We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spring vacation 2014 in Grand hotel Portoroz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Portoroz
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Portoroz
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“spring vacation 2014 in Grand hotel Portoroz”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed in Grand Hotel Portoroz in April 2014. Hotel was recently renovated. Hotel room we have was nice and on first floor. As we are two adults and one teenager we got a room with two rooms plus balcony and bath. I liked hotel room have not only shower but a real bath. Wi-Fi internet connection is free and connection is fast. You need to ask on reception desk to get a free access code to be able to connect to hotel Wi-Fi. Hotel room have new 42 inch Smart TV so, you can plug in your USB stick and listen your music or watch movie from your USB stick.
Breakfast is from 7:00 till 11:00 am and dinner is from 19:00 till 21:30. So plenty of time to get for a meal when it is not a lot of people... Both breakfast and dinners are offering a lot of choices so you will have a lot of choices. I liked direct connection to Hotel wellness SPA with swimming pool. If you wish you can also have a nice wellness SPA massage. Hotel also provide you with free access to swimming pools during all your time of staying at hotel. Bathrobe is provided for free in your hotel room. Fitness is also available in same hotel. You have a lot of possibility to see around Portoroz itself, most of things is in walking distance. Post office and newspaper office and pharmacy is in same complex. Stuff is kind and helpful. Check in and Check out fast and accept most of credit cards.
I would like to thank specially to consigier which help with car parking and luggage.
And I would like to mention a great professional attitude of hotel reservation team manager: Alan Milosevic.

Room Tip: ask for hotel room on 1st floor so you can have easy access to welness spa and to swiming pools area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Stanko G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    255
    104
    27
    10
See reviews for
152
282
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed there few times, last in summer 13.
The most positive advantage of this hotel is Medusa Exclusive beach.
This beach is the reason I went to this hotel in summer instead to Metropol or Kempinski-both lack of sea beach.
Double rooms in newer area are quite small.It 's best to take some suite.
Food is quite average, as variety of breakfast and dinner is more for 4*hotel.
Staff is professional, polite, I have no complaints over them, cleaning also.
The main fazit of this hotel is now, as they have rennovated some rooms, still food.

Room Tip: some suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ales A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mori, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We were 5 days in this hotel, everything very clean, efficient service and friendly people. It 'just a few meters from the beach and there are many nice places to see nearby. This was my first time in Slovenia and in general it seemed to me a very civil and clean country.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marinella n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Very nice and big hotel in center of Portoroz. The bigest impresion for us was big and tasty brekfast. Rooms was clean and big, towels and evrythink was very clean, hotel has two pools, and realy good beach and amenities on it. Guest can use for free. Olso, there was an evening programme for the guest with the life music. Staff was realy helpful. Highly recomend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Me M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieuwpoort, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed 5 days . Made trips to Postonja - Lipica - Rovinj - Porec etc.
At the hotel we had a very good breakfast and also a very good diner .
They all were very kindly. Nice room with sea-view.
I coud recommand this hotel also for the quietness in and around it. For the people liking strand
hollidays : small beach.

Room Tip: Ask for sea-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RojWil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Hotel is very modern inside, everything is in good condition, so it is a pleasure to be there. Rooms are very big and clean. View from the rooms is very nice (sea and mountains), the town is quite so you do not hear the noice while sitting on the balcony. Food from a room service is tasty (if you are lazy to go somewhere just order it). The staff is polite and helpful.

The hotel has 2 swimming pools with thermal water, guests of the hotel can use it for free. Also a doctor can suggest you some extra procedures and treatments (doctor visit and extra treatments are not free).

The location is good, the sea and all the restaurants on the seaside are just 2 mins away, you just need to cross the road.

Evgeniya

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evgeniya_ef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I can highly recommend this hotel. We felt very much welcomed by the staff and their service all around. The room was quite spacious with beautiful views overlooking the sea. The half board restaurant has offered various dishes with big selection of starters, salads and fish/meat/pasta as main course. The selection of little cakes for dessert were amazing. Have some wine for your dinner and enjoy the big selection of local wines.
The service was great whether it was the valet parking or the restaurant for dinner.
Also, there is an amazing selection of massages and various treatments with beauty salon and hair dresser.

There is a gym, kids play area and a healthy snack place. Check our their smoothies and snacks if you are into raw and vegan food. The only thing is that the kids area needs some improvement.

Have tried the Thai massage which was exceptional. As soon as you walk in, you feel like you are in Thailand and the massage is as unique.
There is also a private beach across the road which provides you with towels, beds and also massages. Its a nice shaded area with very comfy beds and a snack place for drinks and some food. The outdoor massage is almost as good as indoor.

The Cafe downstairs in the hotel has the most amazing cakes and a nice seating area outside. We have enjoyed their cocktails some evenings during our stay.

All in all, a very nice stay with great service and very helpful staff. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lily0008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portoroz
0.1 mi away
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
0.1 mi away
Hotel Slovenija - LifeClass Hotels & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera - LifeClass Hotels & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Bernardin
Grand Hotel Bernardin
#5 of 24 in Portoroz
516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apollo - LifeClass Hotels & Spa
1.5 mi away
Hotel Piran
Hotel Piran
#1 of 4 in Piran
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Portoroz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Portoroz

Property: Grand Hotel Portoroz
Address: Obala 33, Portoroz 6320, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Portoroz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Portoroz
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portoroz
#2 Family Hotel in Portoroz
#2 Spa Hotel in Portoroz
#3 Business Hotel in Portoroz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portoroz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Portoroz 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the 4-Star Superior hotel, located in the centre of Portoroz and immediate vicinity of the sea. It features renovated rooms that combine elegance, tradition of salt panning and the history of Piran, a prestigious private beach, the sunny terrace, top quality Mediterranean gastronomy and experienced staff with traditional Mediterranean hospitality. The hotel is directly connected with the Terme Portoroz that offers the most comprehensive spa, medical and wellness offer in Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Portoroz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portoroz Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing