We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed opportunity”
Review of Hotel Emonec

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Emonec
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Helsinki
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Missed opportunity”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here for couple of nights with family. Absolutely the best part here is the location, could not be better. The triple room was also big enough. But this hotel seriously lacks any character, it's very basic. It's a common problem in balkan hotels, the location is good, the building looks nice but the room is filled with cheapest ever bland looking furniture with no interior design. Bathroom was good though. Wifi reception good also. No fridge/minibar in room.

Breakfast was ok, cold buffet style. But again, the interior wasn't that nice, it was like eating in hospital room.

It was quite pricey for what you get. Basically you are paying for the location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hippo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    382
    185
    55
    22
See reviews for
175
296
57
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
March, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Ljubljana and Slovenia in general is an amazing place. The hotel Emonec although very basic, was clean and tidy and the food was lovely.
The location of this hotel is great, it is right in the centre of the old town and perfect for getting around all the sights in the centre. It is only 5-10 minutes walk from the bus station which has really good routes to all the surrounding areas. L

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
115 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Basic accommodations in an excellent location in the old city center. Good breakfast service. Laundry on premises. Helpful staff. Rooms near dreary. Trying to be helpful. More words not needed. Two-hundred yet?

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDB2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
242 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 953 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We came here based on the recommendation from the Rick Steve’s book. It was the worst place we stayed at in 15 nights in Croatia/Slovenia. I would highly advise you to stay elsewhere. Eurobasketball tournament was on when we were there so they jacked the prices up from 77E to 95E. I would equate this hotel to a Motel 6 level in the US

Pros:
Location only (but the BW is one block away & would be a far better choice)

Cons:
Everything!
No elevator

I had a confirmed reservation for a first floor room since they didn’t have an elevator but they gave us a second story room anyway

Breakfast had a sign “absolutely forbidden to remove anything from this room” (am I staying in a hostel here?)

No AC

No box spring – mattress was on a wood frame which would not have been bad except the mattress was so poor we could feel the wood frame the whole night

Shower got the whole bathroom floor wet

Surly unhelpful receptionists

Receptionist tried overcharging us for the room & wanted us to pay for parking. When I told her I had the written email with me as to my price & that parking was free she backed down & gave us the correct price.

Room was on roof so if the window was left open anyone could gain access to the room

Parking is 3 long blocks away & up many stairs in a parking garage. Lugging suitcases this distance was not easy!

No hair dryers.

Hotel difficult to find as it’s in an alley


Bottom line: go elsewhere! The BW looked much better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DianeER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelemonec, Manager at Hotel Emonec, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Madam,

our hotel have only ground and first floor. We don't have second floor.

To all our guests who made reservation in advance and request reservation for parking space, we send the instructions by e-mail. On the instructions are written where the parking house is and how far is from our hotel to the parking house.
In case guests not agree with our offer for parking space they can cancel the reservation before arrival.

Hotel is located in pedestrian zone and it is very easy to find.

We don't have rooms on the roof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

we enjoyed our recent stay at the Hotel Emonec. It is an ideal location to simply walk into the old town and enjoy the vast variety of restaurants just a stones throw away (like Restaurant Most).
we arrived by train so it was very easy to walk down to the hotel. A car or disabled access would be tricky so do your reseacrh before you book.
we had room #215 which was a large room, very quiet and with a nice outlook.
Breakfast is simple but sufficient for a days sightseeing.
Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and well serviced.
overall a very pleasant stay and I woudl recommend it

Room Tip: we enjoyed the second floor with an outlook - the rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Emonec for one night in September. The hotel needs some updating but I can say it is in a great section of the city. It is a few steps from the main square, just a very short walk to the Three Bridges and the open market just on the other side of the river. The staff was very helpful to me, considering I had to go to a doctor while I was there. The one downfall of this hotel, is that in the evening, it tends to get noisey. Considering there is no A/C in this hotel, if you have a warm evening, it may get noisey after hours. When I book a hotel anywhere, I do not consider room size, but I consider how clean the hotel is, as well as the service from the staff. Both were good, and if you are staying in this lovely city, you may want to consider the Hotel Emonec.

Room Tip: If there are rooms facing the rear of the hotel, you may want to consider them due to the potential...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abalkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed there 2 nights. Large but empty bathroom. 2000's TV with huge cathodic tube, just above the closet. No a/c or heat. Excellent location. Reception always busy. Poor breakfast. Complicated issues with parking (far, need to stamp parking tickets every day).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
0.4 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#14 of 31 in Ljubljana
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emonec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emonec

Property: Hotel Emonec
Address: Wolfova ulica 12, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ljubljana
#3 Spa Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Emonec 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Emonec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emonec Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing