We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like An Onion There Are Many Layers”
Review of Hotel Tartini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tartini
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Piran
Snoqualmie, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Like An Onion There Are Many Layers”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were traveling with two other couples; all middle-aged. First impression is a nice hotel in a picturesque location. While presenting a small door off the square, it turns out the hotel actually occupies a very large area of attached buildings. We had a room looking out on the harbor; the small balcony had room for a chair which was very nice. Well made French doors were very effective in deadening outside noise. Air conditioning worked well. Beds were firm but supportive, and no backaches. Shower size is very small; very typical of Europe. Bathroom was decent size.
Breakfast was extensive, and used a large dining area with inside and outside seating. There is literally something for everyone; coffee is up to Seattle standards.
There are two outdoor seating areas for relaxing and drinking. One is off the second floor landing, and the other on the roof with awesome views. They have bar service for both locations. Unfortunately, the smokers are all outside as well.
The contact with staff was helpful and cordial; all spoke English well enough for effective communication. This is in a pedestrian area; you can drive in to drop your bags and then you have to park in the town parking structure. It is a ten-minute walk, or take the free shuttle which runs every 5-10 minutes.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell, every room faced the water, but ask. There is some sort of penthouse that h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreja F, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you very much for your extensive and helpful contribution. I do believe it will help many travellers. Not all the rooms have sea / harbour view - one part of them face the Tartini Square which is even more remarkable - maybe not completely quiet in the middle of the summer, but it is a cetrally located place.
Piran in general is a "coffee place. Locals say that no business in town can be made unless a cup of coffee (mostly espresso or macchiato) is taken with it. So it is quite usual aslo for our clients to take another coffee (after breakfast) in our Taverna directly on Tartini Square where one can enjoy the town atmosphere for hours.... Our cappuccino in the bar is still one of the best in town and the aree.....

Andreja Frelih, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    192
    81
    24
    4
See reviews for
74
212
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had a nice stay in Hotel Tartini and were disappointed we only had one night. The hotel definitely has a coastal/beach feel to it, but was clean and had a/c and a nice balcony. WiFi was a little annoying - only one hour free - but we could get the free Piran wifi by sitting on the balcony. Location is great, but access could be improved with a map; we drove right past where we were supposed to stop to drop off luggage. If you are driving and don't have a lot of bags, I would recommend just parking right away in the municipal garage and hopping on the free shuttle that drops you off in the main square (where the hotel is located). Breakfast was good as well, and there are plenty of tables inside and outside. The desk staff were very friendly and seemed to speak at least three different languages fluently. David at reception also made us a reservation at Casa Nostromo for dinner, which may have been one of the highlights of the trip. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dms9815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreja F, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you very much for the comment and "too short" stay. Wi-fi is free of charge for all our guests only that after one hour you need to request an access code at the reception. It does not cost you extra money - it is free. We just can not afford to "host" the whole town on a free network - it would slow down access for our guests.
I do hope that you will plan another vacation in the area - with some more nights in Piran!

Andreja Frelih, Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Piran is everything you hope Istria to be. An incredibly scenic little seafront village situated on a mini-peninsula, so there is no fear of any highrises spoiling the views. Hotel Tartini is located on the village's beautiful main square, ideal for discovering everything there is to see and do in the area. The hotel itself is very well kept with a truly staff, very laid-back but with little details in the furnishings that distinguish it from your usual modern seaside hotel. Absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jurriaan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreja F, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you very much for your comment. You are just the type of a customer we are looking for - one that does not like modern sea side hotels, all new and perfect, but almost all the same.....
You would definitely find details in hotel Tartini that distinguish it from any other hotel.
The square itself is a stage. We have not had an opera for a long time, but we host an international dance festival every End of June and the Gala Ballet Evening is the "Cream of the Festival". Definitely worth seing - because of the beautiful scenery....

Andreja Frelih, Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

At this hotel, the staff really understand the meaning of customer service. I chose this hotel for my culinary tour, Taste of Slovenia 2014. We have stayed here for the 2nd year. The breakfast room and breakfast is really great. It's a super location. Staff speak excellent English and try to please.

I highly recommend Hotel Tartini!

Room Tip: Ask for sea side view. It can be busy but quiets down later in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodWriter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreja F, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you very much for your comment - short but very helpful. I believe that Slovenia offers many more culinary delights to explore and hope that we will be able to host you in Piran agein.
Andreja Frelih, Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here in May 2014 for 3 nights. The location, in Tartini square in the centre of town could hardly be better. The staff were very friendly and helpful - especially the lady running the breakfast buffet! The room was a decent size but a bit dated in terms of the furniture and general decor. The bed was also quite firm, which I like, but may not be to everyone's taste.

All in all, this hotel is good value for money and we would certainly stay at Hotel Tartini on the next visit to Piran.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreja F, Manager at Hotel Tartini, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you very much for your contribution and impressions. I do agree that we can not boast with the newest and most modern furniture but hopefully we do compensate with our personnel and location. It will be a pleasure to have you back to Piran some day.
Andreja Frelih, Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A nice, clean hotel. The location is obviously its strong point. However, there's more than that. The staff is very helpful - we spoke to them about visiting a concert during our stay, and they surprised us with 2 free tickets for that concert. They apparently sponsor cultural activities in town and get tickets to give to guests. They didn't advertise it, the manager said, because they wanted to give the tickets to people who are really interested in the music and don't just want to go because it's free. You also get free parking space, although you can park your car right in front of the door to unload your baggage. The rooms are clean, spacious and air-conditioned. Recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yourai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Very good Location to experience this beautiful old town. The price is OK.
Maybe it is possible to have a little bit more service on the roof outside of July and August.
Make a ringing bell or something on the screen at the concierge.

Room Tip: If you need a single room - take 304
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etmo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piran
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piran
Hotel Piran
#1 of 4 in Piran
835 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barbara Piran Beach Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fiesa
Hotel Fiesa
#3 of 4 in Piran
77 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Portoroz
Grand Hotel Portoroz
#2 of 24 in Portoroz
618 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Marko
Hotel Marko
#6 of 24 in Portoroz
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tartini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tartini

Property: Hotel Tartini
Address: Tartinijev trg 15, Piran 6330, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Slovenian Istria > Piran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Piran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tartini 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tartini is a superbly located 3*hotel in the centre of Piran, directly on Tartini Square, overlooking the town cathedral of St. George, the town wall and the small harbour called "mandrač". Rooms are either facing the square ot the harbour (with balconies in those overlooking the harbour). Singles, doubles, twins and a couple of family rooms available. Clients love the terraces, from where one can enjoy the views of Piran and the Piran bay for hours. During the summer months, a coctail and wine bar is open on the roof-terrace for hotel clients and visitors. Definitely one of the most beautiful spots in Piran.Since parking is always a topic in Piran, hotel offers significant discount for the parking in the central garage in front of the town centre. There is a free mini bus commuting between the parking and the Tartini Square regularly. And still, clients can enter the town centre with the car to unload the luggage and then park safely in the garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tartini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tartini Hotel Piran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing