We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless, cozy, convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl
Ranked #5 of 60 Ljubljana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We arrived yesterday, checked in easily with a gracious welcome and just spent our first night in this great room. It is on the 3rd floor, no elevator, which means a bit of stair climbing. We're in the yellow room, nice size, all amenities (except shampoo) and the wireless has been flawless. The location is so convenient to the market and lots of restaurants, shops, TI and tours! Clearly this owner knows the secrets to operating and maintaining quality guest rooms. Breakfast supplies are bare minimum (coffee, milk, white packaged bread/butter/jam,juice - no cereal) but we're heading out to the streets which overflow with tempting snacks.

Room Tip: Both red and yellow rooms on 3rd floor are nice, facing opposite directions. We received horrible s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

In late 2007 we stayed in Petra's B&B and were very happy with our stay and said so much in our review. Recently, we again spent a night on our way to Trieste and saw that Petra hasn't lost her touch. We stayed in the Blue Room, the one with a balcony, that is a bit smaller but very cozy. It is actually a studio apartment with its own entrance, has a bathroom with a tub, a kitchenette for the self service breakfast (the essential ingredients are provided free of charge) and all the amenities like WiFi, cable TV, A/C, and a hairdryer, an international traveler would expect.
We actually bumped into Petra during a snow storm in her courtyard and she immediately recognized us, "frozen" as we were, and made us some cappuccino and offered us some delicious cake.
What can I say, we felt like VIPs, warmly welcome and almost like at home.
The neighborhood has also changed a bit. Now there's a decent restaurant on the west side of the courtyard and a small bakery-cafe on the east side. The open air market is still there and even in the snow there were a few stands of fresh produce and fruit.
Ljubljana was beautiful all decked in white and Petra's hospitality made it almost magic. We highly recommend a stay in Petra's B&B!

Room Tip: The Blue Room has a balcony where guest can have their breakfast in the summer but the Red Room is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank axjul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

B&B Petra Varl is basically two rooms, each with its own private bathroom and separate, keyed entrance. We stayed in the "red" room, which is on the uppermost floor, with windows looking out over the back of the building (and over the walking path up to the castle). There is also a "blue" room, which is one floor lower and has a balcony that looks out over the inner courtyard.

Our room was spacious and comfortable enough, with a sort of mini-kitchen installed in a closet. The small fridge was stocked with some bread, jam, juice, etc., and included a coffeepot and a hot sandwich press. If you run out of anything, just ask and they'll bring you more. Granted, this is not the most fancy breakfast in the world, but we didn't really mind. To be honest, there are so many charming little cafes right outside the door, we felt it a shame to stay in for breakfast anyway. (The one morning we did have breakfast in the room, we supplemented it with fresh milk and fruit from the open market across the street.)

Wi-fi was free, password-protected, and we had a good signal in our room.

If you're bringing a car, there are two important things to know. First, the entrance into the courtyard is quite tight. We rented a Mini and didn't have any trouble, but I can see how a larger car might have an issue. Second, courtyard parking isn't officially included or guaranteed, so don't plan on it being available. It's really luck-of-the-draw.

Nothing to say about the location that hasn't been said in the other reviews--it's top-notch! We'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OgdenNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This b&b is set-up very well. The rooms are lovely, we were staying in the red room (which is a little bit bigger than the blue one). Here a list of the + and - of this b&b:

+
very nice room
everything was clean, found 2 black hairs in the bathtub though
great location (some find it hard to find, but we found it quite easily)
nice bathroom
you have a little kitchen to make small things
WIFI !!

-
the breakfast can be a little bit bigger

The concept of this b&b is something that I like alot. Petra provides everything you need for the days you are staying. You are a bit on your own, but she can be reached quite easily because they have a cellphone on the desk for whenever you need it.

Very happy we came here, and we'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pietba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The location is superb and within easy walking distance to all major spots..Open air markets right in front, tourist information office, bakery and coffee places..
Train and Bus Station approx 15 minutes walk.Funicular to Ljubljana Castle right next door to B&B..
Bus to Lake Bled and back is a great trip..Bus takes you within a short walk to the lake, whereas train does not..There is a small train that goes around the lake if you don't want to walk around the lake..
If you need a taxi, book one at the tourist information office (outside the B&B on the right) as it will be a lot cheaper, taxis at the train station tend to charge a lot more..
We enjoyed our 3 night stay, our room (the blue room) was very clean and comfortable, we had a small balcony which was nice..Tiny kitchenette was great, bread, jams, milk and juice provided by Petra was excellent.
Location of B&B can be difficult to locate, especially at night..Look for the market square Vodnikov trg, on your map, there is alcove driveway just opposite the market square and B&B is located there..
Excellent coffee and cakes at the Srcek Coffee Shop (along the river canal) just a few minutes walk from B&B..
A great time in Ljubljana...hope to return..

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aussee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We enjoyed our short stay here, close to the river, market, and castle. Petra seems to have a very promising establishment. We were in the Red Room, complete with a tiny kitchenette, full bath, queen bed. We had a very difficult time locating the place, however, Slovenians are very helpful and friendly, and one couple, when we approached them, happily walked us to the B&B. Hint: Look for the market square (Vodnikov trg) There is an alcove just opposite it (away from the river). 5a is the address.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JacMcFar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We arrived at a rainy day - it was like arriving home. The room was clean and welcoming, equipped with all the necessary facilities - including a fridge, tv, DVDs, tea pot, coffee etc.

We highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dani_nella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#17 of 31 in Ljubljana
917 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vila Veselova
Vila Veselova
#3 of 60 in Ljubljana
282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Slamic B&B
Slamic B&B
#4 of 60 in Ljubljana
414 reviews
3.1 mi away
Slovenian House Vida
Slovenian House Vida
#2 of 60 in Ljubljana
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl

Address: Vodnikov trg 5a, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Ljubljana
Price Range: £48 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Petra Varl
Bed And Breakfast Petra Varl Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing