We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My all time favourite!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gombas Kuria Mension
Ranked #1 of 40 Balatonfured B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This has been my third year at the Gombas Kuria, and I am happy to say that this is a great place to stay. The rooms are spotless and have comfortable beds. The owners help in finding restaurants, beaches saved us a lot of time. The courtyard and all the little side-rooms that you can go into are beautiful. although there were only a few free rooms, the place never seemed too crowded. There is always a little showcase of a painters or designers work that really looks nice. The breakfast can be ordered (done in 5 minutes) or you can treat yourself to the delicious (freshly cooked) sweets, or spreads. I could not find flaw in this hotel! 5/5


(Plus the owners have a really cute dog)

Room Tip: "The bigger rooms are on the bottom level, the normal ones are after a small flight of stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank feherbalint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in outside unit. Good value, neat old building well furnished. Breakfasts excellent. Would be good to see some info about the building somewhere. Towels a bit on cheap side amd careful if tall in shower units. Owner gabor offered good advice on what to do.
Need a car as not near any amenities

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank LondonHigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here just one night for a wedding and we were happy it was only for one night. The hotel is clean but our room was rather cramped in the "attic." The only window was on the sloped ceiling right over the bed and the window covering didn't latch all the way so very early wake up, thanks to a bright sunny day, was rather unwelcome. The location was a distance from the lake which we found also disappointing.

The breakfast the next morning was served by a rather unfriendly woman who also did our check-out. It was a mediocre breakfast at best, hastily served with very little selection and was an additional cost.

The building is pretty and has the potential to be a wonderful experience but it wasn't and we wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 5KPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great location, beautiful accomodation, a courtyard to die for and service from the owners at the highest level. We arrived late but Gabor was still waiting up to serve us a beer and wine. We were able to prepare for a wedding celebration at our leisure and Gabor manged a great photo of our party before we left.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 61alanf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

A lovely old building of character where you can relax and unwind in the courtyard or garden. Very clean accommodation and a good selection of breakfasts. Gabor and his wife are very friendly and helpful hosts. We hope to visit again next year.

Room Tip: Most rooms overlook the courtyard or garden. Check on what is available for your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith0646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This historic mansion has an amazing carater. If you want to unwind from the daily stress and leave the busy mass tourism places behind you this is the place to go. Situated coveniently above the famous spa town of Balatonfüred, its serene setting among romantic wineyards is breathtaking. This is the oldest building in the city with beatiful baroque vaulted ceilings. The hosts could not have been friendlier preparing yummy breakfast which you can have in the breakfast room or in the enclosed garden full of lavender. There is free and secured parking which is a plus. The rooms are well equipped with full bathroom, tv, aircon. It takes only a brisk 15 minutes walk to the center and the lake, but there are restaurants in the vicinity as well. The hosts can help reserving dinner with winetasting in one of the famous wineyards overlooking the lake. The have different rooms and appartements as well in a separate building. There is a well kept garden with sun lounges in the back for those lazy afternoons. We will definitely return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank BUD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This place is amazing. We had a great time and good sleep. Everything in this place is made with style. Owner and hotel staff are friendly and willing to help if you need something.
Every thing is clean, beds are comfortable, rooms are quiet. Breakfast was rich.
Great memories about this place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Editns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Balatonfured hotels
0.8 mi away
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
#1 of 19 in Balatonfured
805 reviews
1 mi away
Silverine Lake Resort
Silverine Lake Resort
#4 of 19 in Balatonfured
211 reviews
1.1 mi away
Levendula Apartman
Levendula Apartman
#17 of 40 in Balatonfured
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Babi Guesthouse
Babi Guesthouse
#11 of 40 in Balatonfured
7 reviews
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Fontaine Vendeghaz
#19 of 46 in Balatonfured
1 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#2 of 19 in Balatonfured
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gombas Kuria Mension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gombas Kuria Mension

Address: Aracsi ut 94, Balatonfured 8230, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Veszprem County > Balatonfured
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Balatonfured
Price Range: £47 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gombas Kuria Mension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gombas Kuria Mension Balatonfured, Hungary - Somogy County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing