We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High Spec Spaceship Interior design”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vander Urbani Resort
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“High Spec Spaceship Interior design”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Lovely hotel, smiling informative staff, well cooked food, fab breakfast, superbly situated, good sized rooms, giant beds, plentiful channels all cable fed, proper high speed free wifi - not what we mainly get in 3rd world England! All in all a very good hotel indeed.
Spaceship design might not be to everyone's taste, I thought it was fine, I wouldn't want to live in it in my own house, but it was a point of interest. The fine detailing slightly let it down, but not everyone checks how well the borders with wallpaper have been painted? I hope not, but the devil is in the detail. It was proper clean, so housekeeping are doing their job properly. I would definately go to Lubljana again and this hotel ticks all the right boxes.

Room Tip: All the rooms look of a decent size, we were in a standard room, it was perfectly adequote
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ackhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    108
    25
    14
    2
See reviews for
34
157
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We only stayed one night here and interior design aside this is a very good hotel.
Good room size, excellent linen, great big bed, fast free internet, huge quantity of cable TV and a very good breakfast.
The hotel is right in the centre of the pedestrian precinct of Lublijana, so you do have to walk from the car park, but if you have a lot of luggage there is an electric taxi service. Extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff made our stay more special. Personally I didn't mind the interior decoration, but I'm sure it wouldn't be to everyone's taste...but hey live a little you beige and chintz lovers

Room Tip: Arrive early for breakfast and stay all morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAM63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We spent two nights here and two nights at another hotel at the end of a trip around Slovenia but wished we had stayed here the whole time!! We loved this hotel. It is new and fresh and modern, the design is really great. The staff were super friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home. We quite liked the bathroom design with the clear glass, it was fun!! We had read other reviews about night club noise which was why we didn't book our entire stay here (we are light sleepers!!) but we didn't hear any noise at all. The roof top pool is small but lovely in summer, we enjoyed the cocktails. We ate in the restaurant and also enjoyed it. Overall we loved our stay, so nice to see these kind of boutique hotels. Would highly recommend and definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmalaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
324 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We've been so lucky to discover this small hotel. Excellent situation. We have tried a bigger and a smaller room. Bigger rooms are really worth the deal. Smaller rooms too but they are really small - ok for one or two nights, a bit too small if you stay longer. The bathroom are excellent in both categories, even if in the small rooms obviously the bathroom is also pretty small. Wi fi in all the rooms. Swimming pool on the rooftop is also really really small, but once you are in the water it's perfect to order a cocktail and enjoy the view over the rooftops. Don't miss the VANDER restaurant - great food and great service. By the way, the service is VERY friendly in the whole place (hotel and restaurant). Very clean, very convenient, very design. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Look on Internet for good rates. Try to get a bigger room as the first category (small) are pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EtiennE111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Great modern hotel right in the centre of the beautiful city of Lubljana, perfect for exploring the city. The staff were friendly and could not have been more helpful especially Andre on reception. The room was on the small side but that was to be expected considering the location of the building, it had all mod cons and the bed was extremely comfortable. The only quibble we would have is the bathroom which is situated behind a glass wall at the side of the room, not for the bashful.....!!!
Having said that we had a great stay at this hotel, and we would recommend this hotel. Breakfast is served in the restaurant , great choice of foods and very tasty. There is also a rooftop terrace with a small pool and great views of the city.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I stayed at the newly opened Vander Hotel (celebrating their 1st Anniversary this month). This is truly a gem among jewels. The location is in the heart of the old Town overlooking the river and practically next to the triple-bridge. The staff as so friendly and always available to help answer questions. The rooms were of the highest standard, although I found the glass shower room and toilet a novelty I felt there was little privacy if a couple were sharing. (I was on my own on a business trip).. the food was excellent in the restaurant, plenty to choose from for even the most fastidious palette and the martini's in the Cocktail bar would have even impressed Bond..!!

The rooftop swimming pool is delightfully secluded where you can relax, with a drink or read a book.

I would definitely recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: River view would be my recommendation
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jono's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed here recently with my sister for 4 nights - really fantastic hotel for the price point with a beautiful roof terrace. Would definitely stay here again, staff were very nice and location is good.

Some small niggles in that the restaurant is closed all day on Sunday and the turn down service of the rooms needs more attention (used glasses never taken away?) Only truly odd thing is the bathroom which had a glass panel into the room and a glass door offering zero privacy! I slept badly as I found the bed too soft and it gave me back pain but my sister had no issues.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 30 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
#21 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vander Urbani Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vander Urbani Resort

Property: Vander Urbani Resort
Address: Krojaska ulica 6-8, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vander Urbani Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first member of Design Hotels in Slovenia.Vander lies on the river bank of the River Ljubljanica in the lively centre of the old town. Vander's heart beats with the Old part of Ljubljana, where old and new co-exist in a passionate embrace. Everyone can find a place at Vander. Whoever comes to Vander, will leave with the feeling as a local - "Ljubljancan". The external and internal renovation was designed by SADAR + VUGA architects. 16 exeptionally designed rooms are available. All bathrooms offer Molton Brown cosmetics. We offer a perfect sleep with Frette bedding, Moroso armchairs, Diesel and Floss lightening. A roof top terrace with an infinity pool deck is offering a special sensation. All kind of events can be organized on a terrace. The hotel has also wine cellar, restaurant and wine bar. The most exquisite ingredients from Slovenia are used by the Benjamina Launay, our Chef de Cuisine and his endless inspiration. Ecological awareness is not just a fashion statement for us. It's a way of life and business. Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vander Urbani Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing