We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food for thought”
Review of Gostilna Dela

Gostilna Dela
Ranked #47 of 585 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$11
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We are following teh principles of SOCIAL ENTREPRENEURSHIP. Gostilna dela is a charming little restaurant providing LOCAL EXPERIENCE. We offer delicious breakfast and lunches, to satisfy meat, fish and vegetarian lovers. The food is FRESH, HEALTHY and prepared from an open plan kitchen. Food and drinks are prepared and served by YOUTH who have not finished formal education and young people with disability. They are trained to become more employable. Recently we have spiced up our restaurant with REUSED collection of cups, plates and glasses. We are located just a few steps from a Central Market and Ljubljana Castle Funicular.
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food for thought”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The name of the restaurant has two meanings in the Slovene language. One literal translation is "Restaurant is working" (or open for business), and the other is "Restaurant of work". It is the latter that the founders had in mind, when they opened for business. The restaurant offers unemployed and unskilled individuals an opportunity to learn all tasks needed in a restaurnat....and it works! I have never been disappointed with their offering. They have a different menu each day, with a limited choice of menus. Normally there will be a meat and vegetarian menu available. Price for quality is excellent! This is a small restaurant, with a lot of character. If you're strolling arounf the old town, particularly in the market, you're only minutes away from a good and inexpensive meal. The restaurant is only open for breakfast and lunch.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonifacij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    23
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We visited Gostilna Dela for lunch during a 2 day stop over in Ljubljana and completely loved it. We both started with pea soup and had the salad to follow, one with chicken and one with tuna, however it was a hard choice as all of the days options looked fabulous. Both of us completely satisfied and stuffed then decided on having tiramisu as the place seemed to be full of italian tourists enjoying it, and it did not disappoint! We loved it so much we came back for a quick breakfast before catching our train the next day, which was also brilliant. Great concept creating employment for the unemployed however the service and food exceeds that of the best restaurants

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Varvarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food with a cause”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

If you eat in this restaurant, you help some young unemployed urls and boys. The owner took them and learned them to cook really good food. Remember, it is not a a carte, but you won't regret visiting this small boutique restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Klemsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“delicious”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

food is excellent. service even better.great team keep it up!The idea of training staff is also positive for local employment

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KaleaZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very good food!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had the pleasure to visit Gostilna dela with some foreign visitors, who were working with us on a European project about youth unemployment. We decided to take them to dinner to Gostilna dela, because we liked the concept of the restaurant, and it went well with the concept of our project.

We weren't disappointed! The food was wonderful, the atmosphere was lovely and the staff was incredibly nice (the female part of our company was especially impressed with how nice our waiter Matic was). Also, the prices are great - we were all very full at the end, but for a very reasonable price.

We also asked them to do a little presentation for us and our foreign friends, and Tita, the restaurant manager, gladly obliged, and told us some very interesting facts about the whole project and concept of Gostilna dela.

All in all, we were very happy with our visit, and we'll be sure to recommend Gostilna dela to our friends and family!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Flafi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gostilna Dela also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Gostilna Dela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing