We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accommodations and convenient location”
Review of Grand Hotel Union

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Union
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Carmichael, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodations and convenient location”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The Union is in the Center of town, close to shopping, restaurants, and all manner of business. Within walking of Three Bridges and the Castle. On our pillows was the BEST chocolate I have ever tasted! Breakfast is a huge buffet with everything anyone could want including a chef for custom egg dishes.

Not a Five Star only because room service, though quick, is not extensive, and there was a loose fixture in the bathroom.

We will always stay here when visiting Ljubljana!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amcanrer95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    575
    116
    31
    13
See reviews for
225
557
98
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My husband is staying in this hotel regularly during his business trips and is talking about it in superlatives, so it was the first choice for our private trip in Ljubljana. But, I couldn´t be more disappointed. We got room 827, which was on the smoking floor. You couldn´t smell the smoke in the hall, but you could smell it in the room when entering.
If you are staying 100x in non smoking room, why do they give you on 101st time smoking one?
The room was quite nice, but it was definitelly not the kind of "wow" rooms. It was more like "ok, so the carpet matches with curtains" room. The window was dirty with hand prints, there were also stains on the mirror. But we came to Ljubljana to enjoy the city not to watch window, so I didn´t make a big deal from it and told at the reception only when checking-out.

Bathroom was very small, so you could sit on the toilet and brush your teeth in front of the mirror at the same time. The shower cable was leaking and on the bathroom door I also find some finger prints.

Fortunatelly, my husband has a small discount in this hotel, so we payd little less, but still. The standard doesn´t match the price at all. If I was guest paying the full price I would be mad with all those faults I found in the room.

There was also only one blanket on the bed, but the second one was brought to our room without problems.
Not to only criticize, I have to mention the breakfat which was superb, the coffee was delicious and the breakfast exeperience let me forget my dissappointing from the room.
Hotel is just at the centre of Ljubljana, so you have everything max. 10-15 minutes from the hotel. The parking is very expensive(cca 17 Euro/day), but we had a parking at friends, so this didn´t bother me.

I would probably go to tis hotel again (for the breakfast), but I would make sure to get better room, which they must have - at least according to the reviews here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The Grand Union Executive hotel wonderful experience. We loved the spacious airy, modern and well decorated and comfortable room in the center of old town Ljubljana. The breakfast was superb in a large dining room with a large variety of healthy tasty hot and cold foods . The staff were friendly, helpful and spoke English well.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor facing the street and above the doors. It was quiet, bright, large an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aidam8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The Grand Union is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in when we consider the 40 countries we have visited. The staff is amazing, especially the manager Luka who was so welcoming and created a great experience for my family and I. The breakfast had so many choices and the food was great. Very few hotels offer the variety of the Grand Union. We stayed in the suite which was an amazing choice. The room was very spacious and the AC worked really well. The indoor popl is the best we have seen and it was not crowded so we enjoyed swimming . Ljublhjana is a charming city and we plan on going back.

If you plan on visiting Ljubljana or want a good base to visit Slovenia you should definitely stay at the Grand Union. It is the ultimate hotel for location, service, rooms and dining.

Room Tip: Get the suite. Although it costs more the room is unbelievable. Many heads of state, choose the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RenandIssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forli, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The reason for my writing this letter is to inform you about a very positive experience after having stayed at Grand Hotel Union Executive in Ljubljana.
In the afternoon of Friday the 16th of August 2013 my wife and I called the reception and I reported that we had left behind us € 1.000 hidden inside a brochure on the table of room 451.
After three hours we received a call from one of the employees who told us that he had found our money after a very thorough and laborious search.
WE were very happy, we thanked him and a few days later the amount was put into our bank account.
We would like to thank all the staff for their cooperation and integrity.
Gastone & Cristina

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gastone P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle, wa
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I was expecting something a little grander, given the beautiful picture of the grand hotel, but in reality this is like 3 hotels in one. There is the original with original rooms, the executive with very business like rooms and then the business. We stayed in the executive wing. We had a room on a high floor with a great view. The room was smaller but very efficient. We also had a balcony. My favorite thing was the super air conditioning. It was a heat wave when we were there so it was a huge relief to have it. The breakfast was very good and included in the price. I was just confused the whole time we stayed there - 5 nights - about how come the lobby was so drab when clearly this is an amazing building.
We got a great price on our room and it was so close to everything. I would definitely recommend, just don't expect anything grand.

Room Tip: higher floors have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel has fascinating architecture and reminds visitors of the Grand days past. The staff are very friendly and all speak good English. Well appointed rooms and ideally located for exploring the old city

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
637 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,035 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
4.0 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Union

Property: Grand Hotel Union
Address: Mikloshicheva cesta 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Union 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first class hotel in Ljubljana, boasting a premier location in the city centre, offering most spacious & comfortable rooms, excellent complimentary buffet breakfast, free internet, secured parking garage, business centre...Located on the door step of the Old Town and less than 30 minutes from the international airport, Grand hotel Union Executive has got city's top location for business & leisure travellers. It is also the address of royal visits, presidential delegations, and major Ljubljana's events and has more than 100 years long tradition of friendly and professional service.All rooms (25-35m2) and suites (45-140m2) are air-conditioned and have bathroom with bathtub or shower, large LCD screen, phone, mini bar, safe, trouser press, hairdryer and free of charge internet access. The hotel provides 20 multi-functional conference rooms with capacity up to 800 participants, a top-floor indoor swimming pool, a sauna and fitness area. Culinary delights are served in the renovated restaurant and bar Atelje or in the quiet shady garden in the summer. The hotel also has a cosy lobby bar and a popular coffee place - Grand Cafe, exchange office, a newspaper and souvenir shop, a fashion boutique, a jeweller and a hairdresser. Enjoy the stay in one of the most beautiful and elegant hotels in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing