We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleek style in great location, at a good price”
Review of Galeria River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Galeria River
Ranked #9 of 57 Ljubljana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sleek style in great location, at a good price”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The hotel is not for everyone perhaps, but it suited me very well. It is located on the top floor of an old, palace on the riverwalk on the edge of the old town by the university. You have to walk up a picturesquely decrepid but grand staircase, and then enter the hotel with its stark white walls and warm wood floors. My room had a well-equipped kitchenette, which is very useful if you do not always want to eat in restaurants. The bed was comfortable and the internet worked well. Everything was spotless. My studio cost €61/night with tax, which is a very good price. The only quibbles are (a) the reception is not staffed for long hours; and (b) it would be nice to have a least one comfortable reading chair in the studio.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hardyannual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    66
    23
    10
    3
See reviews for
16
110
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Udine, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Design rooms in an historical building, minimal total white look, just in front of the river and in middle town. no breakfast, but excellent bar nearby (Le Petit Cafè - french style). Public parking available. Valuable price. An accommodation to recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnB4018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

the rooms overlook the river in the pedestrian area. That means you cannot park directly outside but there is a car park nearby with good overnight rates and daytime there is street parking about 5 mins walk away. The rooms are on the third floor and there is no lift. when you get to them the staff are super friendly are ready to help with restaurant and bakery recommendations. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and comfortable. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosaBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

It met all of our requirements and we had an excellent stay at Galeria River. We had a spotless room with a kitchen, good sized bathroom and comfortable bed. We liked the style, not finding it sterile at all. We had a lot of help from reception regarding restaurant recommendations, sights and so on and they arranged airport service for us well. The location was ideal and the farthest we had to walk home from dinner was 15 minutes. The castle is a 10 minute walk away, Triple Bridge is 7 minutes and there is a good wine bar 5 minutes away. They are on the 3rd floor with no elevator, but it was no issue for us even with our big suitcases.

Room Tip: A room at the far end of the hotel may help reduce to noise of other guests coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellertown
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I had mixed feelings about this hotel - location is great ....right on the river with lovely restaurants. But, the hotel itself needs to make some changes to make it more hospitable. The rooms are very modern - all white except for the linens. Has a refrigerator and microwave and plates, utensils, etc....but, not coffee and no breakfast. The day we were there it was cold and pouring outside and it would have been really nice not to have to go outside and walk to get some breakfast and coffee. We did and went to a place that they recommended ...Le Petite Café which was excellent, but it would have been nice to have a choice. I would also recommend some towel racks or hooks in the bathroom. The walk up the stairs is okay once you get rid of your luggage, but it is pretty daunting on the first walk up. I would probably not stay again....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Once you get into the hotel its of an average standard, cable tv was good and the staff were pretty helpful, aside from that not much to write home about i'm afraid!

Wifi was so slow and seemed to crash constantly. The hotel, if you can call it that, was so clinical and bright that it seemed to miss the point of style. Its on the 3rd floor of a rather ugly and unkempt apartment block and its just about on the edge of the old town. Theres no lift and a lot of stairs (not that this is mentioned on the website) so no good for anyone with mobility problems.

in the room there were cups, plates and cutlery, along with a hob and microwave but strangely no kettle? The cutlery in the drawer was so dirty that we refused to touch it. Room had no air con and was definately not soundproof. Our door wouldnt shut properly unless we slammed it (so sorry to any other guests that heard us!)

All in all i felt a bit ripped off to be honest, we paid for what was advertised as a boutique hotel when in reality, we were staying somewhere that looked like a hospital. Best thing about this place is the shower and even that wasnt amazing!

Wouldnt stay again and definately wouldnt recommend to anyone else, much nicer places to stay for the same (if not less) amount.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perk, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

Easy to find at one of the best locations, just within carless citycenter. Big parking at 100 mtrs, 14 euro a day

Walking up to 3floor in the old, dirty staircase, surprise couldn t be bigger when entering the appartement, which holds 8 rooms.

Spotlessly clean, white, big bathroom. Walls are thin, we could hear footsteps in the room next to us, never anything else.

No breakfast so a little expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,575 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,036 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#15 of 31 in Ljubljana
839 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#24 of 31 in Ljubljana
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galeria River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galeria River

Property: Galeria River
Address: Breg 22, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Galeria River 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the 18th century landmark and cultural heritage "Zois Palace", Galeria River offers elegant interiors featuring a minimalistic design. We offer modern and tranquil accommodation in the core of the old town. Galeria is designed to please the most demanding. In its minimalist style it joins history with the contemporary art of living. Rooms are spacious, have high ceilings and original parquet floors. Different types of accommodation are offered: double bedrooms, double bedrooms with river & castle view and studios. They all have extra long beds, spacious wardrobes, working desk, flatscreen digital cable TV, fridge, microwave, safe, large and well equipped bathrooms, with L'Occitanne toiletries. Moreover, studios offer a full kitchen. The building stands on Ljubljana's most prestigious promenade: Breg. Here happens the classical Antique Market on Sundays, Art & Handicrafts market on Saturdays and famous Christmas market in December as well as several events throughout the year. Excellent restaurants, cafes and bars are just a few steps away. We assure a tranquil environment, allowing you to rest and get ready to explore our enchanting city. Public parking is available at a location nearby. The Bus and Train Station is 900m away. Airport shuttle, transfer services and customized tours throughout Slovenia can be organized. Laundry services can also be arranged at the reception. All rooms have free WI-FI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Galeria River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing