We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot and noisy”
Review of Grand Hotel Union

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Union
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hot and noisy”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Lying in bed at 2.14 am with no chance of ever getting to sleep because of the bells ringing every hour. Also the air con dosen't work until April and the room is so hot. Counting down the hours until check out. Was supposed to be staying until Sunday but couldn't take another two nights of this.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Puertobanus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lipovsek_Bogdan, General Manager at Grand Hotel Union, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear “Puertobanus1”,
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay in Grand hotel Union Ljubljana and your feedback.
I am very sorry to hear about your disappointment in our hotel. Grand hotel Union Executive is located in the heart of the city centre, right next to many sights: Three bridges, historical part of Ljubljana and among them also Franciscan church. For some guests the bells are a pleasure, for some rather not. Hotel offers 194 rooms some of them are located far away from church bells and offering a wonderful view.
The changeable weather is lately causing as quite a lot of problems. For the example in March we have experienced the highest measured temperature since 1977. We are fully aware of this problem and we are looking for an appropriate and the easiest solution which will comply with the hotel under the national heritage.
At the Grand hotel Union, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Mr. Bogdan Lipovsek
General Manager
Grand hotel Union d.d.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    546
    113
    29
    12
See reviews for
216
535
94
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
157 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel once before and was very fond of it. When I came back I was very lucky that it still lived up to all my expectations. Very nice rooms, excellent breakfast (champagne included), free wifi which worked excellent, very friendly staff. And absolutely in the city center

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gullabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This really is a Grand Hotel in town. Right next to the town square and the iconic bridges. Easy walk to all the good stuff. Staff were very good to excellent - Courteous, helpful but not intrusive. Church bells were a bit noisy next door - really a pleasure. Like most European hotels, the rooms were overheated with no control of the thermostat.

Room Tip: The hotel is split between Executive and Business wing. Executive is the better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick3678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

It is hard to be too critical of this iconic hotel in the heart of Ljublijana. There are actually two of them which is confusing, for starters. One modern...ish, the so-called 'Business' and the older art nouveau 'Executive'. We booked into the Executive but our room was in the more modern side! The room was fairly standard but did have an unfortunate odour which came and went and seemed to be associated with the drains. Other than that there was little to complain of, save the persisently cold coffee at breakfast. The hotel's main advantage is its position in the heart of this beautiful city. During the Chritsmas festivities there is a huge market stretching throughout the centre which is imaginatively lit and full of activity. There are plenty of good restaurants, including those at the hotel, and on New Year's Eve a spectacular firework display which can be viewed from many parts of the hotel. The staff were particularly helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dirk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedbergh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The hotel is large and well organised. The rooms in the old builiding are spacious and airy and the art Deco design works well. It is close to the town and has an excellent restaurant although the menu did not change so we had to sample other restaurants to get more variety. Breakfast was exceptional as was the service. We too enjoyed the celebrations between Christmas and new year and found our whole stay magical.

Room Tip: We had a room in the old building on the second floor at the front and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally-Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The saying goes that for hotels, location is very often the most important fact. Well then, the Grand Hotel Union can't be beaten. We spend a couple of days there during the Christmas period and we only had to walk a couple of steps to be at the centre of the celebrations. Ljubljana is simply gorgeous during Christmas and a I can only recommend to go and experience it.
The hotel which was apparently build in 1905 still has tons of charm but may need some investment to bring it completely back to what it once was.
Staff were friendly, good breakfast variety and again a location to die for.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geertsnaet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amberg, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Grand Union Executive has probably the best location in town - just one block from the main square. The exterior and interiors both exude old-world charm. It's always interesting to stay in a hotel of historical significance as well.

We had a room on the 9th floor and had a nice view of the city from our balcony when it wasn't foggy. The room was nicely apportioned, and we especially enjoyed the nice bath products. One downside was the linens smelled like cigarette smoke both days.

They had a winter special at the spa, and my wife enjoyed the facial and manicure. She especially enjoyed the friendly and professional employees at the spa.

The breakfast was excellent, with a wide range of fresh local and international options. You could order a la carte food and drinks from the kitchen as well with no extra charge.

I would highly recommend staying here if you go to Ljubljana if you want a centrally located, classy hotel to enjoy touring this beautiful town from.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are renovated; therefore, I recommend suggesting one of those. Also, don't ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#6 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
0.5 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Union

Property: Grand Hotel Union
Address: Mikloshicheva cesta 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Union 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first class hotel in Ljubljana, boasting a premier location in the city centre, offering most spacious & comfortable rooms, excellent complimentary buffet breakfast, free internet, secured parking garage, business centre...Located on the door step of the Old Town and less than 30 minutes from the international airport, Grand hotel Union Executive has got city's top location for business & leisure travellers. It is also the address of royal visits, presidential delegations, and major Ljubljana's events and has more than 100 years long tradition of friendly and professional service.All rooms (25-35m2) and suites (45-140m2) are air-conditioned and have bathroom with bathtub or shower, large LCD screen, phone, mini bar, safe, trouser press, hairdryer and free of charge internet access. The hotel provides 20 multi-functional conference rooms with capacity up to 800 participants, a top-floor indoor swimming pool, a sauna and fitness area. Culinary delights are served in the renovated restaurant and bar Atelje or in the quiet shady garden in the summer. The hotel also has a cosy lobby bar and a popular coffee place - Grand Cafe, exchange office, a newspaper and souvenir shop, a fashion boutique, a jeweller and a hairdresser. Enjoy the stay in one of the most beautiful and elegant hotels in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelClick, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing