We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,146)
Filter reviews
2,146 results
Traveller rating
1,184
746
154
45
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,184
746
154
45
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location old town art nouveau triple bridge the main square swimming pool three bridges the river business hotel top floor excellent hotel breakfast buffet is room was large the heart of the city church bells pedestrian zone preseren square
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 2,146 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

This hotel is ideally situated just behind the red Franciscan Church of the Annunciation at the main town center, making it convenient to walk everywhere. The hotel is well-appointed, and the rooms are quite comfortable. The breakfast buffet is well done as well.

If you get to Ljubljana, I recommend the Grand Hotel Union to you.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

The hotel is located in a great spot, right next to the triple bridge and central square. This is perfect for a quick visit, as it allows to see most of the centre in very little time. The rooms are nice and spacious and the staff curteous.
The breakfast buffet could be improved, especially considering the type of hotel this is. The food was not disappointing in and of itself, but the whole buffet was not as varied and high-quality as one would expect from a nice 4-star hotel.
A little more flexibility regarding check in/check out times would be appreciated, especially when the hotel is not fully booked.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jigglyjuggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Great hotel with very professional staff (young lady at the front desk Sabina was very nice-we were 10 minutes late to breakfast and she arranged that we could still go-it was delicious! Later on she suggested some of the places we should visit in Slovenia. A+ for customer service, staff is awesome). Otherwise very central hotel, spacious and comfortable rooms. Would recommend to everybody.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank robyn1234321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

I will recommend everyone to stay at the Grand Hotel Union. The location of the hotel is closed to the main attractions. The staff are really helpful and friendly. Overall, I have a good time stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nawapornonkokesung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

This hotel comprises two hotels - a “business” hotel and one more geared to tourists. Both hotels use the same breakfast room for the Amazing Breakfast Buffet!
We stayed in the “tourist” section and due to circumstances we saw 4 rooms - and stayed in 2 because we extended our stay and had to relocate for our last night.
Staff are incredibly helpful, friendly, knowledgable and professional. I cannot say enough good things about them, they go the extra for everything.
The original Hotel was build in 1905 and is designed in the Art Nouveau style with a number of original furnishings. It really is a treasure to see and stay.
The rooms facing the street were the best for us - BUT you have to enjoy BELLS! They ring EVERY 15 MINUTES 24 hours a day. We love them and find them one of the joys of Europe. If you don’t ask for a room where you don’t hear them.
The location of the hotel is right in the centre of the pedestrian friendly city close to the three bridges and the Gallery Emporium department store which is worth a visit even if you don’t plan on doing any shopping.
Would return here again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ReluctantReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews