We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service!”
Review of Grand Hotel Union

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Union
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Bali, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Booked for 3 nights ended up staying for 4!! The staff at Grand Hotel Union were incredibly helpful from the moment that we arrived. The rooms were luxurious although the shower in the bathroom could have been placed a little better.
On what should have been our last day the reception staff ended up making calls to every transport option in Ljubljana to try to help us leave the city (because of a minor mistake on our own part). Couldn't have asked for more from them, so in the end we stayed another night!!
The only small complaint would be that the breakfast could be a little better.
Altogether though, very deserving of an excellent rating!

Room Tip: Definitely preferred the room where you could see the TV from the bed :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marco_ca2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    573
    116
    31
    13
See reviews for
225
555
98
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This is as good as you will get. It is really 5 star but for some reason don't want it rated as such. The whole place is first class,big rooms well equipped clean and appointed. Staff are friendly and food better than average.
I would agree with most of the better than average comments about this place and if you want something clean, comfortable and in the middle of the town, this it it.
The town is amazing and the hotel reflects the ambience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dinkumguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed four nights in this hotel and loved it. The location is the best thing about it, literally less than one minute's walk and you're in the heart of the city. We travelled on from Ljubljana and the hotel was great for getting to and from both the bus and train station; they are both situated at the top of the road the hotel is on. A straight five minute walk up the road and you're there. Our room on both occasions we stayed at the hotel (one night, returning for three nights) was in the newer part of the hotel, not the old bit that the hotel markets itself on. NB, we were not in the business hotel, which is also new and right next door. Some might have felt cheated that they'd booked the grand old hotel, but had a room which was clearly not old and was rather featureless. However, we were perfectly happy, it was nicely furnished, clean, spacious, had good (quiet) air con and was, we thought, good value for money. I know some reading this review might feel otherwise and would only want a characterful, grander room so check with the hotel if that's you, would be my advice. Oh and the breakfast is fab; loads of choice. We'd definitely stay here again and I would recommend it to my mum - the greatest indication of approval I can give!

Room Tip: Please see my comments on the rooms - only some are in the old part of the hotel. Many, if not most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HemeraBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here recently with my girlfriend. Hotel service was excellent, even observing that it was my girlfriend's birthday while we were there and surprising us both while at breakfast by entering our room and giving us a free hotel-made birthday cake! They additionally provided us with a free umbrella when it was a thunderstorm outside. The rooms are fairly basic if you order a Standard Double, but wifi is free, lots of channels on tv to choose from etc. Breakfast is wide-ranging and excellent. if I ever visit Ljubljana again then I will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

There are so many places nowadays that identify themselves as a "hotel" but I find many of them falling short of what a real hotel is supposed to be like. However, I would like to call this place a "real hotel" out of so many fake ones out there that fool you with bogus photos and unauthentic services nowadays.

This hotel may not be extraordinary when compared with world-class hotels, but when closely looking at every perspective of this hotel, I would say this place is "impeccable" and "genuine".

Facilities, service, breakfast, cleanliness, parking, and especially location, I loved everything about hits hotel and would like to recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Very pleasant stay in this large hotel, fitted with all modern conveniences. Staff were most polite and helpful and it is well positioned. We were concerned about some negative reviews, but we are pleased that we still took the chance and booked this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cachoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This old traditional but renewed hotel is at the heart of the city with the best view of old city and castle. Clean , new and comfortable interior. Staff is friendly and helpful , especially reception desk staff.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TMERIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
634 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,032 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
4.0 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Union

Property: Grand Hotel Union
Address: Mikloshicheva cesta 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Union 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first class hotel in Ljubljana, boasting a premier location in the city centre, offering most spacious & comfortable rooms, excellent complimentary buffet breakfast, free internet, secured parking garage, business centre...Located on the door step of the Old Town and less than 30 minutes from the international airport, Grand hotel Union Executive has got city's top location for business & leisure travellers. It is also the address of royal visits, presidential delegations, and major Ljubljana's events and has more than 100 years long tradition of friendly and professional service.All rooms (25-35m2) and suites (45-140m2) are air-conditioned and have bathroom with bathtub or shower, large LCD screen, phone, mini bar, safe, trouser press, hairdryer and free of charge internet access. The hotel provides 20 multi-functional conference rooms with capacity up to 800 participants, a top-floor indoor swimming pool, a sauna and fitness area. Culinary delights are served in the renovated restaurant and bar Atelje or in the quiet shady garden in the summer. The hotel also has a cosy lobby bar and a popular coffee place - Grand Cafe, exchange office, a newspaper and souvenir shop, a fashion boutique, a jeweller and a hairdresser. Enjoy the stay in one of the most beautiful and elegant hotels in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing