We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T EVER CONSIDER STAYING IN THIS PROPERTY”
Review of Pension SILVIA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension SILVIA
Ranked #1 of 16 Portoroz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DON'T EVER CONSIDER STAYING IN THIS PROPERTY”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

First of all, without any interpretation, below is the reply from the owner of this pension following our review score in Booking.com about our stay in this pension:

Dear Mrs. Sucuka and Mr. Suer !

Your opinion and evaluation of our accommodation at bookin.com it is built on incorrect facts.

On our website from booking.com is clearly written:
1. This property (Pension Silvia) only accepts cash payments. Credit cards are only needed to guarantee your booking.
2. Check in 13:00 - 22:00 hours.
3. Meals: Breakfast costs € 8 per person per night.
4. And finally our locatoion is precisely marked on the google map.

When you talk about a price: on arrival day at 22 pm you could lose accommodation and money on your credit card because you could be registered as a no-show (check in till 22 pm !!).
But no, thanks to our call (SMS), our appreciate, our concern and our waiting till midnight!

Obviously you do not understand enough English or German?! Or maybe you do not travel enough around the world ....

Definitely you are not enough educated and enlightened to even notice that we are the best evaluated accommodation in Portoroz and on the Slovenian coast.

Back to my comments: The reply speaks for itself, right? Such a poor quality, humiliating response because of a lower score! We just stayed in this property for 1 night (07.09.2013) and were late to check-in due to European Basketball Champ in Slovenia. The property is quite far away from the city center (not a walking distance, with taxi 10 Eur), offers low value for its price (we paid 108 Eur for a night in a pension! additionaly, if you are used to hotels, much lower quality, bed, towels, etc.) and very thin walls (I can precisely hear the snoring in the next room).
Coming back to who we are? I am General Manager in one of the South Eastern Europe Affiliates of the leading international tobacco company, where my partner is an executive who is currently working in Switzerland. We just came from a summer vacation in Capri and Amalfi coast, which can be another major reason for our disappointment to stay in such a lousy pension.
To conclude, I would not recommend this place for any traveller looking for good standards and pleasurable stay in this lovely town of Slovenian coast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taylan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    4
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
44
73
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We have chosen Pension Silvia by the earlier reviews and can also confirm, that this is a very good place to stay ! The hospitality of the owners is outstanding: they welcomed us warmly, and they have been very kind throughout our whole stay. The Pension is in perfect condition: everything is very clean and the you can feel the good quality everywhere.
Comparing the prices with the surrounding hotels it is a great value for money.
We come to Portoroz quite often, and I think we now have a place, where we would like to come back. I can recommend this place to anyone !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gebhardt1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The family-driven pension. Room was clean and nicely decorated. Seaview is not the top but the services of the cheerfull owner were briliant. The breakfasts were excellent and worth it - buffet with all you can imagine. Beds were really hard - someone might not like it.
When the owner and his wife recognized that we are on honeymoon they gave us nice present (some wine and fruits).
We really liked it and we will return there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mirek_Ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Only spent one night here, but could have stayed longer.

Its about 15mins walk into Piran, and be warned it is up a hill. But besides that a lovely stay, we didn't have breakfast, but it looked like the normal don't think it's worth €7.

Room was nice and clean, had a balcony looking over the sea, but our balcony also looked into the neighbours, who could also see straight in our room.

Overall clean and cheap, and has parking, which you are unable to do in Piran.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kendal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

A cosy small room with a sun terrace overlooking the bay
To be fair the room was slightly dated but the whole place is apparantly having a refurb over the winter so it should be perfect next year.
Breakfast was excellent well worth the 7euro extra.
The most astonishing thing was that all the wonderful things said about the hostess Silvia were absolutely true. What a fantastic person. So helpful and thanks to her we had an evening meal never to forget. Bicycle hire by the hour was a bonus.Bang on.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank happyhectorKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We booked the sea-view room and the balcony was the highlight of this Pension, because it offered enough privacy and limited, but enjoyable sea view.
The room was clean, but you have to pay for extra amenities (fridge, AC) and the furniture is very basic.
Breakfast was definitely not worth the price.
The owners are friendly and polite. The location is convenient, both Piran and Portoroz are within walking (15 min.) distance.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richard421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

i'll start with the good - the public area is very nice, clean and well decorated.
the problem we had was with the room - there was no privecy, we had to keep the blinds closed.
second problem - when we made the reservation it was writen 'sea-view', when we asked were is the sea view, we were taken out of the room, to the garden, and had to lean in order to see a small stripe of sea.
and last about the room - it had smell of room that wasnt freshen for a very long time.

breakfast wasnt included. we decided to eat there and to pay 7euro each. it was very very poor breakfast!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank sarpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portoroz
0.8 mi away
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bernardin
Grand Hotel Bernardin
#5 of 24 in Portoroz
501 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Piran
Hotel Piran
#1 of 4 in Piran
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marko
Hotel Marko
#6 of 24 in Portoroz
254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Portoroz
Grand Hotel Portoroz
#2 of 24 in Portoroz
609 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Slovenija - LifeClass Hotels & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension SILVIA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension SILVIA

Property: Pension SILVIA
Address: Vilfanova ulica 12 | Portoroz, Portoroz 6320, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Portoroz
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Portoroz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pension Silvia, a family-run house, is set 10-minute walk from a stunning old town Piran that stands out by its beauty and historical heritage. It is surrounded by a lush mediterranean park and overlooks a bay of Portoroz. Away from the hustle and bustle of the city, but still near the town centre and only 150 metres from the Bernardin Beach . All rooms come with balconies or terraces offering views over the sea and park and air conditioning. They are equipped with LCD cable TV, a fridge and a private bathrooms with shower. A fully equipped kitchen is available only in apartments. The guests have at their disposal a common dining and living room and a sunny terrace. Every morning a rich buffet breakfast is served in the dining room and in the evening hours you can enjoy a relaxing glass of wine from our selection of local wines while watching satellite TV. Available Wi-fi internet, private parking and bike rental. The picturesque streets of Piran offer numerous restaurants serving traditional Istrian and Mediterranean food. Guests can stroll among boutiques, art galleries and artisan shops. A grocery shop, a wellness centre, a public swimming pool and tennis courts can be found at a distance of 300 metres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Pension SILVIA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing