleasantly surprised as to how good this hostel is. The whole hostel is built on Jazz theme and since it is just a year old it is very clean and fresh. I found staff to be very helpful and warm and with a hip pub downstairs, you don't have to go far to get a drink. Book this hostel in advance during tourist season as it gets filled up quickly

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pulkit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

I stayed as part of a group of friends in the Sax Hostel last month. We were travelling around the region, staying in hostels, and I have to say the thing that stood out was the comfort of the beds! Nice, fresh linen and plenty of space. Our whole group received a warm welcome from the owners, who are also involved in running the pub which hosts a live music night on Thursday (when we arrived). They were keen to explain the local area and help us arrange things to do. The hostel is well-located and compact, giving it a nice atmosphere. It's a little way out of the old town (approx 10 mins walk) but the neighbourhood is good with plenty of facilities and restaurants. Would definitely choose to stay there again if in Ljubljana!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank russell9780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
2.2 mi away
Bit Center Hotel
Bit Center Hotel
#24 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#13 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Vrba
Hostel Vrba
#2 of 70 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hostel Tivoli
Hostel Tivoli
#5 of 70 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sax Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sax Hostel

Property: Sax Hostel
Address: Eipprova ulica 7, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sax Hostel is Ljubljana's newest hostel, housed under the roof of the city's legendary jazz pub, Sax Pub. We are ideally located along the river running through the city's lively old center, where music lovers of all ages and walks of life have gathered for 25 years. Over the bustling terrace of Sax Pub, behind the graffiti-clad facade, are immaculately renovated doubles and dorm rooms, named after blues and jazz greats. To mix with Ljubljana's hip crowd, you need only to descend the stairs and take in the music of the pub, which on Thursdays is live. All rooms are equipped with power-outlets, reading lights, and free wi-fi. Every guest is provided with a personal locker for luggage and valuables. A fleet of bikes, ideal for exploration of the city, can be rented cheaply. Towels and linens are provided. Wheelchair accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sax Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing