We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tired...but overall OK”
Review of Hotel Marko

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Marko
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Portoroz
Certificate of Excellence
Pristina, Kosovo
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A bit tired...but overall OK”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Considering the cost and the location this hotel would benefit from a few small changes. This sounds like a minor thing, but there are flags flying from the front balcony which give the hotel a nice international flavor...however the flags are very worn and faded....so simply replacing them ( this would not cost much, honestly!!) would give the place a facelift! The staff were friendly and helpful.
Our room was fine, nothing really exciting. Breakfast was OK. The beach front area was also fine, after we were scolded about wandering onto the "Four and Five star beach" Oops...when we were staying at a Three Star hotel . Ah well.
All in all a nice little place in Slovenia!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThisReviewersDaBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    115
    28
    6
    5
See reviews for
50
122
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The hotel from a distant looks a bit old and non[-chalant, but as you step in it does have a charming boutique hotel feel. The service is great. One of the gentlemen that works at the front desk also works at the restaurant during of one of my breakfasts, his enthusiam and energy to serve just blew my mind. Well done! The room is not super big for a family of four, but we have enough space for 3 beds (1 queen and 2 singles). We were very pleased with all the amenities, service and location of this wonderful boutique hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Candice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nax, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

From the room balcony, sufficiently spacious, you have a nice view of the sea beyond the garden. The place is very well maintained, the service is very professional. We liked very much the greenery around this hotel which is more a big villa than a bulky building. Dinner a la carte on the terrace was very pleasant. The maitre d'hotel gave us very accurate advices both for food and wine. All the staff we met spoke a perfect English and were always helpful. Breakfast buffet is gorgeous and can be taken on the terrace as well. The hotel is pet friendly. Although clean and well maintained, the furniture is a little outdated.

Room Tip: Second floor with sea view is a must. Nice view and large balcony. It could well be that noisy durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alain J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I, after visiting Pisa and Florence, IT, drove to Portoroz, Slovenia and stayed several days at the Hotel Marko. We were greeted by a young man who's English was as impeccable as his manners. We knew right away that this would be a nice place to stay and we weren't disappointed. The underground garage was a bonus as I had borrowed an Austrian colleague's Jaguar and really didn't want to leave it on the street. Nice restaurant, clean room and an excellent location about a block away from the tram that takes you to the Old Town. This hotel doesn't have a casino so if you go for the gambling, better stay next door. Otherwise, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try for a room that faces the Adriatic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floyd, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Thought this is an older building, it is very clean and well maintained, The breakfast is just wonderful with so much to choose from. If you don't find what you like, you are too hard to please. We had to get 2 rooms b/c we have 3 older children but we were right next to each other and both got balconies which was such a treat. There is nothing that is not within walking distance to the hotel but it is not so close that you can't enjoy a quiet evening on the lanai.

Room Tip: If you go off season, you should not need to splurge on the garage parking. there is ample parking o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navyfamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in June. Very nice hotel, Old Style but you feel very comfortable. Room huge and also restroom very nice and clean. Breakfast outside on the terrasse... great. Would stay again here. We walked to Piran for dinner, it takes about 45 Minutes.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We only stayed here one night, but the impression was very good.
Already from outside, this hotel looks classy, as it is a bit older building with nice balconies.
We had sea-view room in 2nd floor and it was really nice in the morning, looking and listening to the sea.
Receptionists were all very helpful, breakfast had a limited but sufficient variety.
There is a garage behind the hotel, but the entrance (steep curve) might be a bit tricky for unexperienced drivers.
Overall - very good price/performance ratio!

Room Tip: I don't know if there is a price difference depending on the view, but sea view is really nice a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sulcslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portoroz
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Portoroz
Grand Hotel Portoroz
#2 of 24 in Portoroz
618 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Piran
Hotel Piran
#1 of 4 in Piran
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Bernardin
Grand Hotel Bernardin
#5 of 24 in Portoroz
508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Apollo - LifeClass Hotels & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Slovenija - LifeClass Hotels & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marko

Property: Hotel Marko
Address: Obala 28, Portoroz 6320, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Portoroz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portoroz
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Portoroz
#6 Luxury Hotel in Portoroz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marko 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside Hotel Marko is located directly in the centre of Portoroz, only a few steps from the beach, and offers magnificent views of the sea. It also features free Wi-Fi access. Family-run for 3 generations, the Marko hotel features fully air-conditioned rooms surrounded by a picturesque park. The guest rooms, all accessible by elevator, offer views of the beautiful bay of Portoroz or of the green park from the balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HostelWorld, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Marko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marko Hotel Portoroz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing