We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, rooms OK, old fashioned”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Union

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Union
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, rooms OK, old fashioned”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

2 adults + 1 little child, 4 nights. Location is best you can get in Ljubljana. We first had a BIG twin room and asked to change to a room with double bed, we got it but the room was smaller and nothing could be done about it.

Some guests complained it us old, I disagree. All functioned properly and the decor actually reminds of the over 100 years character of the hotel, including beaitiful glass deco. All was very clean, breakfast was perfect. The pool is ok though not warm enough for children.

The staff while friendly, all seemed very depressed. And yes, as others suggest some sort if depression can be attributed to the hotel.

The restaurant of the hotel is warmly recommended as it attempts (and succeeds) bringing some luxury dining reflecting the local cuisine.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rommur85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    537
    112
    29
    11
See reviews for
213
530
92
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The Hotel Grand Union is a beautiful hotel with modern rooms and exceptional service. We thoroughly enjoyed visiting with the staff, the food was excellent and the location cannot be beat! Close to the town square and lots of places nearby to dine.

If I am ever in Ljubljana again, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 543Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was my first visit to Ljubljana, I choosed this hotel due to what people said about this hotel i.e. on this website,and I don´t regret my choice!Nice,clean,very very friendly staff,The location of the hotel was excellent, near to everything!I will surely recommend this hotel! WiFi was working excellent in your room, without any problem!I was very pleased with the arrangement of getting a taxi from/to airport!If I come back to Ljubljana I will sure choose this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Perhaps I was over impressed , we do not normally stay in a hotel of this class .I picked it because of location and bedroom size , in a place with variable weather always good to have space .I booked in October to stay in Easter and got a great deal for upgraded room in the executive portion ( the old part ) of €120 per night including breakfast . Breakfast was pretty amazing , every type of bread you can imagine and bacon ,eggs of every type ( a dedicated chef to make omelettes etc ) sparking wine with orange and apple juice ,they even had Turkish coffee which I love , hell of a way to start the day .Staff very friendly and helpful .Nothing bad to report but then again I like hearing bells ....and you do , probably everywhere in this city .You probably have to book early to get a good deal .When we go back we will stay here .

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingirish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Perfect hotel, both for business and holiday trips. Friendly staff, comfortable rooms at an excellent spot in the city, Ljubljana being a friendly and interestind city. I've stayed already many times in the hotel, but love to come back every time agian.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

First time in hotel Grand Union in Ljubljana. Nice hotel, in an excellent location (centre of Ljubljana) and just a couple of minutes walk from the Old Town. Room 152 (standard, single-bad), in the corner view to a main street; very nice, stylish and with enough space No noice. Sleeping quality good. Sanitary facilities clean and working. Possibility to work as ok table available. Breakfast is with a good variety of food, nice and fresh, lots of warm dishes, fried mushrooms etc. Quality-price ratio is very good.




Room Tip: Standard, single-bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nevenka R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gan yavne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

i loved the 2 nights in union executive .
nice hotel , big rooms , and you only hear the bells from the church near by.
i asked for an umbrella and they gave me a good one , in my country israel you cant find a good umbrella they all break in the first wind .
so i asked the reception if i could buy it.
they said : its all yours you can keep it.
the internet was also free .
the hotel is close to all museums and attractions in the city ,and a lot of great restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: 626 has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaby n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 30 in Ljubljana
979 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#6 of 30 in Ljubljana
599 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 30 in Ljubljana
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
0.5 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ljubljana
466 reviews
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Union

Property: Grand Hotel Union
Address: Mikloshicheva cesta 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Union 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first class hotel in Ljubljana, boasting a premier location in the city centre, offering most spacious & comfortable rooms, excellent complimentary buffet breakfast, free internet, secured parking garage, business centre...Located on the door step of the Old Town and less than 30 minutes from the international airport, Grand hotel Union Executive has got city's top location for business & leisure travellers. It is also the address of royal visits, presidential delegations, and major Ljubljana's events and has more than 100 years long tradition of friendly and professional service.All rooms (25-35m2) and suites (45-140m2) are air-conditioned and have bathroom with bathtub or shower, large LCD screen, phone, mini bar, safe, trouser press, hairdryer and free of charge internet access. The hotel provides 20 multi-functional conference rooms with capacity up to 800 participants, a top-floor indoor swimming pool, a sauna and fitness area. Culinary delights are served in the renovated restaurant and bar Atelje or in the quiet shady garden in the summer. The hotel also has a cosy lobby bar and a popular coffee place - Grand Cafe, exchange office, a newspaper and souvenir shop, a fashion boutique, a jeweller and a hairdresser. Enjoy the stay in one of the most beautiful and elegant hotels in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing