We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food and service - don‘t miss out”
Review of Vander Restaurant

Vander Restaurant
Ranked #100 of 585 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, International, Fusion, Slovenian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reykjavik
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service – don‘t miss out”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Me and my wife stayed for 4 nights in Ljubliana. We had dinners at some of the top restaurants in town. Vander is our top pick of the lot. The place was like half full but atmosphere was good and we liked the stylish settings. Our waiter, Anza, did his job perfectly. Made good suggestions with wine and food and was helpful and nice in every way. We had cold asparagus and seabass for starters and they were both excellent. Main courses were Slow roasted lamb and fillet of Adriatic Sea Bass. Like the starters they were presented in a beautful way and tasted fantastc. The Sea Bass was just out of this world. Having had such a good food we needed to check out the sweet end picked Pavlova, Anza said it had been on the menu from the opening. The pavlova jasu made it a perfect dinner for us. For those reading this I can just say – Don‘t miss out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilta2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    38
    15
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
388 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Great food, bad service, sterile atmosphere”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

The food is great, the service is however appalling. By far the worst service we have seen in Slovenia.
Went there last week - it wasn't at all busy - six tables (mostly couples) served by two waiters, yet we were left with nothing to drink and with dirty plates on the table for at least 20 min, we almost had to beg them to pay... We felt ignored most of the evening. Received no apology. The food was really nice tho, still we won't go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zuzka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good, but room for improvement”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The starters were amazing combinations, presentation and techniques used. But we obviously expected too much after that, so the mains were just OK. Nothing wrong, but nothing special either. There were a lot of wines on the wine list that they did not have? And the waiter said that they changed the wine list... So why did we have the old one in our hands? His wine recommendations and descriptions were also a bit wrong, so if you have a bit of knowledge yourself, trust it. All in all good food and a nice atmosphere, sneak up to the roof of the hotel for a great view ;)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank salamala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a little piece of heaven in an undiscovered part of the world”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

amazing! classic slovenian cuisine filtered through the brilliant mind of a French chef with a 21st century local fresh produce sensibility. Benjamin is a star! I tried eating elsewhere but it just seemed like a bad idea... :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank euromarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
310 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Just wandering around the Old Town and came across this restaurant, it is on a tiny passageway between the river and Stari Trg.They have a smallish menu, but enough choices to make you keep changing your mind as to what you fancy eating. I chose the suckling pig, which was delicious as was their lemon tart. All the staff were very friendly. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank missbrowneyesxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vander Restaurant also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Vander Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing