We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent Location”
Review of Hostel Tresor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostel Tresor
Reviewed 24 February 2014

As many people said, the hostel has a perfect location. It is 10 minutes walking from the Central Station and in the middle of city center. There is a good supermarket in the next building.
The breakfast was good and the communal spaces are big. There are many bathrooms and they were never fully occupied and always clean.
The bad things were that once I didn't have hot water in the bath and had to wait sometime and it was noisy sometimes.
But in general a very good place to stay. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabrielaCm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile


Stayed here for two nights in Feb, was a great location, short walk from the train station and right on the door step of the towns historic center.... The staff were very helpful planning day trips and weather hints, and generally making our stay easier. The only
Problems I had with the hostel were it was very hard to get a decent wifi connection anywhere and it was always dropping out and the breakfast started quite late at 8am, which was annoying when we had to go early to places however the main gripe with the hostel (and the reason I would not stay again sadly) where the showers...

Seriously worst showers ever, first off it takes 2 mins + for the water to warm up. This is made even more annoying by the fact that it has a push button timer of 8 seconds .... Seriously no one needs to save water that much guys, it's just really really irritating .... Then when the water is hot it last for only 1-2 mins effort going cold for good. Compounding all this is that the showers have 15cm space to change so your stuff is forever getting wet and the shower is likely to spray them / you will fall and get hurt.

Good hostel overall but seriously impaired by the shower situation to the point where I could not stay again

PS there is no facilities for making tea / coffee or filling up water bottle in the hostel and no kitchen is available to guests which is incredibly annoying in a hostel

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank jadk001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The hostel has an excellent location, on a quiet pedestrian street, next to a SPAR supermarket. It is clean, modern, well-equipped, with helpful and friendly staff. The price is economic yet with better service and facility than some 2* hotels in town. Definitely worth every single penny. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yuwei42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Brand new hostel so everything is very modern. Right by the centre of town, which was great for the Christmas markets. Beds were very squeaky so you wake up every time someone rolls over! Showers were average but bathrooms were clean. We stayed in a six bed room and it was a really good size. Lockers for security. Good breakfast for a hostel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Pip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

It was my 1st time experience staying in hostel and I must say was ***** experience, outstanding friendly helpful staff, who are 24hr ready to help you or advice on any information you need about the city. Recommended if you visit Ljubljana then you must visit the hostel because its has a history of a bank behind and if you lucky to encounter with the hostel staff called Gussa, then you will forget about living in somewhere else in Ljubljana because he a true friendly salesman who is in a wrong job.

Room Tip: Clean and beautiful hostel, which is located in the heart of the centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shamsed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We were totally amazed by this hostel! My husband and I stayed in many hostels all over the world and this one is completely new experience! after so many dirty and unsafe places we fell in love with this one. First of all the design is so nice, the whole place follow the bank story, since the building used to belong to a bank. Seems they put a lot of effort and we enjoyed so much. We stayed at one beautiful twin room and it was so cosy, calm and clean. Anyway the whole place is so wonderfully clean which is the most important to us. We also saw their dorms and they found a very good solution to keep it as intimate as possible. Common area is pretty amazing as well and the breakfast was more than enough for the price we paid. It is much more boutique hostel than just s hostel. Now, I have to mention the location! Could it be any better?! It is the heart of Ljubljana, on the main square, Presern. Beside the perfect location, staff was very helpful and they made our stay in Ljubljana fantastic. No doubt, we will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Perfect location, just step out, beautiful Ljubljana is there; buildings, bridges, cafes, statues.
Very clean rooms, white, comfortable sheets, nice modern decoration.
Nice polite and friendly stuff.
Ljubljana is a riverside jevellery with its architecture and city planning. Hostel Tresor, with its central location and comfortable rooms gives you an easy access to those beauties. Enjoy it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rigel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,714 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,425 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,087 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel Vrba
Hostel Vrba
#2 of 93 in Ljubljana
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Tresor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Tresor

Address: Chopova ulica 38, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range: £12 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Tresor 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tresor is the best example of how a grey and rigid home of bankers can be transformed into a lively and urban international environment. Our 104-person capacity is distributed into 28 rooms, named after world currencies.All the rooms are air conditioned and temperature is managed electronically both in summer and winter. Tresor offers free Wi-Fi access throughout the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostel Tresor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing