We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl
Ranked #6 of 56 Ljubljana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Me and my teenage son stayed in Petra Varl for 3 night in June and absolutely loved it! Petra is very nice and accommodating, room was very clean and cozy, view from the window was very sweet! Everything was great. The kitchenette with small breakfast was exactly what we needed. Petra was very kind to give us cell phone for the use and also provided parking. The location is also perfect. Loved Petra Varl and Ljubljana, will be back! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ella_g0ren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    61
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
120
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

This B&B is located in the downtown area near the river. The owner Ana is very friendly and helpful. There are restaurants, shopping and historical buildings within a 1-minute walk, it is not often you get that lucky!

If I wanted to come to Ljubljana again I would definately stay at Petra Varl again, it's very lovely.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elmis294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zizers, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed in the red room for one night last summer. The owner spoke good English and gave us a nice welcome. The room itself was small but very nice. However, when we turned the bedsheets we happened to find blood everywhere - on the bedsheets and on the pillow cases.. Needless to say it wasn't ours as we had just arrived. We also found long black hair in the bathroom which obviously also hadn't been cleaned. We tried to tell the owner but did not find her all day. We stayed for the night but obviously the blood overshadowed our stay at this B&B - pretty disgusting actually! We left a note for the owner telling her that we were very disappointed but never heard from her. It was maybe just us having very, very bad luck as all the other reviews are positive but I would not recommend staying there after this bad experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corinne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
337 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

In November 2012, I stayed at Petra Varl for six nights. It's a great value and centrally located as it is right across from the main indoor/outdoor market and near the tourist information center in additon to many of the sites, e.g., tripe bridge, dragon bridge, etc.. Since Ljbuljana is a relatively compact city, I was able to walk to all destinations from there, in particular the train and bus stations. Petra and the rest of her family are extremely accomodating. However, it is not your typical bed and breakfast, as Petra supplies the food and you make the breakfast yourself. If you are not familar with a coffee press, you will become familar. I'd definitely stay there again if I was going to Ljublana.

Room Tip: There is only one room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

All I can say about this B&B is that it's awesome, As we arrived we found a very helpful lady, Ana, she helped us getting our baggage to the rooms and was very informative. This B&B is situated in a very nice place surrounded by restaurants and a nice open market. It is also very well kept and maintained, would suggest it to stay.Vince & Miriam Malta.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinceMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Idaho
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed at Petra Varl for 3 days in June. Everything about our stay was absolutely perfect! :)
Petra was extremely nice and accommodating, she gave us great tips about what to do in Ljubljana and the surrounding area. The B&B is also located right in central Ljubljana, just a minutes walk from all major attractions (Dragon Bridge, The castle etc.)
The rooms themselves are also very nice. There are 3 rooms, the yellow room, the red room, and the blue room. We stayed in the yellow room, and it was great! The room has a nice view, and the bathroom is very updated and has all the basic amenities. The room is pretty much average size, and the bed is comfy. Petra also brought these delicious little pastries to our room everyday, and she left us a really sweet present in the day we left! Overall, the B&B is superb and Petra is really sweet! I'll definitely come back here next time I visit Slovenia!! :D

Room Tip: If view really matters to you, you should try to get the yellow or blue room. They have the nicest v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This B&B was so great, just in the heart of Ljubljana right in front of the lovely market. We stayed for 2 nights in the yellow room in May, and after touring Slovenia we came back for our last night. Since this was a last minute request, they graciously put us in their emergency room, which is sort of part of the owner’s apartment. They also offered us some wonderful homemade cake.
The yellow room was lovely with a good size bathroom and a mini kitchenette with basic breakfast supplies. However we opted instead for the bakery right next door. The Wi-Fi worked flawlessly in both rooms. Definitively a great place to recommend at a very affordable cost. We liked it a lot and loved the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#15 of 31 in Ljubljana
826 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,022 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl

Property: Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl
Address: Vodnikov trg 5a, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Petra Varl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Petra Varl Hotel Ljubljana
b&b Petra Varl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing