We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food and extemely nice atmosphere”

Restavracija Strelec
Ranked #2 of 576 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Slovenian, Central European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious food and extemely nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The food is really delicious, something special and the atmosphere is really great. You feel special when eating there and you're treated well. Prices are higher than average, but it is worth going there.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalija G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    73
    21
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food and view”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Went for anniversary meal. All 3 courses excellent. I understand previous reviewer's comment on pork however although not crackling the skin was perfect and meat very tender. The view from the terrace was stunning.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank hasbeancounteruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
933 reviews
581 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
“Poor main course spoiled an exceptional meal”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Had been looking forward to our meal in the Castle all day and the view from the top when we arrived on the funicular railway was great. You need to look at the castle map when you get off to work out where to go and you find it's very close.

There is a spiral stair case up to the restaurant in one if the turrets of the old castle or a semi hidden lift. You get a lovely feeling when you arrive - exposed castle brick work, windows to a beautiful view if the city below and a nicely arranged dining room. It's a small restaurant with about 45 seats so in the busy times you would definitely need to book as we had done by email.

We were shown to one do the 2 best tables next to one of the windows. The waiter spoke excellent English and basically talked us through the degustation menu - which he recommended and there was an a la carte too - about 5 or 6 choices per course. We chose the a la carte and quickly made of our choices while sipping in a local sparkling rose as an aperitif. There was a good selection of wines available by the glass and at a reasonable price too so we did that.

As is good practise in quality restaurants they brought us a little taster form the chef - a lovely light and smooth chicken pate with onion marmalade - beautiful and set our expectation up nicely.

The first course soon arrived and both plates were stunning! My wife had the beetroot and goat cheese and I had never seen a better decorated plate of food - which tasted great too. I had the steak tartar with a fois grais style ice cream - first class too.

This was starting to be one of our best meals ever. Unfortunately the main course was quite average by comparison. We chose it (suckling pig) because it talked about a crispy skin and parsnips both of which we really enjoy but rarely eat where we now live in Italy. Unfortunately both of these elements disappointed - the skin in the belly pork was not crispy in the slightest ad was quite rubbery and the parsnip was rock hard - almost raw. How could a chef cook the starters to a world class level and then make such basic mistakes?

So which way was this going to end as the dessert arrived - luckily as we had started - beautifully presented and great tasting plates of food. I had there take on millefleurs (or however you spell it) and my wife the chocolate fondant with raspberry ice cream - both top quality.

So overall we left feeling one of our best meals ever had just eluded us and couldn't understand why. Let's be honest the food was excellent and is certainly Michelin Star level. We paid €96 for two including 3 glasses of wine each so it's fantastic value for money too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neale1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great meal, well priced, excellent location”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

The food here was top notch. It's aiming for Michelin standard and isn't a long way short of some 1 star restaurants in London. The dining room is small (only about 10 tables) in a small circular room within one of the towers, and makes for a great atmosphere.
We made our own tasting menu by ordering 2 starters, mains and desserts and sharing each (a tip if you fancy a 6 course tasting menu of your choice).

Ratings (marked as if aiming for Michelin star)

Starters
Yoke and truffle Potato cake - 8/10
Soup with ravioli - 5/10

Mains
Duck- 8.5/10
Pork- 7.5/10 (the tenderest pork I've ever had!)

Desserts
Pineapple Mille foulie - 9.5/10
Chocolate soufflé/ fondant- 8/10

We tried a fair few wines by the glass (maybe 6 between us) which was also great to experience a bit of Slovenian wine. Our favourite was the Riesling.

Total bill inc tip €105. Great value in our experience.

Go!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Unbiasedview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were at the restaurant off peak time, so we got places without any problem. But I think you have to reserve if you want to go for a dinner. The restaurant is located in a tower of a castle and has very special atmosphere. Food and local vine were excellent. Waiters were very helpful and friendly. Highly recommendable!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elle_Wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restavracija Strelec also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Restavracija Strelec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing