We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart, stylish and attentive service .. dishes were a slightly disappointing”
Review of Restavracija Cubo

Restavracija Cubo
Ranked #27 of 585 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$34
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Slovenia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Smart, stylish and attentive service .. dishes were a slightly disappointing”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We dined at Cubo as a family celebration, and even though it is a little out of the town centre, Ljubljana is compact city and it only takes 5 minutes to get there from the old downtown district. Our telephone enquiry to make the reservation was answered almost instantly, which is always a good sign of quality service, and one that did not disappoint on the night. The waiters were smart, informed and attentive and there were no issues with that part of the service.

For the food, we ordered the degustation menu for 2 people, which is a well priced 5-course offer. Other family members ordered from a comprehensive a la carte menu. The dishes themselves were generally good, but not much more than that .. I was disappointed with the rather bland cooked vegetables.

In general, you can have a decent meal at Cubo, but it comes with a superior service and stylish atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    45
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Finally Upscale in Ljubljana”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I dined at Cubo for a business dinner for 13 people. This was the best meal I've had in Ljubljana. Perhaps I favored this restaurant because I've had many meals in this city that were not so good, and I'm a sucker for atmosphere and good service.

Our host picked an excellent wine, and the presentation of the courses was very nice.

It would be good if they added a full bar so that we could have had cocktails as well.

Not sure I'd go here outside of an expense account, but if I had a choice, I would eat here again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gogokollio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful!”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is a restaurant with a seafood theme and I had a great grilled seafood salad and a fresh tuna main. The waiter gave a nice Slovenia wine to go with and while I am not a wine snob, thought it was good.The restaurant is fine dining and I couldn't fault it anyway. The down side is probably it's location which would be hard to find as a tourist and out of the centre of town.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great palce”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

A bit on the expensive side, but the food was very good, fresh and with a touch of creativity yet with simple and clear tastes. Great service and good atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank unicuiquesuum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

This is for sure one of the best restaurants in ljubljana. It is worth visiting. The food is very taste, the amosphere is very nice and staff really friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snoopy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restavracija Cubo also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Restavracija Cubo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing