We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous as usual”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vander Urbani Resort
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous as usual”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

It's the fourth time we go to the vander. The atmosphere is there really design and cosy. The rooms are very comfortable and modern. Having a lunch outside is a real pleasure. It's very well situated. We'll come back certainly very soon. I feel there like home.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gregorydel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanderUrbaniResort, Public Relations Manager at Vander Urbani Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Allow us to thank you sincerely on your wonderful remarks. Since we are a small boutique hotel our main goal is to let our guest experience the local energy at its full charm and feel like home. So, in your case we are proud to have achieved and shared this experience with you.
We truly are looking forward to continue to share these moments with you in the near future.

On behalf of Vander family, we give you our best regards.
Vander team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    119
    31
    14
    2
See reviews for
39
170
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel is really nice, cosy and modern. The pool in the terrace makes it look like a private house in the centre of the city. And Liubliana is really really nice. On top of that, the staff is very welcoming and really willing to help. What an excellent discovery.

Room Tip: Try to find if it's possible to have a toilet which is not very modern and full of design but in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanderUrbaniResort, Public Relations Manager at Vander Urbani Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Allow us to thank you for your precious time to share your opinion with us. It means alot to us. The pool terrace is our most precious treasure and we are more than happy that you found it delightful. We took in note your remark about the bathroom and we would like to let you know that we welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better.
Again thank you for choosing our lovely hotel for your stay in Ljubljana and of course you are more than welcome to stay with us any time.
With compliments,
Vander Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The design of the hotel is very imaginative and build quality is very good.

Sleeping quality is amazing, with good mattresses and nice temperature. The spacious bathrooms are the highlight of the rooms, where furniture is one of the best I've seen in hotels.

The location is its biggest advantage, being right in the middle of the centre of Ljubljana, facing the river and a 1-5 minutes walk from all the sights, bars and restaurants.
The rooftop is small but nice, with a nice view of the city from the small infinity pool.

Breakfast is delicious but not as rich in variety as it would be expected for this price.
Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try and book the rooms with a view to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorgos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanderUrbaniResort, Public Relations Manager at Vander Urbani Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which we have shared with all our staff. You will be happy to know that, as a result of guest feedback like yours, we do realize that we are staying on the right path, furthermore it gives us the motivation to improve ourselves even better.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With warm wishes,
Vander Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is a very comfortable boutique hotel with comfortable beds, big rooms and imaginative decor, right in the middle of the downtown area overlooking the river. Breakfast is pretty decent, and the staff are friendly and professional. Our room was great, but as another reviewer mentioned, the air conditioning doesn't work properly and on the last night I found it somewhat stifling. Great shower room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Opera-loverOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanderUrbaniResort, Public Relations Manager at Vander Urbani Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments and give us your feedback.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We truly regret that you had a problem with the air condition. We would like to extend our sincere apologies, be sure that we have fixed air condition in room where have you stayed.
Once again, we would like to apologies for the inconvenience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon, to bring back your confidence in our property.

Best regards,
Vander Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at Vander Urbani for two nights in early May 2014. The design of the hotel is amazing and we were impressed with its location: all attractions were within walking distance and some of the best places to eat and drink were just around the corner. Our room had wonderful river view. Bed and bathroom were perfect. The roof top bar has nice views and is perfect for an afternoon coffee or drink by the pool. If you like design and luxury we strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Book Room 36 for an astonishing view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coup2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanderUrbaniResort, Public Relations Manager at Vander Urbani Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your most kind review on TripAdvisor and particularly for praising efforts of our deign, our location and the comfort of the rooms in general.
Thank you for being our guest and thank you for sharing your positive experience of Vander with other Tripadvisor readers.
We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future.

Best regards,
Vander Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
622 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our stay at vander urbani resort and highly recommend it:
- cannot find better location, right in the center of the old town with the best restaurants very close
- very nice rooms tastefully decorated with beautiful modern design
- feels brand new 2 years after it's opening
- lovely and super professional staff

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanderUrbaniResort, Public Relations Manager at Vander Urbani Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time here.
We were happy to know that you were satisfied with the location and that you like the modern design which we are proud and is result of very famous Slovenian architects: Sadar & Vuga.
Our absolute pleasure was to know that our staff have managed to deliver a bit of personal touch as it’s our goal to provide an extra service to our guest and to let them feel most relaxed and comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

All the best,
Vander Team

We hope to have another opportunity to serve you here at Vander Urbani Resort.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin8
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed there and I have to think for a couple of days how to review the hotel. This hotel is new but has some issues that could do with addressing. Let's start with positive and there is plenty. The hotel couldn't be more central being located right in the middle of the pedestrian zone. This is great (OK you can't get a taxi to the door) but you are located in a beautiful lively area. Lunch time menu is fantastic and great value too. I had room 33 on the third floor and the design is certainly unusual and very nice. The rooftop area is great to have in the good and bad weather and the hotel is spotless. Beds are fantastic and you have a huge selection of TV channels. WiFi is free and works great.

On the negative some minor issues. The air conditioning didn't work over the 4 days other than tell me that the room was 25 or 26 degree Celsius... ie hot. The air con just circulated air and didn't cool the room. The double glazing keeps out all the noise from outside but without air con I had to leave the window open with a noisey street outside. Breakfast was a little odd in that most hot things were an added cost.

Would I come back? Yes...if the air con works as you would have a near perfect hotel. Without air con you won't get sleep so figure out which you need.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Dublin8Dublin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanderUrbaniResort, Public Relations Manager at Vander Urbani Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments and give us your feedback. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We truly regret that you had a problem with the air condition. We would like to extend our sincere apologies, be sure that we have fixed air condition in room where have you stayed.
Once again, we would like to apologies for the inconvenience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon, to bring back your confidence in our property.

With kindest regards,
Vander Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,036 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
#22 of 31 in Ljubljana
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
4.1 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vander Urbani Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vander Urbani Resort

Property: Vander Urbani Resort
Address: Krojaska ulica 6-8, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vander Urbani Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first member of Design Hotels in Slovenia.Vander lies on the river bank of the River Ljubljanica in the lively centre of the old town. Vander's heart beats with the Old part of Ljubljana, where old and new co-exist in a passionate embrace. Everyone can find a place at Vander. Whoever comes to Vander, will leave with the feeling as a local - "Ljubljancan". The external and internal renovation was designed by SADAR + VUGA architects. 16 exeptionally designed rooms are available. All bathrooms offer Molton Brown cosmetics. We offer a perfect sleep with Frette bedding, Moroso armchairs, Diesel and Floss lightening. A roof top terrace with an infinity pool deck is offering a special sensation. All kind of events can be organized on a terrace. The hotel has also wine cellar, restaurant and wine bar. The most exquisite ingredients from Slovenia are used by the Benjamina Launay, our Chef de Cuisine and his endless inspiration. Ecological awareness is not just a fashion statement for us. It's a way of life and business. Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Vander Urbani Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing