We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two week stay - lovely hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel Union

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Union
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Excellent service. We enjoyed the room which was very well appointed and worth the extra for a larger room. Lovely complimentary bowl of fruit on our arrival. The decor and artdecco feel were very beautiful. We had breakfast which was buffet style and catered to all tastes - even bottle quality sparking wine for bucks fizz if required. Cappucchino if requested and cook to make omelette or fried eggs if desired - buckwheat or millet porridge was a novelty as was beetroot and honey drink. Regular fry up eggs bacon sausages mushrooms tomatoes+ fried peppers white of egg omelette cheeses sweet croisantes etc etc.
We had the bonus of classical music recitals for free in the evening and a small but refreshing pool and gym facility. City was beautiful and relaxed. Feeding wild birds in Tivoli Park - near the mansion house and the beautiful cafe and pond nearby. Free jazz in the streets and good selections of restaurants for all price ranges. A lovely break. Can't praise the hotel highly enough. Recommend Roundabout Travel if you want to do some tours and the Boris style bikes for getting around - details at the Tourist info office by the 3 bridges 100 meteres from the hotel

Room Tip: Go in the old part of the hotels 3rd or 4th floor rooms facing the street. Double glazing cuts out a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim2101taichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lipovsek_Bogdan, General Manager at Grand Hotel Union, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear “tim2101taichi”,

Thank you for sharing this wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
I’m glad you have enjoyed our services and that we have been able to meet all your expectations.
On behalf of everyone here in Grand hotel Union I would like to thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again.

Bogdan Lipovšek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

830 - 836 of 1,759 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

It was perfect. Location is very central. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. We could choose a room, and we get an amazing view on city and castle. Rooms perfectly clean and well equipped. Breakfast amazing.

Room Tip: Top floors, view on the city and castel and SPA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Futma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

very good location for everything like shopping and restaurant
.. good staff .. they gave me cake for my birthday and i really like that ..
24 hours taxi next to the door
business center is normal
::
very good breakfast
::
they have office for car rental
::
free and very fast wifi

Room Tip: higher floors for good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank fateh_q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Look no further. This hotel has it all including great location near old town, friendly service, great breakfast and very nice rooms. Families should book the suite..it was the largest we had stayed n and includes a kitchenette. It was great for our first vacation in Slovenia.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank subramanian_ravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This four star hotel has a fantastic location right in the heart of the lord town near the three bridges
It is an old hotel renovated but my room had WC with a peculiar odor,and the bed covers were not sufficient for a double bed on had to sleep without!
The personnel were polite the wifi was ok the rest were above average

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Antony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Convenient location in the very centre, big undergroud parking, very spacious room with all necessary amenitities, helpfull staff,especially front desk, my husband has forgotten his driving license and some cash in room safe, after phone call they arange a registered mail wtih all these things very quickly - and free of any charge.

The building has it ambiance - architectural gem about 100 years old, but well renovated.
Just minor negative - breakfast room - in a new annex of the historic bulding, looking like some ware-house, crowded with the tables so close one to another. No intimacy, noisy.This room is far far from the elegant ambiance of the whole hotel. My critcims does not concern breakfat itself - rich variety of cold and warm dishes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank natasaPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Perfect location in the middle of the city. Hotel have 2 different wings and we did stay in the old wing and was given (paid for) a nice suite room. Breakfast was rather big selection but still missing things that we are used to. Was easy to check in with our car staff took care of it for us.
Hotel was a nice old attractive building. We Went for a massage and I was given a room just separated with a half wall to the poolarea which made it quite noisy and very hot and humid so I would suggest to take your massage elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JankanHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
752 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,451 reviews
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
3.9 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Union

Address: Mikloshicheva cesta 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range: £95 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Union 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first class hotel in Ljubljana, boasting a premier location in the city centre, offering most spacious & comfortable rooms, excellent complimentary buffet breakfast, free internet, secured parking garage, business centre...Located on the door step of the Old Town and less than 30 minutes from the international airport, Grand hotel Union Executive has got city's top location for business & leisure travellers. It is also the address of royal visits, presidential delegations, and major Ljubljana's events and has more than 100 years long tradition of friendly and professional service.All rooms (25-35m2) and suites (45-140m2) are air-conditioned and have bathroom with bathtub or shower, large LCD screen, phone, mini bar, safe, trouser press, hairdryer and free of charge internet access. The hotel provides 20 multi-functional conference rooms with capacity up to 800 participants, a top-floor indoor swimming pool, a sauna and fitness area. Culinary delights are served in the renovated restaurant and bar Atelje or in the quiet shady garden in the summer. The hotel also has a cosy lobby bar and a popular coffee place - Grand Cafe, exchange office, a newspaper and souvenir shop, a fashion boutique, a jeweller and a hairdresser. Enjoy the stay in one of the most beautiful and elegant hotels in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing