We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location and delicious breakfast!”
Review of Grand Hotel Union

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Union
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel for its reasonable price, and were more than pleasantly surprised.

The location really can't be beat – just steps from Preseren Square and the Triple Bridge, and with all the major sights (the castle, the markets, cathedral, etc.) only minutes by foot. The service staff was friendly and the rooms were clean, but our favorite part was breakfast. From roasted vegetables, bacon and omelets to a full spread of cereals, fruit, meats and cheeses – even self-serve sparkling wine – there was something for everyone. We would book this hotel again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

939 - 945 of 1,755 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed for 2 nights here in early August and at just over £71 for a double room and breakfast per night in a capital city we thought it was amazing value. Lovely art nouveau historic building, in an ideal location of town just a cockstride away from the main square, and just down the street from the bus station. Pleasant staff. Room was spacious (with two double beds and seating area, two large windows (but no balcony), lots of storage space and mirrors!), clean, comfortable and well equipped. Everything worked as it should including the air con, which was a godsend in the recent heatwave! Breakfast buffet was plentiful and varied. Free wi-fi was a handy bonus. Can't comment on the restaurant, coffee shop or the swimming pool as didn't use them. Would definitely stay here again though!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susiehoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Union during a visit to the beautiful city.

The hotel arranged transfers from the airport in a clean nice car and a great friendly driver for the same cost as a local taxi.

The hotel itself has been redone, but the fasade remains traditional and fits in with the old city.

The room we had booked had trouble with the aircon, so they upgraded us to a suite for our entire stay without any questions. The rooms were clean and beautiful and the furniture was antique and quaint. There was a minibar, TV, safe and bath robes. The bathrooms were immaculate.

The staff were incredibly friendly and extremely helpful.

Breakfast was great. There was a chef making eggs/omelets on request and there was a good selection of western and traditional food. There was even sparkling wine on offer, and huge coffee/tea menu.

There was a pool and wellness center in the adjoining hotel. although it was quite small and were only a few deck chairs. So we had to swim and leave.

The location is incredible. Only a stone through away from the triple bridge, resteraunts, markets, supermarket and pharmacy.

Excellent value for money.

Overall a fantastic hotel and great city. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craigusss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

If you in Ljubljana, there is no point to look for better hotel. It is located right in the middle of the city, it is actually the center of the city. the hotel is historic building very beatiful from outside. Rooms are not extraordinary, but they are very nice. Breakfast is just great. Do not miss the view on the castle from the upper floors of the building (unfortunately not from my room, but from the corridor) - I did not see better view in the whole city. Negative side of my room as noise in the street, I am not sure why the noise was so strong, there were not too many cars, but in any case you can not use the balcony or sleep with open windor. But if you close it, the noise is minimal.

Room Tip: I am in 9th floor and I like it very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I was in this hotel 4 times in last 18 months and it really deserves all the best that somebody can write in review. Location is less than a minute walk to the central square, rooms are very nice and spacious (I always pick superior double), stuff is great, breakfast as well and because of all that Grand Union is my first (and only) choice when I travel to Ljubljana either for business or pleasure...

Room Tip: superior room is my choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The hotel is located in the very centre of Ljubljana at the end of a dead end street. We arrived by car. The hotel had valet parking in a garage and they immediately took care of our car. We had booked an ordinary double room, but we were upgraded to a small apartment without us asking for it. The apartment consisted of a bedroom, a small living room with a small kitchen in the corner, and a quite spacious bathroom. Everything was clean and in good order, and they kept it so during our 6 night stay. Breakfast was served in a large breakfast room in the neighbouring Grand Hotel Union Business. It was a good buffet which was well kept throughout the very busy breakfast. the breakfast room was very busy, but we found a table out in the hotel garden where the atmosphere was more relaxed.
Staff was very helpful and friendly, only little criticism was that the concierge was not able to get us concert tickets and I had to find my way to the Ljubljana festival's office myself.
We did not dine at the hotel.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I weather permitting, try find a table outside in the garden for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank utsyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This hotel is located about as centrally as it possible, with a 1 minute walk to the central square. The room was excellent, not huge, but perfectly adequate. Superb air conditioning ("US grade"), which was necessary due to 37 deg C heat outside. Comfy bed, and good bathroom. Excellent upkeep. Small balcony, bit vertiginous, but could just see the castle.

Good breakfast buffet with a wide selection.

The hotel pool is located on the top floor with a small rooftop terrace - it really is stunning with amazing views.

Room Tip: We were in the new annexe which seemed fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonny490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
751 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,450 reviews
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
3.9 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Union

Address: Mikloshicheva cesta 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range: £96 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Union 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first class hotel in Ljubljana, boasting a premier location in the city centre, offering most spacious & comfortable rooms, excellent complimentary buffet breakfast, free internet, secured parking garage, business centre...Located on the door step of the Old Town and less than 30 minutes from the international airport, Grand hotel Union Executive has got city's top location for business & leisure travellers. It is also the address of royal visits, presidential delegations, and major Ljubljana's events and has more than 100 years long tradition of friendly and professional service.All rooms (25-35m2) and suites (45-140m2) are air-conditioned and have bathroom with bathtub or shower, large LCD screen, phone, mini bar, safe, trouser press, hairdryer and free of charge internet access. The hotel provides 20 multi-functional conference rooms with capacity up to 800 participants, a top-floor indoor swimming pool, a sauna and fitness area. Culinary delights are served in the renovated restaurant and bar Atelje or in the quiet shady garden in the summer. The hotel also has a cosy lobby bar and a popular coffee place - Grand Cafe, exchange office, a newspaper and souvenir shop, a fashion boutique, a jeweller and a hairdresser. Enjoy the stay in one of the most beautiful and elegant hotels in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing