We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected More for the Money”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Emonec

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Emonec
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Ljubljana
Serbia
1 review
“Expected More for the Money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2008

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. They advertise that there is parking for checkin, WRONG, the street is closed of during the day time due to pedestrians. They tell me that I can park in a local parking space near the hotel during the weekend free of charge, WRONG AGAIN, I ended up paying by the hour. At one point I told the attendant that I was not paying and to speak with the hotel. The floors were dirty and there was silver fish in the washroom. The breakfast was simple, but sometimes there was not enough food for the guests. And it was the same food day after day. I would not recommend this hotel and would not be staying there again. I expected more for the money that we paid.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Caper674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    371
    180
    54
    20
See reviews for
174
283
57
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2008

The hotel is located at the city center.Its close to everything.Its clean and our room was big,to be honest really big.The people that work there are really polite and willing to help you.
The breakfast although the hotel is only 2 star was really good with varity of dutys.I have been to better hotels to italy with more stars and the breakfast wasnt that good.
The only problem was that on Friday night i could listen to music from outside,probably a club was close to the hotel.Also the hotel did not have an elevaton for those that probably want it.
The prices are really cheap for the location that the hotel offers.
I would deffinatly go again.

  • Liked — Location and polite people there
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Elisabetta_1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2008

This hotel is located right in the heart of this small, charming city. It is very difficult to find, as the hotel is a "tunnel" off of a street where one must walk to find the hotel. You cannot drive to the door, however since this is such a small city--everything works out. The hotel was very accomodating and the breakfast was sufficient and the staff were very pleasant. Our room was directly across from the receptiion, but we were not disturbed by any noise. As for the shower that so many have remarked on, I could not imagine or visualize until arriving. It is true that the shower floor is on the same level without any separation from the level of your nomal standing in a bathroom. Many Europeans have an opinion that " one must have the water going up against the wall" and this will circumvent a lot of the water going all over the place. If you can use this system, it will work better for you. To be able to stay at this charming hotel for a reasonable price and be so very close to the river and the beauty and charm of all of the shops and restaurants outweighed my adjustment for taking a shower. Ljubjana is wonderul...I have put it on my favorites along with Prague.

  • Liked — The close proximity to the restaurants, shops and everything!
  • Disliked — The shower was difficult, but manageable
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank civic306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2008

I stayed at the Emonec with two girlfriends on a vacation and it was perfect for us. The location could not be better, it is just off the main square at the center of the city and the river and in the heart of the old town. You can easily access all of the sights on foot and are literally steps away from cafes, restaurants, and shops, but because it's on a side street it's quiet. The hotel is only a few blocks away from the train/bus stations and we were able to walk there with all of our bags with no trouble (Ljubljana is small).

Our room was basic but spacious and perfectly clean, and had everything we needed: comfortable beds, clean bathroom with shower, fan, closet with hangers. Although it didn't have much character, it was very large, with high ceilings, full of light, with large windows that open. In person the rooms were much better than they look on the hotel's website.

The hotel staff is helpful and polite, and there is internet in the lobby which is convenient. The room price includes breakfast, which was also better than expected - different kinds of cereal, milk, fruit, cheese, deli meat, toast, croissants, espresso, tea, juice, etc. There is laundry next door, and the sweetest lady will wash and dry your laundry for you and give it back folded and perfectly packaged the next morning. The hotel was also extremely kind and let us store our bags there until 2am the day after we checked out, and said we were welcome to leave them there for a week if we needed to. We read beforehand that noise could be an issue because there is a club nearby, but we had no problems with noise as we stayed there during the week.

If you are looking for personal service and extra amenities, then I'd suggest paying more for a hotel with more stars. But for our purposes Emonec was perfect, we were thrilled with the value for our money, loved the location, and couldn't have hoped for more given how much we paid. It is a great deal.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rva08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

We stayed at the hotel on a friday night as a stopover on the way to a family trip to Croatia. The room for 4 was large and clean and very well priced. The location was fantastic - minutes from the main square. We booked a garage space, but found a free space in the street, and werent charged for the garage.
The breakfast was basic but fine. Would defintely use again to see this lovely little city - recommend a walk to Metelkova district/Hostel Celica for anyone wanting to see an alternative view of the city, with galleries, live music, little bars etc, set around an old army barracks with rooms decorated by the likes of Anthony Gormley!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no bath, though shower was good
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cdcdcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milan, italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2008

Reception 24 h, we arrived during the night. We get a ground floor room, that was nice but toooo humid. We had problem when we paid because we arranged a price by mail and the receptionist made us pay 10% more, according to his price list. By the way the position was good, right in the city centre, not so far form the station (10/15 min walk). But 77 euro per night per room for an humid two stars room was definitly too much!

  • Liked — the central position
  • Disliked — unpolites receptionists
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank badralbudur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2008

We stayed for a couple of nights at the Emonec which is tucked away in a back street of the Old Town of Ljubljana. It has an ideal location for a 2* hotel catering for budget travellers. Sadly it doesn't work hard enough to rise above it's limitations.
The exterior is unprepossessing and a disappointment if you've just passed the grand art nouveau hotels from the train station. Inside it's coolly finished in marble with white walls. The reception staff were polite and helpful.
Our room was small but clean .... however the white painted walls were grubby and the shower/wet room unit sitting in the corner had a rather unpleasant odour of sealant.
The window opened onto a quiet flat roof but there was only space for minimal furniture in the room. One bonus we hadn't seen before was a fan; this was employed on full blast all night,
Breakfast was the most depressing feature of the day. Two cramped basement rooms milling with guests trying to operate the antiquainted equipment. The coffee machine was really only there for comic effect! The staff bustled about as if in a school canteen and you needed to keep a good hold of your spoon or it could be whisked away and recycled for the next diner!
We considered eating out on our second morning but the prospect of cornflakes and toast was such a novelty we had to have seconds.
Would I stay again? Yes .... but beware of the Saturday night party scene in town unless you can sleep well without earplugs. The cafes and bars are busy into the small hours and the noise can be intrusive. For the money The Emonec is a star.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrTilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 30 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emonec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emonec

Property: Hotel Emonec
Address: Wolfova ulica 12, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ljubljana
#3 Spa Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Emonec 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Emonec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emonec Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing