We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”
Review of Hotel City Maribor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel City Maribor
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Maribor
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This hotel is a travelers dream. Centrally located with nice modern and specious rooms it is held up to standards not usually typical for smaller towns. I am warmly recommending it to all the travelers.

Room Tip: Choose the sweets, they are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UMilcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCityMB, Manager at Hotel City Maribor, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.

We are delighted that you had a fantastic experience and we look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Best regards from Maribor,

Andrej Pust, manager with Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    136
    31
    10
    0
See reviews for
36
110
5
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SF
Level Contributor
132 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I doubt that you can do better than this place in Maribor. Located right on the river with views of the old water tower (and the swans floating next to it), this modern, sleek and comfortable place is superb. It's a short ten minute walk from the train station, and a shorter five minute walk to the beautiful center of town. Hotel City may be all contemporary in interior design but is old fashioned warm welcome when it comes to the staff, who were wonderful enough to recommend places to us during Christmas time. Maribor is a small city, so everything is within walking distance: do get a flight of wines at the Old Vine museum, followed by a visit to one of the cathedrals and the old synagogue. A hearty breakfast is on a floor which has a spacious balcony with views of the river. We stayed here for a night but wish it was a longer stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaggageClaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCityMB, Manager at Hotel City Maribor, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your great review. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed the experience in Maribor.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Best regards from Maribor,

Andrej Pust, manager with Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Nice hotel in center of Maribor. Good food, clean room, solid WIFI, expensive mini bar.
Close to shopping center Europark, just across the bridge. Big free parking for guests.
TV with IP connection is total disaster. I couldn't even turn it on.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koljabgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Like the previous review, we visited here for the Maribor v Wigan Europa league game. We have two nights and booked on the day of the draw based mainly on the reviews here. all I can say was the reviews did not do the hotel and it's staff justice - they are very good and excellent respectively.

Our room was large, with lots of storage, twin duvet bed (we got one each), river view (not much in grey December but would be good in summer), sofa, seating area and the aforementioned complex TV set up. The only issue in the room was downing the heating system, but that's minor as it was cold out.

Staff were helpful and wanted to tell you about Maribor. A special mention from me to Marcia on the front desk who was a font of information, always smiling and clearly proud of her city. the lass was a credit to the hotel.

As a city there's a lot of new development but it's a low level town, easy to navigate around and the hotel is well positioned for that and the railway station whilst retaining a riverside location.

We'll be back for the lent festival either this year or next - two days was simply too tempting. And we will be staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen_Lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

A stay at this hotel was had as the third stop for Wigan Athletic and its Europa League adventures.

Having never visited Slovenia I didn’t really know what to expect. Thankfully, I was pleasantly surprised. For a start, Maribor is a very welcoming and charming little city and the hotel’s location is perfect for the numerous bars, restaurants and shops in the centre, all just a few hundred yards walk away. It is on the banks of the Drava river and has mixed vistas; the not so pretty Europark shopping centre across the river to the very pretty hillside views beyond.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and all speak perfect English much to the embarrassment of the English, 99.9% of whom haven’t checked out how to say ‘thank you’ in Slovene before they left. The lobby has a couple of shops selling traditional souvenirs and trinkets and a bar that serves extremely well priced drinks (sub 5 euros for a Lasko beer and a white wine; and that’s four star hotel prices, the bars are cheaper) and is very spacious as well as being very clean and tidy. Free Wi-Fi is available but only one person per room can be logged in at any one time. I won’t elaborate but you can use someone else’s room number to log in, if you’re cute, but only as long as they’re not logged in!

On the fifth floor is the terrace restaurant and bar. Again, very welcoming and reasonably priced but unfortunately the stay was so short we didn’t have time to sample its culinary offerings.

The room was big. Double bed, sofa, TV and a big bathroom with walk-in shower and a separate bath with shower. Overall the room was excellent with just a few minor glitches; in Winter the hotel’s central heating is set to 25 degrees and it can be a little uncomfortable. You can open a window but fairly quickly have to close it again because it’s gone cold. And then open it again, then close, ad infinitum. Even with all the lights on it is pretty dark but many hotel rooms are as such nowadays. The full length (and only one outside of the bathroom) mirror is on a wall with no sockets nearby which makes it a little tricky for things like hair straighteners. Like I said, minor glitches but there nevertheless.

Breakfast; the cooked stuff, bacon, scrambled eggs and sausages were nothing to write home about and were possibly best avoided. There were hard- boiled eggs which it’s virtually impossible to get wrong and they were fine. The continental cold meats, cheeses, bread, yoghurts, fruit etc were good quality and in abundance. No problems there.

All in all, anyone staying in this part of the world could do far worse than stay in this hotel. A four star hotel and a worthy four stars from me.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This hotel in my home town is definitely worth a big recommendation. My second stay, everything works. Location is top notch, staff is helpful, very flexible and well trained.
Just had to shorten my reservation for one night - gave them a call on a very short notice and they will not charge me, even though they could. Really a nice gesture.
Good restaurant and bar on 5th floor with great views of the river Drava.
The parking is free, wellness and spa worth visiting, I recommend Thai massage.
Rooms are modern and functional.
So if you plan to visit my home town, this is the place to stay!
Aaron

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river Drava.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Let me put it this way: The hotel is nicely designed, with good location, a very friendly staff, free car park, excellent Wi-Fi coverage and free car park. The breakfast is also excellent. What could put some guests off is the sensation of a sewage smell in the room (mine was 611, but maybe other ones are different). I stayed there as I was there for 1 night only, but I would not put up with that "aroma" if I was to stay there for even one more night.
Air conditioning was a bit problematic: the thing would not allow me to decrease the temperature below +24 degrees, which is rather hot; and I am used to sleep in cooled bedroom.

My advise to the hotel management is to address the above mentioned two problems, and they will have one of the nicest hotels in the area.

Room Tip: All windows are very reliable in terms of soundproofing, so it really does not matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisk76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maribor hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Piramida
0.3 mi away
Hotel Orel
Hotel Orel
#4 of 17 in Maribor
184 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Habakuk
Hotel Habakuk
#2 of 17 in Maribor
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tabor Maribor
Hotel Tabor Maribor
#5 of 17 in Maribor
81 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bajt Maribor
Hotel Bajt Maribor
#6 of 17 in Maribor
40 reviews
1.4 mi away
Betnava Hotel
Betnava Hotel
#9 of 17 in Maribor
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Maribor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Maribor

Property: Hotel City Maribor
Address: Ulica kneza Koclja 22, Maribor 2000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Styria Region > Maribor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Maribor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel City Maribor 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern-design hotel has 66 rooms in two categories (standard and superior), 12 suites, conference rooms, Lobby Cafe, restaurant Bistro City, underground garage, a la carte restaurant Terrace at the top of the hotel with a unique view on Drava river and Pohorje hill. The old town can be visited on foot, because all of the important sights are only a step away.Our advantages *Location in the center of the town*Comprehensive offer, including comfortable accommodation and excellent culinary delights*Flexible conference offer*200 parking spaces in the hotel garage*The highest level of service.General information *24 hour reception*Check-in time on the day of arrival is from 14:00 (2 pm) *Check-out on the day of departure is by 11:00 (11 am) *We accept cash and all major credit cards: VISA, Master Card, Diners Club, Amex and Maestro*Baggage storage at reception*No cancellation fee for cancelations up to 48 hours before the day of arrival*We make reservations for your theatre visits*Car and bike rental services*Information provided as to what to visit in town, where to go on a short trip; we also offer information about current events in town and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel City Maribor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing