We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm In The Heart Of Ljubljana”
Review of Grand Hotel Union

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Union
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
447 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Old World Charm In The Heart Of Ljubljana”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I spent three comfortable nights at Grand Hotel Union Executive, located just a few hundred meters from the main square in Ljubljana. My executive single room was nicely decorated with wood paneling and sufficient closets and drawers for my personal belongings. The bed was just a little smaller than a double bed and it was comfortable. The linens were okay, though not top quality and the bed was fitted with a lightweight comforter as a blanket.

The room was clean and featured a large flat screen television with numerous channels available in several languages. There were adequate electrical outlets near the desk for charging my PC and other electoral equipment. The bathroom was equipped with a tub/shower combination and all the amenities one would expect to find in a hotel of this class. The bath towel was of low quality, small and rough on the skin.

The swimming pool and fitness center were small and located on the 9th floor of the adjacent hotel, the Grand Union Business Hotel. I would have enjoyed a massage treatment, however, this service is provided very close to the pool where noise would ruin any relax time.

The check-in/check-out process was efficient and the entire staff I encountered were courteous and helpful. Grand Union Executive Hotel has an amazing, well stocked, breakfast buffets; one of the best I have found around Europe. I utilized the hotel's underground garage for a daily fee of 17 euro.

I will return to Grand Union Executive on future trips to Ljubljana and I will recommend this hotel to friends and business associates.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirto56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    576
    116
    31
    13
See reviews for
225
558
98
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Stay for 3 nights. Staff very pleasant, receptionist did leave us waiting for a while to be served without any acknowledgement. Managed to get an upgrade. No building work inside just down the road but it is nearly complete now.
Breakfast was well worth getting up for.
Location amazing pretty much in the heart of everything.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsford, NY
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We loved the location being right off the town square and Three Bridges area. When we checked in, Tomas, the manager helped us and provided impressive service. The rooms are very nicely decorated with modern features and furniture. The bathroom was roomy with high end fixtures. The included breakfast was a buffet that had a very large selection including fresh fruits, meats and cheeses. The omelet station was a hit with my kids and the staff was very friendly and attentive.

For a first time visitor to Ljubljana, we were really pleased to share a great experience with our children in such a friendly and welcoming city. I highly recommend this hotel. American travelers should be aware, this hotel, like most hotels in Europe use a different and thinner mattress that is not nearly as comfortable as those found in American luxury hotels. That is probably the only reason I did not give this hotel a five-star rating.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgmoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

If you want to experience what it was like to live in the communist era, stay here. We had booked this hotel for 5 nights, however after walking into the building, it felt like we were entering General Tito's world. It felt like this place had been stuck in an old time warp and the rest of the world had moved on. The decor is extremely depressing, drab and the staff are similarly stuck 50 years behind. The pool is closed between 11am and 3pm everyday 'for cleaning'. Figure that out! Meanwhile the 2 staff are having tea and cake poolside when we call in the pool during this time. The pool was a substitute to their communist hall. We booked a massage (bad decision). The masseuse could have been general Tito's mistress. The interior decor in this hotel was extremely depressing. The shower was raised at least 12 inches high, which was supposed to be wheelchair friendly. The interior was done in a very cheap finish, the breakfast was scary. We were lucky to find another place in Ljubljana for the next 4 days which was heaven sent, and couldnt wait to leave this scary communist place.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank LaraTuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Great hotel, clean, large rooms, friendly staff, in the middle of the city, good breakfast, parking at hotel (additional costs), small pool and nice sauna area. Slovenia is a great (small) country with very friendly people, everybody speaking English, mountains 1 hour away. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob0367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Excellent location on one of the most fashionable streets in Ljubjiana, the hotel does not live up to it's 4 star rating. Air-conditioning in the room was very poor and inspite of a request to Reception to get this fixed nothing was done. The mattress on the bed was rock hard, so the combination of this and high temperatures in the room meant little sleep.
Buffet breakfast in the morning was good and the staff are pleasant and polite.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms with a view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadwarrior1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szeged, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Excellent location, helpful staff, nice room (historic part of the building) and really good breakfast. Only one fault is, the dinner. Our dinner was a part of our package, and this was a really package dinner, two choice, simple in a unpleasant hotel garden (bordered by modern block of houses.

Room Tip: room in the historic part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gyurma_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,036 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
4.0 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Union

Property: Grand Hotel Union
Address: Mikloshicheva cesta 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Union 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first class hotel in Ljubljana, boasting a premier location in the city centre, offering most spacious & comfortable rooms, excellent complimentary buffet breakfast, free internet, secured parking garage, business centre...Located on the door step of the Old Town and less than 30 minutes from the international airport, Grand hotel Union Executive has got city's top location for business & leisure travellers. It is also the address of royal visits, presidential delegations, and major Ljubljana's events and has more than 100 years long tradition of friendly and professional service.All rooms (25-35m2) and suites (45-140m2) are air-conditioned and have bathroom with bathtub or shower, large LCD screen, phone, mini bar, safe, trouser press, hairdryer and free of charge internet access. The hotel provides 20 multi-functional conference rooms with capacity up to 800 participants, a top-floor indoor swimming pool, a sauna and fitness area. Culinary delights are served in the renovated restaurant and bar Atelje or in the quiet shady garden in the summer. The hotel also has a cosy lobby bar and a popular coffee place - Grand Cafe, exchange office, a newspaper and souvenir shop, a fashion boutique, a jeweller and a hairdresser. Enjoy the stay in one of the most beautiful and elegant hotels in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing