We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay; would return if noise levels improved”
Review of Hostel Tresor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel Tresor
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good stay; would return if noise levels improved”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Our stay at Tresor Hostel was overall an enjoyable one. Having travelled up from Croatia and Bosnia, it was the first hostel of our trip that actually felt like a hostel. Big rooms, a free continental breakfast, common rooms and washing machine facilities were some of the perks we enjoyed.

Our criticisms would be that in our private room, broken blinds meant we couldn't fully close them and our room was overlooked by many flats. On our second night, we were on a floor that had men's dorms and when they returned at 4 in the morning seemed to make every effort possible to wake the rest of the floor up. It would have been appreciated if someone from reception has came up and asked them to be quieter.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    86
    32
    9
    6
See reviews for
12
48
63
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We arrived late after a long days travelling and Tresor were celebrating their anniversary so there was a Party going on. It was fine with us, we could hear it going on in our room but we were so tired we just went to sleep. The Next evening we went out and came home about the same time the night before...but we got told off for talking!

Oh and a conference was going on in one of the halls and the shower room was right outside so in a towel I got confronted by 50 people!

Other than that the place was fab, really clean and well located. Personally I don't think it was suited for the backpacking type (as we were). For back packers, we need more energy...and more plug sockets!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marieg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We had the 10 room dorm for a Stag do, the room was just about big enough and the large window was welcome as it got quite warm with the heating on. There's a limited breakfast included, but it's excellent considering it's included in the price. It's bang in the middle of where you want to be, and about a 5 minute walk to the river bars and cafés, overall a good cheap place to stay if you're on a budget, Ljubljana is beautiful and I would like to return with the wife, but just might stay in a "posher" hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody_1_wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Coruna, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Everything was nice in this hostel. The rooms, the showers, the staff, the wifi internet, the price...
An unbeatable hostel to spend some days with friends. Just in the city center ! Recommendable 100%

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simón C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kumrovec, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The stuff is excellent, and the hostel is literally 50 meters away from the main square. You have a pretty huge store in same entrance which comes pretty handy :)

I didn't have negative issues with bathrooms, showers and toilets ;) i was in two bed room and it was pretty big, only downside is when you connect beds there is space between them...

all in all great value for the money...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vetzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We were very disappointed after our stay here despite the fact that a) it is in a great location and b) we loved Ljubljana!

The hostel is nice and big. Friendly staff, it has a lift, offers free breakfast (average), has a common room and internet access and vending machines and laundry service. All in all it is great in terms of facilities.

What let it down was the maintenance of the communal areas. I ate in the eating area once and the tables were dirty. I understand that everybody should clean up after themselves but people didn't...so the tables were left dirty until whenever the cleaner was due to come.

THE BATHROOM WAS HORRIBLE! The toilets, although separate from the showers (shared) were filthy by the end of the day with tissue piling up and overflowing from the bins! The shower operated awfully- you have to keep pushing the button to get the water to come out. You push it once, it lasts for 5 seconds and you have to push it again- what?! RIDICULOUS. Also, the water leaked out horrendously causing the whole of the bathroom floor (not just the cubicle) to become flooded with water which ran out into the main corridor...dangerous much?! It just had a dirty feel to it and I wonder how often the shower curtain was changed.

The bedrooms were nice and spacious- we stayed in a 6- bed mixed dorm. The beds were comfortable although the mattresses made very loud popping noises every time you moved and it was not very pleasant. Also, plug points were not well distributed around the room.

So....great location, great staff, great amenities, decent rooms, decent breakfast, horrible maintenance of bathrooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

As many people said, the hostel has a perfect location. It is 10 minutes walking from the Central Station and in the middle of city center. There is a good supermarket in the next building.
The breakfast was good and the communal spaces are big. There are many bathrooms and they were never fully occupied and always clean.
The bad things were that once I didn't have hot water in the bath and had to wait sometime and it was noisy sometimes.
But in general a very good place to stay. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabrielaCm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
0.1 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#14 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#6 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Tresor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Tresor

Property: Hostel Tresor
Address: Chopova ulica 38, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Tresor 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tresor is the best example of how a grey and rigid home of bankers can be transformed into a lively and urban international environment. Our 104-person capacity is distributed into 28 rooms, named after world currencies.All the rooms are air conditioned and temperature is managed electronically both in summer and winter. Tresor offers free Wi-Fi access throughout the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostel Tresor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing