We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had Reservation but didn't stay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Emonec

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Emonec
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Ljubljana
Munich
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Had Reservation but didn't stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

This review is rather problematic. As by the title, we didn't stay. Why? 1) Due to the big rebuilding and construction along the entrance street to the hotel, we spent about 45 mins. trying to walk/drive to the hotel. The hotel staff was helpful in eventually figuring out the details but given the size/long duration of the construction, the hotel should have updated their arrival directions to us in the confirming e-mail. 2) Upon finding the hotel, the next step of trying to find the hotel's assigned parking (not anywhere near the hotel), was another bust, despite 3 times trying. 3) The commotion at the reception desk, regarding a football club's (or fan club) previous nights' activities, involving estimating damage charges, was a bit daunting. 4) The room was clearly an after-thought arrangement and the certainty of further loud activities through the night was not wanted.

So, I just figured that I was enough warned to then try to find another place. We did find another lodging and had a great time in Ljubljana!

To be fair, the reception staff were very nice, helpful and frankly are doing a super job for a possibly difficult situation.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    364
    175
    52
    19
See reviews for
168
280
55
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
360 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

After reading so many good reviews, I found the Hotel Emonec a little disappointing. Not bad, mind you, just not as great as everybody else is making it out to be.

Yes, the rooms are small, spartan, and clean. But we knew that going in. We don't care, we just need a place to sleep. Though the bathroom is small, it didn't feel like it except for the shower. That was very small. And the lack of a place for the shower head was a real bummer. I hate having to hold that all the time or putting it on the floor. No hairdryers. And if you get an unreasonably small towel, be sure to ask for a large towel. They do have them, but they seem to forget to put them in the room sometimes.

Had a problem, both nights, of loud music coming from some neighboring building. This went on well into the wee hours of the morning. This wasn't a problem the second night as we were dead tired, but it was the first night. Bring earplugs.

The breakfast wasn't bad, but I still don't know what to make of the vacuum packed cold cuts. The people working there are not the warmest bunch, but they are not rude either. English was excellent. Late check-in was not a problem as long as we told them in advance.

Parking is a bit of a mess at the moment. Kongresni Trg around the corner is completely ripped up and all the streets are closed. The closest you can get is Slovenska cesta where you will need to unload your luggage. I believe this might not be as much of a problem during the daytime but at night the pedestrian streets are locked up tight and you can't get closer. The 7 Euro parking is at a lot some six blocks away. We ended up parking in Trg republike a couple of blocks away. That is 4 Euros overnight, then hourly after that. The first day we paid 8 Euros and 18 the second.

Add all of this up with the fact that we were seeing that the Hotel Slon was only going for something like 10-15 Euros a night more for the nights we stayed and it seems like we probably would have been better staying there instead.

If visiting Ljubljana again I would look for other accommodations, but I would not deter anybody from staying here either.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GracyInVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B&H
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

I would recommend Hotel Emonec. It has great location, price is OK, very clean and cosy. We stayed two nights, and first night some guys next door made horrible noise, so we asked to change the room. The girl at the reception was very resonable and she gave us a room in other building. The staff is very friendly. Parking place is a walking distance from Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vladana77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

Situated within a one minute walk from the main square in a courtyard just off Wolfova, this is one of the most central of all Ljubljana's hotels. Throw in excellent nightly rates (incl. breakfast) and you are onto a winner here. Yes, the room was spartan (but clean) and the breakfast basic, but both were entirely adequate for our needs. Ljubljana is a lovely city and the Emonec is a nice hotel to base yourself in. Go stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nortcider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

The hotel is very central next to the main square which means the price
should be sky high like similar positioned hotels, but for the emonec
its not. It does this by cutting out some of the standard luxuries of a
normal hotel, hence its 2 star status. Things to note its clean, new
towels each day (though a little rough or small), room cleaned daily,
quiet considering location, helpful staff, continental breakfast, free
internet connection in the room. Yes its sparse, but what are you
looking for, its got a bed, wardrobe, and en-suite all in the middle of
town for half the price of neighbouring hotels.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ldn_Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Oak, Iowa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

I would highly recommend Hotel Emonec! Location, location, location! Right in the heart of Ljubljana we could not have asked for a better location. We were able to walk right from the train station to the hotel. Every sight we wanted to see was within easy walking distance.
The room was clean and lovely. The breakfast was large and delicious. The service was great and they spoke excellent English. they were able to suggest places for us to eat and even provide us with directions. We were there when it was quite cold and our room stayed nice and warm and the heaters worked great.
We were on the top floor so our internet connection wasn't great unless we were near a window. The bathroom was hilarious, all smokey glass and extremely small. But we didn't go to luxuriate in the tiny shower so it was fine for us. Beds were not super comfortable but very typical hard European style. The door to the hallway was not soundproof at all so it could get a little noisy. Being a seasoned traveler I wore earplugs and wasn't bothered a bit.
I would definitely go back and I've already recommended it to friends. Inexpensive, clean, friendly, and a great location!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial Beach CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

In this price-range, Hotel Emonec does a really good job: perfectly clean; excellent, speedy internet access; a better-than average breakfast (coffee, juice, cereals, breads, meat/cheese, yogurt, fresh fruits); an unbeatable location right in the heart of the old city; and an accessible, helpful, English-speaking staff. The room provided for our family of 5 was perfect, with ample room for sleeping, comfortable linens, a clean bathroom, and plenty of room to store our things. Some may find the hotel a bit sterile or industrial, but I’m picky and I was more than satisfied with our choice.

Any cons? The only very small inadequacies I could find were 1, the bath towels were tiny (really the size of American hand towels) and 2, there wasn’t air conditioning, but, truly we found a single fan was adequate.
Nice job, Hotel Emonec!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonfromcincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 30 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emonec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emonec

Property: Hotel Emonec
Address: Wolfova ulica 12, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ljubljana
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Emonec 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Emonec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emonec Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing