We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel in the centre of Ljubljana” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Galleria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Galleria
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Ljubljana
Skive, Denmark
1 review
“Very nice hotel in the centre of Ljubljana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Based on the absolute rave reviews given this hotel by both Frommer's and Rick Steves, as well as the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor, I looked forward to staying at Antiq Hotel in Ljubljana. The hotel is very well located, on a beautiful old square within 5 minutes walking distance of the center of Old Town Ljubljana...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    142
    54
    25
    11
See reviews for
48
170
47
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Antiq is just inside the car free zone in the historic center of town and is an easy walk to all the restaurants, shops and sights. It has historic character (i.e., beamed ceiling in my room, hardwood floors) while having updated comforts including a really nice modern bath. My room shared a small balcony that gave access to the terraced gardens behind the hotel. No elevator, but the man at the reception desk carried my bag up for me. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Breakfast was generous and good. One downside was the parking situation. We arrived on Sat. and were able to park for free on a street that was a short distance away; as of 8:00 Monday morning, we had to buy a parking ticket from a machine to display on the dashboard. We checked out at 11:00 and walked to the car only to find ... no car! The three hour parking pass had expired less than 10 minutes earlier and the car had been towed. Carted bags back to the hotel and the receptionist was very helpful in checking a website to see where the car had been towed to and calling a cab to take us there. (He did this so quickly and efficiently, though, that it makes me suspect that guests' cars get towed with some regularity and this part of his routine.) Towing fee was 100 euros which was more than we might have chosen to contribute to the city coffers!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tabBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
509 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 506 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Based on the absolute rave reviews given this hotel by both Frommer's and Rick Steves, as well as the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor, I looked forward to staying at Antiq Hotel in Ljubljana. The hotel is very well located, on a beautiful old square within 5 minutes walking distance of the center of Old Town Ljubljana, one of the most beautiful pedestrian-friendly old towns I have seen anywhere in the world, bar none. Nevertheless, I must say we were quite disappointed by our stay here. The staff, advertised by the hotel as "friendly, young and energetic," were quite young, but neither particularly friendly nor energetic. I would say a bit snarky and condescending is a more accurate description. When we arrived, we were informed that we had been "upgraded" to the best room in the place. I had ordered a "superior" room, meaning one where I didn't have to walk down the hall to go to the bathroom. The deluxe room we were given was on the top floor (3rd floor European style, 4th floor American style), up three flight of very steep, very hard stone stairs. There is no elevator, so we had to lug our baggage all the way up. The room itself was huge, I'll say that, but the bed was up a rickety stair way in a tiny loft with a low ceiling that we kept bumping our heads on. To go to the bathroom at night, you had to go down these same steep, rickety stairway (with no handrail or banister) to get there, and then up again to return to bed (being careful not to bump your head again.) The bathroom had a "shower" in the unusable "bathtub" (which had no workable stopper) but no shower curtains or barrier to prevent the bathroom from being flooded every time you took a shower. To top it off, the shower nozzle wouldn't stay in place, so you couldn't even take a shower without holding the nozzle yourself in your hand. (The staff did fix the nozzle when we complained about it, but told us "sorry, the bathtub doesn't work.") There was very little toilet paper, which the cleaning staff failed to supplement, so we ran out of toilet paper our third day. They replaced it when I called downstairs, but still . . . I mean, this is deluxe service? Finally, although they had made espresso and cappuccino for us the first two mornings, the third morning we were there they curtly informed us we would have to pay for the privilege. (They had never said that to us before.) When we complained, they backed down and let us have our espresso "free of charge." So much for the "complementary snacks" advertised on their website. Finally, as for the WiFi: yes, there is free WiFi, but it is unusable in the "superior deluxe room" we had, so we had to go out on the stair landing to obtain the internet for our laptop.
I would give this place only a two star "poor" or one star "terrible" rating, but for the great, indeed fantastic location, and the fact there were one or two staff people there who did respond to our complaints in a friendly, helpful manner. Plus, our room was huge, and despite the rickety stair way problem, the bed was very comfortable for a good night's sleep. So I'll be generous, and call it "average."

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Just on the edge of the No car zone the location is super, Ljubljana's historic center steps away from this charming hotel. The staff pleasant and most helpful and the grand rooms some with a garden view are cozy and comfortable bath robes are a added lux along with the breakfast in a pleasant setting and finely furnished lobby I would recommend a stay at this hotel to be most satisfactory.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzie266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Ideal location in the old city, huge and lovely room, tons of storage space, contemporary bath fixtures, outstanding breakfast in a charming little nook, well-meaning service, all for under $100/night.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbowein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Very helpful and friendly staff.Clean rooms,good breakfast,and brilliant location for exploring Ljubjlana.Taxi from beautiful Lake Bled same price as the bus when 6 of us travelled as a group.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms varied . We went with 2 other couples and rooms 10 &13 wee better than smaller,tired,gari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Nice location in the very heart of the city,but need to go for taxi ab.30m,as historical centre blocked and opened just for special cars.One big inconvenience-no lift,whic of course can/t be install in this old building.Room(no.8)was big,more than enough for 2 people,very clean with white bathrobe,grand bed,big sofa,table.only tv-was not show nothing due to unkown problems,staff can't fix it and even programms with bad signal-were unknown,strange and no any international news channel wer available.Breakfast was simple,but enough choice.We leaving 5 o'clock in the morning-fresh coffee with croissants was prepared.staff in the hote-very pleasant,polite,fast and helpfull.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank admirerItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#13 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
#21 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mrak
Hotel Mrak
#18 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 30 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galleria

Property: Hotel Galleria
Address: Gornji trg 3, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia (Formerly Antiq Hotel)
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the historic town centre of Ljubljana, the Antiq Hotel offers 16 charming guest rooms with views of the magnificent Ljubljana Castle or the romantic Gornji Trg square, this cosy boutique hotel is a peaceful haven just a stone-throw away from the busy cobble-stoned streets of the Old Town with its numerous cafes, restaurants and boutique stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Hotel Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiq Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing