We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean and central”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel Tresor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Tresor
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very clean and central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Hostel generally was clean modern and spacious although in our room itself (a double) there was nowhere like drawers table etc to store things. Blinds in room needed replacing according to our resident blinds expert (girlfriend)... I agree with the comment about the inane music pumping out until all hours. Breakfast was good generally but need more choice. Hostel was very central, literally 30 seconds walk from the 3 bridges. Works outside (resurfacing pavement) which may affect you if you are staying at the front but we stayed at the back. Showers on 20 second timer which was a bit annoying but there were plenty of showers and toilets so no need to queue in the morning. Staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nb888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    86
    32
    9
    6
See reviews for
12
48
63
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Niksic, Montenegro
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

The hostel has an excellent location in the centre of the city and that is great because you do not have to use public transport and you can go everywhere you need on foot.There is a supermarket right next to the place so you can buy everything you need.My room was ok though it should have been vacuumed more often because on the third day of my stay there it got quite dirty and the room smelled terrible because a lot of people slept there(it was a dorm).The showers could have been cleaned more often as well.The staff are friendly.The breakfast could have been better because it was too basic.All in all,I had a quite good experience there and I would recommend it to someone who comes to Ljubljana.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Pjakvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Our stay in this hostel was disappointing. On the surface, it looks great. Its in a phenomenal location, the beds are comfy and clean, the staff are really helpful and the breakfast was great. However, there is something fundamentally wrong about this hostel. It's quite hard to put your finger on, but there seems to be a lack of thought with the details. The bunk beds in the 12-bed dorm are squeaky beyond anyone's imagination, so woe betide anyone who is thinking of sleeping; they pump inane music throughout the entire hostel until 10pm; the cleaners begin their vacuuming rounds at around 6am; they advertise separate bar, atrium, web room and common room areas where in reality it is a tall room with some chairs, a vending machine and a slowwwwwwwww computer in one corner; and if you're planning on changing the temperature in the shower, you better start weight training now. Perhaps the most glaring error (and the most important thing in any hostel (besides a bed) in my opinion) was the lack of lockers. There were lockers in our room, but required a physical key as opposed to our rooms card key. When I asked, I was told they are "just for decoration". I mean, they were quite attractive wooden cabinets I admit, but I would have preferred the security! It's an ok hostel, but I wouldn't spend any length of time there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Hostel Tresor is an amazing location in the centre of Ljubljana. We were overall really happy with our stay in the hostel as it was extremely clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.

We stayed in 2 different rooms - Firstly a 6 bed dorm which was very spacious but had no air-con which was a problem. There were also roadworks outsite which were very noisy but I think this was probably a one off. We then stayed in a 12-bed dorm which had air-con, however the wi-fi didn't work particularly well.

Breakfast is included which is nice however it's pretty basic bread/cheese/1 sliced meat.

Despite these hiccups, with the location, cleanliness and modern, bright feel of the hostel, we were happy with our stay.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

This place looks fantastic. The location is perfect, and the old-bank thing is cool.

But they've failed on some really basic stuff. Firstly, no lockers. That's just silly. There's plenty room under the beds, and somewhere safe to put my stuff is half the reason I'm paying for a hostel.

There are signs for a 'bar' on the first floor. Couldn't find a bar. Wifi was good in the public areas, but didn't work in the rooms. I realise this is a limitation of a big old buildings, but some extra routers would sort that out.

Showers are the annoying push-every-20-seconds kind, and they flood the whole room.

Squeakiest beds in the world. No curtains or power sockets at the bunks in our room.

Inclusive breakfast is a nice touch though, and I suspect some rooms are better than others. Just needs to get some basic things right!

Room Tip: Not sure which are the better rooms, but other reviews imply that some have curtains which would at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaunsanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hostel has only recently opened and I'm sure they'll get it together but at the moment they're worrying about the details without seeing the big picture.

Firstly, the Air Con is not effective at all. It wasn't broken, it made the right noises, it just didn't cool the room down at all. They have fitted a very modern display unit that tells you that it's not cooling your room down but have not fitted working air con.

The showers have amusing quotes on the floor but you have to push the button every 15 seconds for water.

The rooms have fantastic stencils on the doors but the beds are incredibly squeaky and the pillows are awful.

The staff have a cool computer system that controls every aspect of the hostel but don't really go out of their way to help you.

They've got some really good ideas to make this a wonderful hostel but they have to get the basics right first, we had paid extra for a comfortable nights sleep in a twin room and instead were very uncomfortable, hot and grumpy!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I was absolutely happy with everything that we got over that one-night stay in this hostel. Starting with a perfect location (you couldn't get it more central, believe me..), finishing with the money paid (more than affordable, was even cheaper than stated on the official price list, since it was Wednesday!).
The staff was very helpful and friendly. We stayed in the largest dorm (12 beds maybe?) and the great thing is that all the bunk beds are isolated from each other by curtains, which is perfect if there's two of you travelling. Bathrooms were very modern and clean. They even have breakfast included! The only disadvantage I spotted is Wi-fi working only in the reception, but then again, you can use a computer with the internet for free).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elzeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
0.1 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#14 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 30 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Tresor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Tresor

Property: Hostel Tresor
Address: Chopova ulica 38, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Tresor 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tresor is the best example of how a grey and rigid home of bankers can be transformed into a lively and urban international environment. Our 104-person capacity is distributed into 28 rooms, named after world currencies.All the rooms are air conditioned and temperature is managed electronically both in summer and winter. Tresor offers free Wi-Fi access throughout the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostel Tresor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing