We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would be great if it wasn't for a really bad manager...”
Review of Hotel Monopoly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Monopoly
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Balatonalmadi
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would be great if it wasn't for a really bad manager...”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed 6 nights in early July 2014. We chose it for it was right on the lake, had a nice garden, an indoor play-pool, sauna, in case the weather is not so great, had suites for traveling with our kids, a restaurant to make meals easy with the kids. All were as expected, except: the rooms are more basic than the pictures would suggest and for the price. Also, smokers use the rooms, so even the closets had a slight odor of cigarettes for my sensitive nose. The windows have mosquito nets - a must if you want to enjoy the evening breeze. We loved the chef, who tired to accommodate our meal-wishes and became like a friend. Almost all the staff was wonderful, but there were exceptions.
The one sore spot, that really put a dent into our overall feeling of the place was the "boss" TIBI. We got to know him a little better than most guests would.
When I first encountered him, he was giving one of the staff a hard time over accommodating the guests' wish for a particular table, because it was not set, like some others near it.. The hotel was not at all crowded so I was quite taken aback by this. What should be more natural than to seat your guests at the table of their choice (for all the hard-earned money they are spending here to have a nice time)?
One of our children fell on the lawn chair and split her forehead open. There was a ton of blood gushing from what looked like a very deep cut. The child was so pale and weak we thought she was about to pass out. Several of the staff members offered to take us with their own vehicle to the emergency room, but when they called to let their boss Tibi know, HE FORBID IT AND TOLD US TO TAKE A CAB! The cab took forever to get there, about half an hour. Since there were hardly any other guests in the hotel and none were eating at the restaurant, one of the 3 staff members of the restaurant who were not at all busy could have easily managed to get us to the ER. They were all feeling bad looking on AS WE WERE WAITING FOR THE CAB WITH OUR PALE, BLEEDING CHILD.
What kind of person is this guy Tibi as a person, and what boss would refuse to extend help, when a child gets injured on his premises!? Just to mention, the lawnchairs were extremely unstable, because they would flip up if you sat too far to the end, but you could not sit on the middle, because of the armrest, so you had to position yourself just exactly right to be able to sit down and not flip.
Tibi would come to his hotel and enjoy swimming and tennis and a drink, but would walk past the overflowing trashcan or the trash by his feet.
Most outrageously, the staff is required to hand him whatever tip they get. He pockets them and hands it out ( - or rather - knowing him - does not hand it out fully) according to his preference. In essence whatever tips I gave, it went into his pocket! The last person I would want to reward for his despicable behavior! If I want to give someone a tip I want that particular person rewarded not someone else! (e.g. the person who washed all the blood off the chairs). I have asked the staff if they got any of the money I gave them and they said not yet.
Recommendations for the hotel:
Have this Tibi go through some training in customer service and how to be a good manager. (Although there is little hope for him since he is quite a rotten person.)
Scrub the stairs and railing going into the water to make it less slippery from the algae and put a sign about slipperiness.
Change the lawnchairs to better quality and more stable ones.
Assign a staff member to monitoring twice a day the beach and garden for any trash accidentally dropped. (there wasn't that much, but even a few pieces is a sore sight, the trashcan by the beach is tiny and mostly full)
Clear some of the algae and water plants near the entrance to the lake, most people do not like to step on these plants as they enter the water.
Clean up the back of the yard from heaps of yardwaste and some trash there.
Have more fresh bread ready at breakfast and add fresh fruit to the breakfast spread (otherwise a good selection and fresh)

Recommendations for guests:
Be careful entering the water for the stairs are slippery. Beware of the unstable lawnchairs.
Try the restaurant, it is worth it. The lemonade is also great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thalia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Positives: Weather & Indoor pool area
Negatives: hotel rooms - poor quality furniture, uncomfortable beds, no balconies; most of the hotel staff - unfriendly, poor english and rude manners to the customers; beach - not a beach realy but more like back garden, narrow access to the Balaton lake through rocks, quite dirty water surrounded by lots of reed; frogs and snakes in the water which is not suitable for a kids at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcelaCupelova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Balatonalmadi hotels

Oldham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We stayed for 6 nights this Summer with our 9 year old daughter. The location was great, approximately 10 minutes walk through parkland to the centre of Balatonalmadi and the railway station (direct trains to Budapest every 2 hours). The hotel was a gem. The private garden on the lakefront is great for relaxing, and there's table tennis, skittles, a pedalo and a little beech to keep the kids happy (all for free). There's also an outside bar serving drinks, snacks (salads, burgers etc.) and ice creams. All very reasonable. One minor disappointment was that no local beer was available, the hotel only had Stella on draught or Heineken in bottles.

The indoor pool is great for the kids with water jets and small inflatables, also a jacuzzi, sauna and steam room for the grown ups (again for free).

Breakfast was fairly basic, with no fruit juice which was strange. As for the room, we were in a standard plus double with an extra bed. It was fairly small, but we coped, and the aircon was very effective. The rooms are cleaned on request rather than daily meaning that we ran out of loo roll on one occasion!

The service from reception is great, and also in the bar and restaurant. We ate there one night and the food was good, although slightly more expensive than in the town centre.

We paid approximate €95 per night including the 3rd bed. This seemed fair value compared to other hotels that we researched. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would return.

Some notes on the town. Personally, I much preferred B'almadi to the more fashionable (and more expensive) B'fured. There's plenty enough facilities in B'almadi, including a number of restaurants and pay-beaches (about 500ft per person per day, less than £2). Also good transport connections by train, bus and boat. Some tips for eating are Kucko, the open-air eatery in the town centre, and also Snidling which is about 5 minutes walk from Monopoly across the railway track. The Thai curries in the latter are devine, but it's only small so booking is advisable.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnyegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uster, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We stayed in hotel Monopoly for 5 nights and really enjoyed our stay. It's a relatively small-scale hotel, with ca.40 rooms only, which contributes to a relaxing and quiet experience - no queuing for breakfast table, no lack of sunbeds at the water etc.
The room we stayed in, the standard one, had airco, a fridge and comfortable beds - for ca. €60 per night provided very good value for money. Hotel staff is friendly and generally speaks good English or else German.
In day time it's wonderful to read or lay on a sunbed in the garden or take a swim in lake Balaton. There's an indoor pool as well, mostly children/family oriented. Breakfast buffet is basic but of good quality. The hotel has it's own jetty and a waterbike you can borrow for free (it's locked, key is at reception). Also, the hotel has 2 mountainbikes which you can borrow for free, on which we explored the area a bit. Nearby Balatonfüred is a very nice place to have dinner in the evening, probably the most upmarket at lake Balaton and still very affordable compared to say Italian prices. It has a lovely promenade along the water and a marina with nice restaurants, places to have a drink or an ice cream. Further highlights include a visit to Tihany, Veszprém (beautiful baroque square) and the Herend porcellain-factory about 40min by car from Balatonalmadi. When we go back to Balaton, we most probably will stay in Monopoly again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VincentOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balatonalmadi
0.2 mi away
Nereus Park Hotel
Nereus Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Balatonalmadi
15 reviews
3.9 mi away
Alsoors Marina
Alsoors Marina
#1 of 2 in Alsoors
6 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Viktoria
Hotel Viktoria
#2 of 9 in Balatonalmadi
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Bal Resort
Hunguest Hotel Bal Resort
#3 of 9 in Balatonalmadi
195 reviews
6.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Csopak
Comfort Hotel Csopak
#1 of 2 in Csopak
17 reviews
8.0 mi away
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
#1 of 19 in Balatonfured
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monopoly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monopoly

Property: Hotel Monopoly
Address: Neptun utca 15, Balatonalmadi 8220, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Veszprem County > Balatonalmadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Balatonalmadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monopoly 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great 3-star hotel in town Balatonalmadi at Lake Balaton in Hungary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Monopoly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monopoly Balatonalmadi, Somogy County, Hungary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing