We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed being in the centre”
Review of Hotel Emonec

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Emonec
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
cape town
2 reviews
“Enjoyed being in the centre”
Reviewed 27 June 2008

We spent 2 nights in Ljubljana at Hotel Emonec. We had asked the hotel to arrange for a shuttle pickup at the airport and we were dropped at the central square as the through road to our hotel was blocked for festivities. This left us with 300m over a cobbled road to get to the hotel. It is very centralled positioned, with easy access to everything you want to do in Lubljana. There is a good variety of restaurants close by.

The reception staff over the 2 days were friendly and helpful. The room was tucked away, flanked by the laundry rooms. It was on ground level, next to the road which fortunately did not have much traffic. It is in a student area so there were a couple of noisy incidents, but not unbearable.

The room was adequate, clean and with sufficient space. The bathroom looked like it has recently been redone.

The breakfast was the standard continental type, with good coffee from a machine. Fruit juice was not good.

Overall we enjoyed the stay, mainly because of the central location and we would recommend the hotel for those who are having a short stay and do not want to waste time on public transport.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — Situation wthin the hotel - almost walking through the laundry
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scuffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    375
    182
    55
    20
See reviews for
174
288
57
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2008

My friends and I stayed at this hotel for one night on June 12, and I have to say that this is a great little hotel.

We paid 90 Euros for a triple room, and the room size was almost the size of 2 normal hotel rooms. If you want a quiet room, you might want to request one of the "300" room numbers. They are in a building on the other side of the courtyard opposite the checkin desk. The reason is that there is a bar on the other side of the hotel that was quite loud. There might be quiet rooms in the main building, so just requesting a quiet room would do the trick. There was also free wi-fi in our room. Once I got the password from the front desk, my phone was hooked right in.


The staff all spoke perfect english, and were very friendly.

The bathroom is exactly as previous reviews have mentioned. There is a shower curtain to separate it from the rest of the bathroom, but water does get all over the floor. As we pointed out, how hard could it have been to add a little ledge to keep the water from going everywhere. Not a big deal in the end, and we knew how things were going in.

The location is unbeatable, and is right in the middle of the pedestrian area. You walk out from the courtyard and the Triple Bridge is 30 seconds to your left and the Ugly Duckling bridge is 30 seconds to your right. You can be at any of the great riverside cafes in less than 2 minutes.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nole95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2008

Ljubljana is probably my favourite Balkan city, and may well be my favourite European destination. Thus, to find a great value hotel in such a brilliant location as this is as close to winning the lottery as I think I'll ever come.

The staff (as all residents of the city seem to) speak brilliant English and are very attentive to any details, although this is a city where there's very little need to ask directions as everything will literally be on your doorstep when you walk out onto Wolfova ulica.
Breakfast is rather comical on first appearance, with hermetically sealed packets of cheese, ham and salami, but it's a surprisingly varied and filling spread.
Rooms are very well appointed, with TVs receiving channels in all the languages you could possibly expect. The one drawback is the rather odd shower/bathroom cubicle, which I suspect most guests will manage to flood the first time round. Still, as with anything, there's an art to using that, and it gets easier with time.

All in all, a real discovery in a fantastic city. I'll be back as soon as possible.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Professionalwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2008

Stayed here for a friends stag do, rooms were clean, quite basic but relatively cheap, pretty good value i though at £100 for 3 nights.

  • Liked — cheap
  • Disliked — staff were a bit surly
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank clevedongooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2008

Great location, nice and hepful staff who spoke good English.
However, the tiny all-in-one bathroom is always disgustingly flooded whatever you do. Being in the room, you hear all the "noise" that comes from it! Also, rooms are awfully small and the Hotel policy seems to be that when there is 1 square centimeter of floor space free in the room, they can add an additional bed! It dosn't bother them if you find it difficult to move around in the room! Not to mention the tiny 1m x 0.5m towels you have to ask them to change for you! Or the TV set put close to the ceiling and so difficult to enjoy as your neck awfully pains and you hardly can hear the sound!

  • Liked — Great location. Nice staff.
  • Disliked — The room.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OttoVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2008

Basic room in a great location in a great city
Price is higher that I expected but on balance I was happy
Friendly reception...

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brutus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2008

We booked this hotel via the friendly English speaking staff off their website. The hotel location can't be beat. The rooms are a bit like dorm rooms but EXTREMELY clean and well-kept. The breakfast was the usual. The staff spoke English and were happy to help you with anything. We still rave about the location. It's not a place for those wanting a luxurious 5-star hotel. But, if you are young (even young at heart!), want convenience, a clean, warm place to stay in a fabulous location, this is for you. If you are the type of traveler who is out and about and not concerned about lounging in the hotel, this is for you!! Enjoy - and try the Mexican food restaurant: The Cantina. Right around the corner - fabulous food and atmosphere! Cheers!

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VTraveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emonec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emonec

Property: Hotel Emonec
Address: Wolfova ulica 12, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ljubljana
#3 Spa Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Emonec 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Emonec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emonec Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing