We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, well...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silverine Lake Resort
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Balatonfured
Eger, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well, well...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Nice location and surrounding.
Reception staff is nice, kind, but couldn't give information about programmes, nor shopping/pharmacie availabilities which was disappointing.
Our rooms were shouting for recovery. :(
Breakfast: variety okay, quality NOT.
Not bad, but definitely not worth the price, doesn't deserve 4 stars anymore.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Brunella_Fru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    52
    29
    25
    17
See reviews for
68
78
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I had the scariest experience of my life from a hotel here. Late night someone came into the room. Luckily we woke up to scare them away but the worst thing is the way the hotel reacted and the what we found out about the security policies of the hotel. I would imagine customer security is the number 1 priority of any hotel and when a customer says someone just tried to break into their room immediate action would be taken to make the customer feel safe. The first thing would be to change the room. This did not happen instead we had a key changed and asked to go to sleep and they would investigate in the morning. In the morning we got told a new security guard came into our room while checking the empty rooms. This story was changed in a letter from the manager to the hotel director and changed again in a letter to me which made me question even more what really happened. In the end it was discovered that not all hallways have a security camera and they could not check who entered the room. They were so nice at first to let us have a late check out and later a small discount on a future stay. If this was in any other country it would have been much different. I think camping might be a better option. At least there, the people around look out for each other.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Balatonfured hotels

Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Have been there several times, but nothing has changed. Still the only thing is superb there, the view, location & the outdoor wellness area for children.
The negatives:
- we get a room next to pubs & partyplace just on the corner (rooms starting with 101-102...): absolutely impossible to sleep. Even at 4 am. it was noisy, couldnt sleep at all! During booking they didnt prevent us at all;
- cuisine: poor variety of food;
- EUR 10 charged / night for parking;
- old fashioned interior, TV not working in our room, also problems with lightning.

Room Tip: rooms with full Balaton view are nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrAquary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Excellent service, professional, helpful, polite and friendly staff. As a family of four, It is very important for us the professional hotel staff. Everything went well: clean, tidy and quiet hotel room, multiple cable channels, room safe, room service and mini bar. Easy access for all facilities of the Hotel even for disabled people, playroom for the toddlers with a lot of toys. Not too big, but nice wellness site. Overall We really enjoyed the stay at this hotel and I think we come back :-)

Room Tip: Book a balcony room, but every room must be good. Book parking place as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kpi29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Together with my partner and our 5-year-old kid, we visited Hotel Silver Resort for 2 nights in November 2013 and can only say we loved every minute of our stay in Balatonfüred. During our review, we follow a structure that focuses on the main factors one should generally consider when selecting in which hotel to stay.

1. Arrangement: We visited Hotel Silver Resort without any intermediary involved and thus organized our trip directly with the hotel. As far as I was involved, organizing our stay went smooth, however my partner was by far more involved in the process than I was.

2. Arrival: Hotel Silver Resort is located in Balatonfüred, 130 km from Budapest that takes 1.5 hours of travel by car. Since this was not the first time for me in the hotel and for either of us in Balatonfüred, we were pretty comfortable with how to get there. Arrival was smooth with nice and helpful staff. Besides the hospitality, no specialty to mention. Since the hotel has a sizeable underground garage, parking as well as moving all around is very much comfortable. Here please kindly note that underground parking is not included in the rate thus has to be paid for separately. As an alternative, there is a large parking space in front of the hotel but since it is opened for great public, cannot be considered a fully secure one. Upon arrival, one will find a relaxing, in some sense modern however still traditional environment. Even though the hotel was built in the mid-2000s, the surrounding historical city center built around the turn of the 19th - 20th century gave a unique feel.

3. Accommodation: Since we have been travelling 3 with a 5-year-old kid on board, we booked a Silver de lux superior suite with full panorama on the Lake Balaton, to ensure privacy for all of us. Our room was fairly well equipped with the typical extras one would expect from a ****superior hotel. The suite itself was in fair condition however a slight refurbishment should soon be scheduled to refresh both the design and its condition. From the balcony, we had a full panorama on the Lake Balaton, the resort’s private marina and on the Tihany Peninsula with the Tihany Abbey. If we add that our suite fell on the southern side of the hotel, one can imagine how beautiful it was to see the sunrise and the sunset over the lake. Besides, not much to mention since the web site of the hotel explains everything in detail.

4. Food and beverage: Definitely, one of the greatest (positive) surprises to mention. We chose half board instead of full board and can only say the food was great all the time with consistent quality as well as quantity. Prior to our trip, we had been warned by friends not to expect anything more than mediocre in terms of food quality, however, throughout our stay we found no evidence to underline such a fear. The breakfast included continental as well as English elements, fresh fruits, juices thus a large selection of meals to choose from in buffet style. The diner was organized in buffet style also, including different soups, starters, salads, main courses and deserts. Supplementary to breakfast and dinner, during afternoon hours coffee and some side deserts were served in the restaurant giving us the opportunity to refresh ourselves following or prior to visiting the wellness area. As a welcome gift, we received free vouchers to try the hotel’s recently opened café also, which was definitely of our liking.

5. Attractions: First off, since we stayed for 2 nights only, did not have much time to check out all the attractions the hotel and the surrounding area offers but even though we tested some of them. The ones we tried and recommend:
- Wellness: Excellent, with 1 medium size indoor pool, 1 medium size outdoor pool, 1 separate pool for toddlers, 1 Jacuzzi and several saunas to choose from (including an outdoor one as well), coupled with a steam bath also. For drinks and refreshments, there is a specific pool bar available. One element that should definitely be mentioned is the slippery floor within the wellness area that was way too dangerous.
- Tihany Abbey: As we are great fans of Balatonfüred and Tihany Peninsula, the Tihany Abbey offered a great opportunity to take a walk, being directly in the heart of the Historic Town of Tihany. Shall one get there, the abbey is definitely worth visiting.

All in all, we spent 2 wonderful nights in this beautiful hotel belonging to the top ones in the country, even if our suit would require some slight refurbishment / refreshment. Can only recommend Hotel Silver Resort to anybody having the opportunity to travel there. Will enjoy it for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Couple from H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

State of art building with a perfect location in the heart of the Balaton's North shore. But inside it is quite old fashioned: dark rooms with scratched furniture, old carpets and simply you do not have the cleanliness feeling. The bed and the bed linen is not up to a 4 star category quality, no freshness, no crispy linens. The bathroom offers the same experience and you are not convinced at all, that the cleaning was made properly.
Unfortunately our food and beverage experience was also not up to our expectations: the salads on the buffet are mostly made with heavy mayonnaise, no healthy corner. Meats are also in heavy sauces served and the fish is breaded. Old fashioned cuisine which don't meet neither the traditional Hungarian kitchen nor the new food trends. Stays in between, with no characteristic taste and outlook. The coffee offered for breakfast is awful.
We also checked the wellness area: looks nice, elegant, while the water in the jacucci and the pool is filmy and not 100% clean. So we rather skipped it and went out for a great walk on the promenade.
Sorry to say, but the hotel doesn't reach the 4star category, neither in service nor interiour.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank attilabpHU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Lovely hotel , love the balcony and bathroom , beds comfortable, beautiful surroundings , but no bar in hotel, well there is in restaurant but if you want a drink late there was none, group of us 27 ladies used bar across from lobby but it closed early and you could bring drink into lobby but couldnt get a late drink no resident bar. Language barrier also. But hotel staff friendly

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Balatonfured hotels
0.3 mi away
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
#1 of 20 in Balatonfured
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aura Hotel
Aura Hotel
#5 of 20 in Balatonfured
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#4 of 20 in Balatonfured
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ipoly Residence - Executive Hotel Suites
0.6 mi away
Hotel Annabella
Hotel Annabella
#11 of 20 in Balatonfured
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Margareta
Hotel Margareta
#16 of 20 in Balatonfured
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverine Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverine Lake Resort

Property: Silverine Lake Resort
Address: Zakonyi F str 4, Balatonfured 8230, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Veszprem County > Balatonfured
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Balatonfured
#2 Best Value Hotel in Balatonfured
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balatonfured
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Silverine Lake Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silverine Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverine Lake Resort Balatonfured, Hungary - Somogy County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing