We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what a hotel is supposed to be like.”
Review of Grand Hotel Union

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Union
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

There are so many places nowadays that identify themselves as a "hotel" but I find many of them falling short of what a real hotel is supposed to be like. However, I would like to call this place a "real hotel" out of so many fake ones out there that fool you with bogus photos and unauthentic services nowadays.

This hotel may not be extraordinary when compared with world-class hotels, but when closely looking at every perspective of this hotel, I would say this place is "impeccable" and "genuine".

Facilities, service, breakfast, cleanliness, parking, and especially location, I loved everything about hits hotel and would like to recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

897 - 903 of 1,823 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Very pleasant stay in this large hotel, fitted with all modern conveniences. Staff were most polite and helpful and it is well positioned. We were concerned about some negative reviews, but we are pleased that we still took the chance and booked this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cachoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This old traditional but renewed hotel is at the heart of the city with the best view of old city and castle. Clean , new and comfortable interior. Staff is friendly and helpful , especially reception desk staff.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank TMERIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I always stay in this hotel when I am on business trips in Ljubljana. This time however I was with my wife and friends, and we all liked the hotel. It has really very good breakfast considering that this is ony 4* hotel

Room Tip: If you want to see the real center and you do not have too much time this is the perfect hotel locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerzy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

From check in which was very friendly and efficient throughout our stay we were impressed by the helpful and positive staff attitude. Our room on the 9th floor of the Executive wing had wonderful view over the town and of the castle. Breakfast buffet was excellent and when the breakfast room was crowded one morning we were quickly shown to the restaurant area. The amount of staff on duty over breakfast was impressive. Room was very spacious, well appointed and clean. Flat screen tv but bathroom rather small. Early morning call worked well. Check out equally efficient and friendly. Wonderful Location near the old town with two minutes walk to the market and 3 bridges, river and restaurants

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 649alanjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Check in was fast. The lobby and common areas clean, modern and the service was excellent. Breaksfast was superb with a lot of variety. The room was spacious and clean with a large bathroom. Beds are very nice. I was there on business for a short time so I didn´t get to evalutate the location but I think it is a very good location. Great value and I would definately stay there again whether on business or for pleasure and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okbistroservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Grand Union Executive. The location is perfect and the service excellent. I asked for a quiet room with an expansive view. I got just that. I recommend room 926 with the best view in the hotel of the castle and the old town. It is on the 9th floor of the new annexe of the Executive hotel and not exactly in the old Art Nouveau building, but this does not matter. The view from the balcony is tremendous and the room was very comfortable and cosy. It is also on the same floor as the lovely pool and sauna area. I appreciated the variety of the buffet at breakfast and the very friendly guy making the fried eggs and omelettes. My only complaint is that sometimes the staff cleared my table while I was at the buffet for more food.

Room Tip: Room 926 has a great view...as do other rooms on the 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank churroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,125 reviews
0 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
793 reviews
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Ljubljana
InterContinental Ljubljana
#18 of 31 in Ljubljana
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#9 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,502 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Union

Address: Mikloshicheva cesta 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range: £92 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Union 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first class hotel in Ljubljana, boasting a premier location in the city centre, offering most spacious & comfortable rooms, excellent complimentary buffet breakfast, free internet, secured parking garage, business centre...Located on the door step of the Old Town and less than 30 minutes from the international airport, Grand hotel Union Executive has got city's top location for business & leisure travellers. It is also the address of royal visits, presidential delegations, and major Ljubljana's events and has more than 100 years long tradition of friendly and professional service.All rooms (25-35m2) and suites (45-140m2) are air-conditioned and have bathroom with bathtub or shower, large LCD screen, phone, mini bar, safe, trouser press, hairdryer and free of charge internet access. The hotel provides 20 multi-functional conference rooms with capacity up to 800 participants, a top-floor indoor swimming pool, a sauna and fitness area. Culinary delights are served in the renovated restaurant and bar Atelje or in the quiet shady garden in the summer. The hotel also has a cosy lobby bar and a popular coffee place - Grand Cafe, exchange office, a newspaper and souvenir shop, a fashion boutique, a jeweller and a hairdresser. Enjoy the stay in one of the most beautiful and elegant hotels in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing