We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Central”
Review of Grand Hotel Union

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Union
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Nice hotel and so centre, you can walk everywhere from here and the double room was perfect with a view of the castle, get the breakfast. superb will be back. we did not dine here as there is some many places near by. The Hotel left a gift in our for my GF Birthday which is a lovely thought

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank couchy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,825)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

935 - 941 of 1,825 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

This wonderful hotel is just couple of hundred yards from the main square and pedestrian precinct where the best National Tourist office we have ever encountered is located. My wife is disabled and the tourist office arranged an electric car plus very knowledgeable guide to take us round the city centre. The hotel staff spoke excellent English and we're extremely helpful. One walked with us to help us locate the local Irish bar. Rooms are chic and luxurious with free wi fi and the restaurant provides a very high standard of nouvelle cuisine including the speciality bear. Be sure to visit the medieval castle which during our stay was lit up in green for St Patrick's day. Also a visit to Lake Bled is a must - a ideal location for a wedding celebration.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

From the front entry, a nice view of the Julian Alps. A 3-4 minute walk to the pedestrian area and river bridges, market. 10 minute walk to the funicular to the Castle. Bill Clinton's home when in the city. Market and good table wines available within 150 yards ( ask the Concierge ). Store selling the usual ( T-shirts, post cards, etc. ) has no problem with you cutting through to the outside ( saves a walk through half of the Hotel to get to the front entrance ). McDonald's, if you really need one, about 3 blocks away...sticker shock @ $2.50 USD for a 10 oz. Sprite .
Comfortable, nicely appointed rooms, good, varied breakfast buffet. Amicable and knowledgeable staff. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

An excellent hotel, ideally situated for exploring the heart of lovely Ljubliana, on the edge of the pedestrianised city centre, just up from the "triple bridge", the Grand was the perfect place to stay.
The hotel decor was very good, the bedroom comfortable, breakfasts as good as you find. The reception staff all had good English, were helpful and friendly and happy to talk about their city and country. The city centre was busy throughout the weekend with mainly locals simply out enjoying their city.
Lots of good outdoor eateries and a fantastic medieval castle perched on a crag overlooking the city centre.
The must go to trip is to Lake Bled, well worth it, but check train times carefully. We bought return tickets from the station ticket office only to discover that the next train wasn`t in 40 minutes as we thought, but three hours away, and there were no trains coming back. We ended up going and returning by bus -which was interesting and enjoyable anyway

Room Tip: Ask for a big duvet Ours was only big enough to cover the bed, no overlap
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mooney_peterj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I found this hotel to be exceptionally good, it has its own quiet atmosphere and style with a touch of Art Deco.

It looks like Union has just undergone some renovation, because everything seems to be so new there. The renovation was definitely carried on using expensive materials, not cheaper ones we often see in hotels around the world. And I just have to inform people who care about cleanliness of their rooms: it is extremely clean in Union.

The staff is very friendly. Wonderful breakfast with plenty of food to choose from. I also liked the bar in front of the reception: very charming and quiet, you can easily relax there sitting with a book or a magazine. I bet that this is what made some of the reviewers "depressed" there: it is very quiet, no white noises or any kind of noises for that matter. For those who appreciate that I recommend this hotel with all my heart :)

There is a nice pool and spa area on the upper floor, the beautician I payed a visit is a very friendly and professional lady, and the prices are very moderate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Right off the town square. Ljubljana is a lovely town. My only wish was that I could have stayed a bit longer. The room/bath were clean, friendly staff, abundant breakfast buffet. WiFi worked fine in the room. Can't beat this for the location!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ifiwereu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

2 adults + 1 little child, 4 nights. Location is best you can get in Ljubljana. We first had a BIG twin room and asked to change to a room with double bed, we got it but the room was smaller and nothing could be done about it.

Some guests complained it us old, I disagree. All functioned properly and the decor actually reminds of the over 100 years character of the hotel, including beaitiful glass deco. All was very clean, breakfast was perfect. The pool is ok though not warm enough for children.

The staff while friendly, all seemed very depressed. And yes, as others suggest some sort if depression can be attributed to the hotel.

The restaurant of the hotel is warmly recommended as it attempts (and succeeds) bringing some luxury dining reflecting the local cuisine.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rommur85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,125 reviews
0 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
794 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Ljubljana
InterContinental Ljubljana
#18 of 31 in Ljubljana
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
1.7 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
406 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Union

Address: Mikloshicheva cesta 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range: £93 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Union 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first class hotel in Ljubljana, boasting a premier location in the city centre, offering most spacious & comfortable rooms, excellent complimentary buffet breakfast, free internet, secured parking garage, business centre...Located on the door step of the Old Town and less than 30 minutes from the international airport, Grand hotel Union Executive has got city's top location for business & leisure travellers. It is also the address of royal visits, presidential delegations, and major Ljubljana's events and has more than 100 years long tradition of friendly and professional service.All rooms (25-35m2) and suites (45-140m2) are air-conditioned and have bathroom with bathtub or shower, large LCD screen, phone, mini bar, safe, trouser press, hairdryer and free of charge internet access. The hotel provides 20 multi-functional conference rooms with capacity up to 800 participants, a top-floor indoor swimming pool, a sauna and fitness area. Culinary delights are served in the renovated restaurant and bar Atelje or in the quiet shady garden in the summer. The hotel also has a cosy lobby bar and a popular coffee place - Grand Cafe, exchange office, a newspaper and souvenir shop, a fashion boutique, a jeweller and a hairdresser. Enjoy the stay in one of the most beautiful and elegant hotels in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing