We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, ok otherwise”
Review of Hotel Galleria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Galleria
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
209 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Great location, ok otherwise”
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We just spent 3 nights in Antiq Hotel. On a positive side, it did have free wifi, it was clean, the staff were nice, and the location was fantastic. However, the linens were low quality, the towels a bit worn, the furniture kind'a dingy, and the bed was very uncomfortable. Worst of all was that upon checking they attempted to downgrade our room upon check-in! They casually put us in a room half as size, and on the first floor. It wasn't until I specifically told them which room we had reserved that they finally confessed that it was not ready yet... We waited and got the room we had reserved, but didn't appreciate it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanAndAssana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    146
    56
    25
    12
See reviews for
51
173
49
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
274 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 766 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Ljubljana was the first stop on our Slovenia/Croatia journey. The Antiq Hotel was a lovely welcome to, what was for us, a new region of the world. Reservations and communication prior to our visit was helpful and efficient (although unfortunately, there was some mix up with emails regarding our airport pick up). They did their best to anticipate our needs and answer our questions promptly.

The hotel is ideally located at the beginning of the pedestrian only zone. Free parking was available in the nearby neighborhood, walking distance away. This newly created area is still filling up with shops and great restaurants. The next block over is the river area with it's bars and cafes. Lovely and safe for walking and strolling. The whole area is filled with young people and happy families. The farmers market is not far either.

Only 6 years old, Antiq Hotel gives an old world feel but with modern convenience. Each room is different and ours was quite large. The location on the street is very quiet but you can hear others' movements from the inner courtyard when the windows are open. We heard no noise from the other rooms except for creaking of wood floors above.

Both the bedroom and bathroom were very clean and the bed is comfortable. Breakfast was quaint and tasty.

The staff is reserved but helpful. It was obvious that they wished to do all they could to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

I would recommend taking the daily free walking tour and definitely trying the nearby Restaurant VALVASOR. It might very well have been the finest cuisine of our entire trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Msk6261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This hotel has a fantastic location on a lovely pedestrianised street full of shops and cafes. You are dropped off a 1 minute walk from the taxi area. It has a lovely lounge area and gardens to relax. The breakfast is good with a selection of cold meets, cheeses, salmon, fruit and pasteries as well as scrambled egg&sausages.
We stayed in family room (16) which was great except for the 3 flights of stairs! Dont let that put you off this amazing hotel though its good exercise! The staff are extremely helpful, professional and kind. They treated our young children really well. From what we could see there is variation in the rooms so you should look on the website to book a certain room.
Ljubljana is a beautiful city one of the best we have visited. Our children enjoyed the zoo (lovely walk back), the castle and the parks. One caution BEWARE of the cyclists they will not stop for you and cycle without care&attention throughout the whole city!

Room Tip: Book on the internet&choose your room then confirm with the hotel by email. Dont choose top floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbrae
Level Contributor
166 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed at Antiq on three separate occasions during out recent trip and enjoyed all immensely. The staff is professional and courteous to a fault. Breakfast items are bountiful and the lounge/bar is first class. What also makes this a wonderful hotel is that its in a historical building in the best location in Ljubjana.

I am already planning a return stay in 2012.

Room Tip: Select Room #4 which is the garden room. Beware of third floor rooms if unfit or have a disability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lckt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The plus side is it's in a great location with the city centre pedestrian area starting at the door. The staff are generally friendly and helpful. Previous comments on TripAdvisor have been a bit variable, mainly I think, because there are a range of rooms from cheap and cheerful with a toilet down the corridor to suites with a couple of rooms. You gets what you pays for, so check first. It is also very quiet if you are not on the street side.
A couple of minuses: There is no lift and some rooms are on the third floor - however the staff were happy to carry our luggage. Also it is inside the pedestrian area, so the shuttle from the airport has to drop you about 40 metres away. Not a great problem, but worth noting if you have heavy luggage or if it is raining.
I had also spotted the comments that the breakfast is expensive. It is for what it is. I'd be happy to pay 8 Euros, but 15 was steep for a reasonable, but not huge choice. But as others have noted, there are plenty of cafes near by.

Room Tip: Ask for one not on the street side. Although it's a pedestrian zone, there can be noisy groups p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Despite being hundreds of years old, the hotel has modern bathrooms, wifi in all rooms, air conditioning and computers available for guests' use in public areas.
This is not a hotel for those with mobility problems, however. There is no elevator, the stone stairs are steep and the floors are uneven. Even on the ground floor, there are slight differences in the floor between rooms, so if you are not paying attention, it is easy to stumble.
I was originally given room 16, which was described as being on the 3d floor. The first floor is one flight up, so the 3rd floor is three flights up. The door to room 16 leads to another flight of stairs, so that room is actually 4 flights up. Since I was traveling solo, I had no need for two bedrooms, so I requested a change. I did take pictures of room 16 before I made the change. The good -- it has a large bathroom, with a separate tub and shower. In addition to the two bedrooms, there is a sitting room. The bad--the second bedroom is tiny, and you have to climb 60 stairs to get to it
My room on the 2nd floor was lovely. It overlooked the garden and patio. The bathroom was smaller, but adequate, with just a shower. Although there was a hair dryer attached to the wall, there was also a detached hair dryer. The shampoo was for "hair and body", so although toiletries are provided, you might want to bring your own. Room 10 also had a sitting room.

Breakfast was included and was excellent.

All of the old town attractions were within walking distance--less than 2 blocks to the river with all of the cafes and bars, There was a pharmacy across the square, shops and restaurants outside our door.
The staff was courteous and helpful during my 4 day stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We were a group of three women who picked Ljubljiana, Slovenia out-of-the blue for one of our stops on a European trip and we were not disappointed! Fabulous city! Fabulous hotel. We arrived before our room was ready but left our bags and went exploring. Found lots of great places to eat and shop. Our room was great! Had a triple room that overlooked the garden. In the hallway outside our room was a computer with internet access and a char...it became our sitting room. The breakfast was yummy too.

Tip: Found the BEST store next door to the hotel that sells beautiful handmade jewellery and silk clothing. Sandra, the jewellry designer was the best and custom fitted us for several pieces which we picked up the next day.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trigirl_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
#21 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#14 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mrak
Hotel Mrak
#18 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galleria

Property: Hotel Galleria
Address: Gornji trg 3, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia (Formerly Antiq Hotel)
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the historic town centre of Ljubljana, the Antiq Hotel offers 16 charming guest rooms with views of the magnificent Ljubljana Castle or the romantic Gornji Trg square, this cosy boutique hotel is a peaceful haven just a stone-throw away from the busy cobble-stoned streets of the Old Town with its numerous cafes, restaurants and boutique stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiq Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing