We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food accompanied by a lot of wine”
Review of Manna

Manna
Ranked #18 of 601 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean, Slovenian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Restaurant is famous for its divine dishes, where they can enjoy all the gourmets from morning until late evening. In addition to offering delicious local specialties and dishes with a touch of modernity, certainly, it is also an unforgettable ambient as well as friendly staff that helps with advice to each guest. That the gourmet pleasure is complete they offer more than 300 types of wines served by the glass. Manna House of Cuisine received in 2014/15 as well as in the past years many prestigious national and international awards as a label for top restaurant in Slovenia.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great food accompanied by a lot of wine”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I went there for dinner, the 5 course meat menu with the 5 course wine menu was great. The service was good, the waiter really nice and funny and overall all a nice, relaxing atmosphere. Depending on how much wine you drink with your dinner, the place is between 25-50 Euros per person.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxana_DTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    101
    28
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

My wife chose the three course fish meal while I had the meat choice. Both were excellent and were accompanied by a selection of local wines. We also received a complimentary amuse bouche and glass of sparkling wine as well as a black currant liqueur at the end of the meal. Our waiter was very informative and suitably attentive. An excellent meal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kevinlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tripadvisor gets it wrong”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Went there expecting amazing food based on tripadvisor ranking of this restaurant, but we were all disappointed in the food, although a great selection of good Slovenian wines. Scallops were cooked inconsistently, some over and some under. While the presentation was nice, the flavors just weren't that good, especially for the price! Judging by the other diners, it is clear this is a "tourist" restaurant. Next time, I will find somewhere else.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great, slow food”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We were 4 friends visiting Ljubljana looking to deep dive into the Slovenian cuisine and Manna did not disappoint but don’t expect to be in and out in one or even two hours. We ordered their 7 dish menu which is very good and affordable. The waiters know their business and choose a few wines that really fitted the food. If you into slow food I can recommend Manna.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin Langhoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dendermonde, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
436 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Modern cuisine in traditional interior”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

When we arrived here and saw the outside of this restaurant, and also when we stepped inside, we thought to have arrived in a simple traditional, thirteen in a dozen, eatery.
Even the waiter, a somewhat heavier guy, with ordinary manners, did not make it any better.
But then, when he had leaded us to the first floor, we saw that we had ended up at the right place.
We sat down in a beautiful looking room, held in dark orangy tones.
Ah, now we could relax and make our choice of either the fish or meat menu's, which, after insisting a bit, could be combined. Off course à la carte was also possible.
We were recommended to have a Slovenian sparkling wine, which turned out to be rosé, nice dry and fruity, mmm.
Then fireworks started .... waw, what was served here, was grand contemporary modern cuisine! The 14/20 noted from Gault-Millau, was fully merited, I would even say for some of the plates that I would go up to 17/20 , really I would.
Now for the wines, they have an extended wine list, with an accent on Slovenian ones. In any case, those we savoured could easily hold any comparison with all other surrounding country's. And what makes Slovenia even more interesting, is that they have grape varieties unheard of elsewhere.
The kitchen held a good steady pace, thus, apart from the somewhat amateuristic service, due to the head waiter having an accident of some kind, this evening turned out to be an overwhelming eating experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manna also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Manna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing