We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bare bones but good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Emonec

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Emonec
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Ljubljana
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bare bones but good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

This hotel is well situated, right by the main square but tucked in a driveway so it is away from the pedestrian walk. The city center area is closed to traffic so you must walk in. The room is very spartan but very clean. Had the feel of a city and a hotel that is just learning the ropes of tourism. Breakfast is not worth having - dry cereal, cheap cold cuts, rolls, coffee from a machine. They need to take some lessons from B&B's in other countries. We opted for fresh pastries from the bakery. The price of the room was high compared with what we got at other places in Slovenia and Croatia, but maybe that was because it was in Ljubljana.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpinehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    364
    175
    52
    19
See reviews for
168
280
55
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

The hotel is in a great location, it is right in the center of the town and only 800m away from the train station. We arrived from Budapest after a long train ride, when we got to the hotel, first we were surprised that there was no one at the reception, then we were able to find the security person who doesn't speak any English, very nice person, but could not help us much. We were the last checking into the hotel, so they gave us a small double bedroom with a French bed, we booked a small double bedroom, but NOT a French bed. Being two grown male adult, we asked them to change our room and give us a twin beds, We called the receptionist and an other person with the help of the security guy, but the hotel didn't take any responsibility for what they did and simply told us that everything is booked and we should take the French bed. We left our luggage in the room and started walking around to find an other hotel, lucky we found a single room in Best Wester which was not far from the hotel, so one of us stayed there. When you are making reservation to this hotel, make sure that hotel has the right room for you, as they lack the professionalism of a hotel, they can easily make mistake with your reservation and .simply call it "miss understanding".
The hotel also calims to have free wireless connection, please make sure that your room is one of those with the receptions, most of the rooms do not have wireless but LAN connection..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ati_San
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

This is a VERY basic hotel in an excellent location for seeing the city. Rooms are clean but minimalist, uncomfortable and very stuffy. The short shower curtain means the bathroom floor floods making paddling to the loo unavoidable. Staff are not friendly and the parking situation, whilst understandable, is annoying as you have to park up to walk and collect the parking info and pass from the hotel then repark in a multistorey car park and carry bags 1.5km back to the hotel. The hotel is incredibly noisy as is the street outside (bins being moved at 5am, deliveries, etc) so sleep is a luxury. The breakfast is poor.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank penny025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

Despite being a 2 star hotel, the room and facilities were of 3 star quality. Room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was in a good condition.

Location could not be any better as it is right in the middle of the centre of town near the main square and where all the action is!

Breakfast was basic (but still decent) and there is an airport service from round the corner. Staff were friendly and helpful in contrary to some of the other reviews.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellerjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

Good things first: perfect location, 50 metres from Preseren square. Less than 5 minutes walk from all the sights, this was really great. The staff was also nice, though there was a mistake with our reservation so there was only one bed made with 1 blanket, 1 pillow, 1 towel, 1glass only, we had to ask them several times until we got everything we needed. The rooms were cleaned every day and we got new towels daily too. Breakfast was OK, nothing special, many types of cereals and yoghurt, vacuum-packed cheese and cold cuts.

And now the problems:
I wouldnt say the rooms are cheap, especially the very simple mini-rooms we had: around 9 square metres including bathroom, which is naturally also very tiny. Shower curtain was too short so the floor was flooded after taking a shower. The bathroom wall just next to the toilet was a glass wall, which created some privacy issues.... The walls of the room are so thin u can hear your neighbours' every move and word. U have to be lucky to get less noisy neighbours than we did, but the bathroom airing, shower and walking on the corridor still makes a lot of noise. Bring earplugs if you want to sleep. Rooms might be much better in the main building though, we got a room in another building.
Breakfast was okay but the coffee was really really bad :)

I would still come back to this hotel, as it is one of the cheapest hotels in Ljubljana and you can't get a better location, maybe it's just a little bit better than a hostel but if you know what to expect, it is more than OK.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moonie296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

This is a very basic hotel but with excellent location which offers good value for money. The rooms are VERY spartan with plain white walls and no furniture. However what they lack in character, they make up for in cleanliness (it's spotless) and functionality (beds are simple but comfortable). The location is excellent, on a pedestrian street just 100 metres from Preseren square and the Triple Bridge. They also offer free WiFi, although the coverage will of course vary, so I'm not sure it works in all rooms. You can also get a LAN cable for a wired connection and there's a PC in the lobby.

The breakfast is basic (continental) but adequate. This hotel was amongst the cheapest we found in Ljubljana and we thought it was very good value for money. If you're looking for something cheap & cheerful with a central location, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_oddjobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

I usually do not write rewievs but in this case it is not fair to this little nice hotel in the center of beautiful city of Ljubljana that last rewiev gave them note 1. There is really construction site for new parking house 100 meters from hotel, but we saw this on hotels internet site and we had no troubles to reach the hotel. We received there a map and instruction how to get to the parking house which is just 10 minutes leisure walking distance from the hotel. Rooms are basic but well maintained and very clean. Breakfast is sufficient and for price of 38,5 eur per person it is cheap for Ljubljana.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tim089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 30 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emonec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emonec

Property: Hotel Emonec
Address: Wolfova ulica 12, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ljubljana
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Emonec 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Emonec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emonec Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing