We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Ljubljana”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vander Urbani Resort
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Five couples traveling together began our Central European vacation by spending four nights at the Vander Urbani Resort in Ljubljana. All 10 of us were absolutely delighted with all aspects of the Vander. From the time we made reservations and asked lots of questions about excursions, restaurants, and sites until we left, everyone was so helpful. Luka was our original contact and was prompt, pleasant, and made us feel right at home. Darja, Marko, and Sinisa (everyone, in fact) couldn't do enough for us. The rooms were large and pleasant, very contemporary. The shower heads may be the best we've seen in a hotel. The windows completely shut out any noise from the streets. The breakfasts were wonderful, whether you simply wanted a croissant or something light or an entire "spread" which included omelets, pancakes, etc. On the top floor there was both a small pool and a party room. After going our seperate ways during the day, our group would meet in the early evening to have a drink before we went out to dinner. The staff would accommodate us in any way they could. -- making dinner reservations, arranging excursions or car rentals, you name it. No request was ignored. We certainly give great acolades to the Vander and will hope to stay there again sometime in the future. Slovenia is a great place to visit. Ljubljana is a jewel of a city, and the Vander is in a perfect location and is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are a little larger than the regular doubles, so if that is a concern, thee are choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarlStoltzfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

Talk about design..if you are subject to vertigo this is not the place for you. We really wanted to like this hotel, but there's too much of this/that, good/bad, smart/stupid going on.

-- There are patterns and checks and boxes galore, and sometimes you feel like Alice down the rabbit hole.
-- The rooms are spacious, but are too designed for their own good.
-- While the building is in a great location, smack dab in the heart of old Ljubljana, there is a disco downstairs (or a loud nightclub), and the din starts at 4 PM (even on weekdays) and lasts until 2 AM.
-- The breakfast buffet is small and bizarre, but the service is sweet.
-- The restaurant is adventurous, but prices are quite high. You can do better at Julija, or another nearby restaurant.
-- You MUST park your car in a lot located about 1/2 mile from the hotel (all of old town is pedestrianized), and the hotel provides transportation via golf card for you and/or your belongings. But, you have to call ahead, or leave your stuff in the right lot (which, too, is a challenge, as the nearest parking garage does NOT have a deal with the hotel) and walk to the hotel...you get the picture.

Ljubljana is a lovely town, but I'd look elsewhere for a hotel.

Room Tip: Find a room away from the riverside if you plan on sleeping at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olliedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanderUrbaniResort, Public Relations Manager at Vander Urbani Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear Guests,

We really do appreciate your sincereness and we will for sure do our best to establish a more peacefull environment for our guests in the future. However, we would just like to address that Ljubljana is a ''bon vivant'' city which offers many attractions and also a pulsating night life.

Since your stay, the establishment you mention, has been addressed & the program of events has been modified, for the better! Please join us on your next visit & experience with us our Ljubljana.

“These questions of taste, of feeling, of inheritance, need no settlement. Everyone carries his own inch-rule of taste, and amuses himself by applying it, triumphantly, wherever he travels.”
Henry Adams

Best wishes from
Vander Urbani Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We just returned home from Ljubljana, Slovenia-which is a beautiful jewel! We stayed two nights at the Vander Urbani Resort. Both nights there were loud parties--but the last night was one was on the roof - a floor above us with a stairway open to the roof next to our room. The party went until 2 a.m.+ and the hotel guests could not sleep. Since we had a plane to catch the next morning, we needed to be up at 4 a.m.--needless to say, we got little sleep. The Vander cannot decide if they are a hotel or a night club. The other problems are as follows:
bathrooms have glass walls into the main guest room-not a lot of privacy! Some have wall-length curtains to pull--put doesn't seem very sanitary
No toilet paper holders or towel racks-it is all show, not practical
No reception/lobby to sit for minute-every space on the first floor is for baror restaurant
Our friends' room was not made up until 5 p.m.
Towels are not even refolded (since no place to hang) when the room is cleaned
There is not a place to park the car or a way to get there by car (Ljubliana's Old City is a walking only area--which is great)-yet no instructions are e-mailed as to how to best park car, etc.--we arrived in a horrible rain storm.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank artprf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Nineteen friends descended on Vander last weekend. Firstly we drank them dry of champagne, forcing us to have a magnum of my fave Billecart-Salmon on the last night, having drunk them out of the local vintage bubbly plus all the French stuff. The owner is an architect and it is very light and modern with some wonderful designer features. Loved the glass wall between the bedroom and bathroom, which could have the curtain drawn or not. Loved the stylish arm chairs and the 'wish box' a large glassed piece of furniture containing the glass fronted mini bar, safe and some drawers. there is a wonderful Glass Box room on the 4th floor leading out to the roof terrace and small infinity pool looking out over the river to the roof tops opposite.The beds were very comfortable and we slept soundly, possibly aided by the champers consumption. The breakfast is wonderful, lovely omelettes with herbs or local seasonal produce, asparagus in May as well as pancakes or a new take on eggs and bacon. loved the butter in small glass bottles, the cheese in small glass kilner jars, ditto the fresh chopped fruit. wonderful memories, will definitley go back. Staff very helpful.

Room Tip: All looked lovely. The one on the front page of their website was next to ours and very funky/glam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynjcecil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We were a party of 5 (three rooms, 2 double, one single) and chose this hotel beacuse of its central location and its design features. I must say we were not disappointed. The rooms are spacious, the food at their restarant is very good and the staff are truly excellent. We had a couple of minor problems with the room and the managment of our complaints was really first-rate. The reception/front office went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and were also helpful in recommending restaurants and doing little things to make the stay special. Their roof-top terrace is great for an early evening drink llooking over the rooftops of central Ljubljana. All in all a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ophthal_erg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The best breakfast ever, and a very friendly staff. Nice clean rooms, but some noisy neighbours during the weekend can keep you awake. Great terrace at the roof. Very sentral in the middle of the old town. Love to come back one day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Grethenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

It is a really nice and trendy hotel, the only down point its that the bathroom's door is just a dark cristal so you can still see "everything".
The decoration and service are brilliant, and the restaurant is amazing!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank YeseniaDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,087 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
#21 of 31 in Ljubljana
445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vander Urbani Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vander Urbani Resort

Address: Krojaska ulica 6-8, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range: £105 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vander Urbani Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first member of Design Hotels in Slovenia.Vander lies on the river bank of the River Ljubljanica in the lively centre of the old town. Vander's heart beats with the Old part of Ljubljana, where old and new co-exist in a passionate embrace. Everyone can find a place at Vander. Whoever comes to Vander, will leave with the feeling as a local - "Ljubljancan". The external and internal renovation was designed by SADAR + VUGA architects. 16 exeptionally designed rooms are available. All bathrooms offer Molton Brown cosmetics. We offer a perfect sleep with Frette bedding, Moroso armchairs, Diesel and Floss lightening. A roof top terrace with an infinity pool deck is offering a special sensation. All kind of events can be organized on a terrace. The hotel has also wine cellar, restaurant and wine bar. The most exquisite ingredients from Slovenia are used by the Benjamina Launay, our Chef de Cuisine and his endless inspiration. Ecological awareness is not just a fashion statement for us. It's a way of life and business. Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vander Urbani Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing