We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slovenija's Best Pljeskavica?”
Review of Grill Ranca

Grill Ranca
Ranked #13 of 121 Restaurants in Maribor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Krungthep Mahanakorn
Level Contributor
380 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 969 helpful votes
“Slovenija's Best Pljeskavica?”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

OK, I don’t know if this riverside place steps away from the world’s oldest vine serves Slovenia’s best pljeskavica as some reviewers claim. Yet I can guarantee this signature meat dish is very tasty here, thanks to mouthwatering accompaniments from ajvar sauce to peppers and onions. Service is super fast and portions are big. We (a group of three) ordered one pljeskavica ranca and one equally delicious lepinja with kalmak cheese but couldn’t finish them, providing us with breakfast for the next morning while costing less than 20 euros. The friendly staff speaks English but unfortunately there aren’t desserts to kill the grease.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PORhibido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    48
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Tasty pljeskavica”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The interior is simple, but the food is very tasty. Probably the best pljeskavica I ever had. I definitely recommend

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richard421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
“Great food!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

You must stop for a pleskavika at Grill Ranca! The restaurant is similar to a fast-food, but the service is great and the food is amazing! Be ready to get a little grease on your hands and you will be rewarded with a great taste!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ioana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best "pleskavica" in whole Slovenia”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I have eaten at Ranca's many times and I always stop there for eating a pleskavica, a typical balcan hamburger, everytime I am in Maribor. The place is not so big, but it looks nice and they are usually very fast in serving you the meal. Choice is not so wide, as mainly you can eat pleskavica and čevapčiči. Their signature dish is "Pleskavica Ranca", a pleskavica that is served with a lepinja (a typical balcan soft bread) with kajmak (a creamy tasty cheese), ajvor (a sauce made out of peperoni, eggplants and tomatoes), white onions, corns, tomatoes and peperoni. The meat is just amazing, the best that I have ever eaten in Slovenia. If then you want also a beer you are not going to spend more than around 11 € for person.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GiA380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
440 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Just a fancy takeaway ”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

This a kabab type place that is in a fancy looking building with nice decor and chairs.
The waitresses are very nice and polite and you are served quick.
The inside has a terrible smell so you have to sit outside. The food is served quite quick however it is very greasy and ours repeated on us for a while.
If you want a sit down kabab tour experience this is the place to go. However if you want a grill as the name suggests find somewhere else.
I won't go again

Helpful?
Thank Sarsonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grill Ranca also viewed

 
Maribor, Styria Region
Maribor, Styria Region
 

Been to Grill Ranca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing