We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid riverside choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Zlata Ribica

Zlata Ribica
Ranked #71 of 568 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Price range: US$11 - US$54
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Slovenian, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In one of the oldest houses in Ljubljana, the former engraved with the year 1578 which is above the front door wiping out time is already extractor wine in 1790.
Toronto
Level Contributor
641 reviews
437 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Solid riverside choice”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I am always surprised to see negative ratings outweigh positive ones for eateries where we had no problems and even chose to return to the next day. We enjoyed the food and also the wine. The service was fine and the waitstaff remembered us. Obviously this restaurant is trading on its excellent watewrside location, with some of the best views in town. I am done. The end.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zebecToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    168
    97
    52
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
401 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“nice food on the river bank”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Good international food with a choice of local meals. You can eat on the river bank with scenic view. Service is good. Prices could be lower

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Overpriced place”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Sitting at the outdoor table in the sunny day we ordered first mushroom soup,which was really nice-prepared fm the mix of fresh mushrooms.After,we ordered fried calamares,which were overdry a bit.lookinf for the prices of fish,find it greatly overpriced,keeping in mind,tt it not fresh of course.With bill were serviced 2 blueberry liquores(Slovenian speciality).service was ok.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank admirerItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gargrave
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ripped off, not happy!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This was the worst restaurant which we ate at in during our two week stay in Ljubljana. We ended up paying 45 euros for two weiner schintzels and potatoes - we thought the potatoes came with the main meal, as you would get normally in the UK, but we had to pay 5 euros each for these!! Don't agree to any extras as you have to pay for everything, including your vegetables and bread etc.!! This is the only restaurant in Ljubljana that we would not go back to. The schitzels themselves were actually very tasty, but just not worth that amount of money, you can go elsewhere and get exactly the same meal for half the price. We also had to wait a long time for anybody to appear and serve us, and then another wait for the bill. Total rip off. Avoid it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Large portions”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We went to this restaurant because of other reviews on tripadvisor, and its lovely location next to the river, close to the triple bridge. Some of the food on the menu seemed a little pricey, but we selected one of the daily specials from the blackboard outside, which were more reasonable. We payed 12 euro for veal with some roast potatoes in a gravy/sauce which was all very nice and a decent sized portion. We were going to visit again but didnt get time, would definately recommend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DERWYN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zlata Ribica also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Zlata Ribica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing