We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Unpleasant stay with substandard service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of M Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
M Hotel
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
California
1 review
“Unpleasant stay with substandard service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2009

Arriving by air late in Ljubljana my wife and I wanted to sleep in until about 9:00AM. The staff during check in were courteous and friendly answering a few quick questions and providing us with a bus schedule to our next destination in the country. At 7:45AM we were rudely awakened by two roofers with a commercial size blow torch heating the rolled asphalt to peel it off preparing for a new layer. Inches from our window the torch was quite loud but the smell of tar smoke coming into our room was nauseating. We turned off the air (which helped) but perhaps the closed window (literally inches from the torch) was the culprit. I went downstairs to complain about the noise and smoke but the staff said it was "impossible" (not denying the noise but dismissing the tar smoke). I invited the staff to go upstairs into my room to verify what I was saying but they repeatedly declined. All in all they gave me a 10% discount which I felt wholly inadequate due to the cost of the room in relation to what was provided -- tar smelled room and construction noise at an early hour with no or little recourse. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fragaria61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    166
    131
    24
    7
See reviews for
39
104
25
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

The best part about this hotel was without a doubt the brilliant air-conditioning. The beds were OK, bathroom miniscule but adequate and the rooms small but also OK just to sleep. Bit of a pain to walk half an hour into town but you can get a taxi for about 7 odd euros. Breakfast is pretty bad and dinner also no better. But it did the job for the price.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahl0uise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

We had a very pleasant stay at the M hotel. It is true that it is a bit far from the center but if you like a bit of walking it's not a problem at all. Even late at night the city seems absolutely safe. There is, however, a bus service for those who don't like to walk. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable and the breakfast very nice. All in all this hotel is a cheerful and relaxed place to spend your days in beautiful Ljubljana. I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lhda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2009

A comfortable place to stay with a nice room and good restuarant.
The evening meal buffet at €10 was a bargain.
The hotel is popular with coach parties so it can be a bit of a wrestle at breakfast time.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mostlybytrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

30min by foot to the city downtown, rooms very simple, enjoyable staff at the front desk

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fero967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2009

Stayed at the M Hotel in Ljubljana for 3 nights. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are big enough for two and it's adequately clean enough, but the shower is teeny tiny. The hotel is about a 1/2 hour walk from the historic center, but a taxi is only 5 Euros.

If you want to book excursions to nearby attractions (the port, caves, or Bled) then the front desk can assist and it's reasonably priced.

If your stay includes meals then by all means eat there, but otherwise, I would suggest going to a restaurant in the historic center. The food is edible, but it's not great.

There is one computer with free internet for guests.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank i-gots-wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2008

After having read some negative comments, I wasn't expecting much from this stay. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel offered good value for money. The room was comfortable and the range of choices at breakfast was impressive.

The hotel would have been state-of-the-art when it was built, around 1970. It was constructed to a high standard and has hardly been modified since. Some people might think it looks very dated now, but anyone with an interest in architecture or interior design would find it fascinating. There are some nice black and white photos on display, showing the hotel in the early days.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for good value accommodation who doesn't mind staying some distance from the centre.

  • Liked — Style of whole interior
  • Disliked — Lack of clarity about exactly where to park the car
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bromdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
20.9 mi away
Hotel Trojane
Hotel Trojane
#28 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Meksiko
Hotel Meksiko
#17 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#7 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Bit Center Hotel
Bit Center Hotel
#24 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
2.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ljubljana Mons
1.4 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#14 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M Hotel

Property: M Hotel
Address: Derceva Ulica 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — M Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel M is strategically located directly between the Ljubljana ring road and city center, providing a fast connection the airport and other tourist destinations and attractions in Slovenia. The city centre is only a short walk away or guests can use a public transportation and reach center in 5 minutes. Hotel M offers state-of-the-art accommodation with free wireless internet, a flat-screen TV and air conditioning. Guests can benefit from a modern restaurant with a beautiful terrace in summer. International, as well as vegetarian dishes are served there. A car and bicycle rental service is also provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your M Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing