We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, ambiance, service: quality”
Review of Grand Hotel Union

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Union
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location, ambiance, service: quality”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Everything about staying at this lovely hotel was positive. My room was large, clean, and quiet; the bathroom was large and modern, the shower water pressure was strong; the bed was very comfortable; the furnishings are understated and sophisticated. I sat out a heavy rain at the ground floor bar in comfort, eating an excellent club sandwich. Service was prompt and attentive. Reception was staffed with three people each time I went by, and I never saw lines of people waiting to be helped. The staff was gracious, friendly, and helpful with directions, hotel umbrellas, and general information. The breakfast, which was included with my room, was the best in quality and selection that I have had at any hotel during my extended travels.
The location is an easy, straight and level walk from the train and bus stations. It is in the lovely old city center, so only a very short walk to the bridge, river, outdoor markets, shops, restaurants, and bars.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCTravelbug22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    576
    116
    31
    13
See reviews for
225
559
98
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Como, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The hotel is great from outside, few steps away from the pedestrian area of Ljubiana, but as soon as you step in your room (and I got a deluxe, not standard one) your enthusiasm fades away. Old furniture, chemical WC, my room being superior was like a small apartment, but I don't need a kitchen and dining table in a business room, especially if then my sleeping room was so small I could leave my luggage open inside it and I had to put it on the dining table, due to the lack of luggage holder. The WC had a very noisy chemical box to clean it.
But the service, on the other side, was really good: as soon as I parked in front of the hotel, my car was moved to the garage from a person and next day I could leave it until 2 pm in the hotel parking while the personnel brought my luggages inside it.
Definetily could be a great fashionable hotel if rooms are refurnished, because the building has lots of potential

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i_picci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This hotel is normally quite expensive and would be well out of our price range. But we found a special weekend rate on the hotel's web site that included free breakfast and a very affordable rate for our 2-night (Fri-Sat) stay in beautiful Ljubljana. The hotel is only one short block from Preseren Square and the Triple Bridge -- right in the heart of the old town, convenient walking to everything. The hotel is in a historic building but is modern on the inside. Our room was modern and plushly furnished as you would expect in a high-grade "business" hotel. [The room we were given originally smelled very strongly of cigarette smoke, even though it was supposedly a non-smoking room. We asked for a different room and the hotel moved us promptly to one that didn't smell at all.] The breakfast was the most sumptuous hotel breakfast we've ever had -- an unbelievably extensive selection of many hot and cold items, and they will even cook to order anything you want. The hotel parking was expensive (17 Euros/night) -- probably could have found free on-street parking after 1pm Saturday but before that time and until 7 or 8 pm on weekdays you have to pay the meters and get up early to put money in before 8 am. So we decided to skip that hassle and just pay the hotel parking fee for the convenience -- a reasonable tradeoff for their great location and the cheap weekend room rate. We highly recommend the Grand Hotel Union Executive for a Ljubljana stay, especially if you can get the weekend rate.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottandelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

arriving by car can be a nightmare due to the lack of parking space just for check in. On the other hand, the central location of the hotel couldn´t be better for shopping and dining - everything within short walking distance.Valet service was good and fast; 17 EUR per day. Very friendly staff at the front desk; they bend over backwards to help you. All of them spoke English fluently, some also German, Italian, .... My room on the 8th floor was quiet, clean and spacious, the minibar reasonably priced. Tasteful interior. No coffee machine in the room though. Excellent view over the city. Good and fast WLAN (free). Breakfast (buffet) had a good selection; omelet made to order, variety of fruits, pancakes etc. Next time in Ljubljana, I would return to this hotel.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank freqtravmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and comfortable. Staff were amazing! Best buffet breakfast with everything you can possibly think of to fill up on, and short walk to the lively square and restaurants by the canal where they play beautiful music. This place is also a great hub if you're planning on visiting postojna and lake bled. Loved Slovenia and will definitely be back :)

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The hotel encompass both business conference center as well as a great spa department. The pool is situated on the top floor and has an excellent view over the city. The rooms are very clean and spacious and the beds have firm madrases which I prefer. The breakfast includes everything one could desire

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MetteBaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed in the hotel two times for 3 days. Really nice rooms, good service and breakfast in the morning. Hotel restaurant isn't the best you can get in the city, but it's ok if you are looking for a convenient way to eat something.
For that kind of price I would expect that the bottled water in the room will be free of charge, but you can't have everything.
Hotel is based in the city center, so it's really easy to find nice restaurant, do some site seeing and shopping.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pozkom06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,036 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
4.0 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Union

Property: Grand Hotel Union
Address: Mikloshicheva cesta 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Union 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first class hotel in Ljubljana, boasting a premier location in the city centre, offering most spacious & comfortable rooms, excellent complimentary buffet breakfast, free internet, secured parking garage, business centre...Located on the door step of the Old Town and less than 30 minutes from the international airport, Grand hotel Union Executive has got city's top location for business & leisure travellers. It is also the address of royal visits, presidential delegations, and major Ljubljana's events and has more than 100 years long tradition of friendly and professional service.All rooms (25-35m2) and suites (45-140m2) are air-conditioned and have bathroom with bathtub or shower, large LCD screen, phone, mini bar, safe, trouser press, hairdryer and free of charge internet access. The hotel provides 20 multi-functional conference rooms with capacity up to 800 participants, a top-floor indoor swimming pool, a sauna and fitness area. Culinary delights are served in the renovated restaurant and bar Atelje or in the quiet shady garden in the summer. The hotel also has a cosy lobby bar and a popular coffee place - Grand Cafe, exchange office, a newspaper and souvenir shop, a fashion boutique, a jeweller and a hairdresser. Enjoy the stay in one of the most beautiful and elegant hotels in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing